$203 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

4 stars
View map of 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mommy2one
Business
Fresno ca
Jun 4, 2014

Perfect location

Polite staff, location is right in the heat of cannery row. i love this hotel;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best pizza place

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDR
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 7, 2009

Muy Bien!

Great location, Friendly staff, modern yet cozy design ... Great Stay Overall!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 12, 2009

Unwelcome Greeting, Fabulous Dining

After an exhausting drive from L.A., delayed by highway accidents on 101 I arrived at the hotel where the desk clerk informed me that there wasn't a reservation in my name. After searching through the computer, she sneeringly informed me that she could not find my name. Even after I presented my Orbitz prepaid receipt with my confirmation, she still couldn't find it. Finally asking a supervisor to assist her,they stood there giggling over her inability to find my name, and he pointed to a name on the computer screen. Before she gave me the key,she proceeded to ask me if I understood the hotel policies. I was taken aback with her manner and asked what exactly did she mean? Since I always book a nonsmoking room,and had prepaid my room, I was shocked with her query. Not apologizing for the delay, she shoved the key at me. I asked about a bell person to help me with my luggage and was brusquely informed it would be brought up later. I made my way to the room on the third floor, and found a "do not disturb" sign on the door. After multiple attempts to open the door after about 10 minutes, the bell man, [...] came up with my luggage. He also couldn't open the door, and when I called downstairs was told that the room had been assigned to someone who's name began with the same 3 letters as my last name. Taken to another room down the hall, [...] made sure that the key fit, brought my luggage in and adjusted the temperature of the room for me. I couldn't find the temp. controls because a very heavy, large chair, hassock was placed right in front of it, and I would have had to crawl on top of the chair to adjust it. He was even so kind as to fill my ice bucket for me since I felt uncomfortable roaming the halls trying to find ice. After he left, I went into the bathroom to find there was no bathtub! Only a shower. Calling downstairs again, I was told that there were 4 rooms in the hotel with only a shower, and that I had been assigned to one. Someone came up and finally led me to a room with a bathtub and shower. This was my third room assignment after the disturbing way I was treated at check in and I was very upset.The walls were a tea green color, the King size bed had a white comforter on it with no spread and one of the pillows had a strange odor. The bathroom has no fan, and the shower steams up the whole room. The makeup mirror would be more useful mounted on the wall next to the sink. There was no bedside light that could be used for reading, and the heavy drapes on the windows were unwieldy. The windows opened up directly across from a building whose windows looked right at my window. Don't book the 3rd floor. I had been told that I would have a partial ocean view but this was not true. After 3 moves, all I wanted was to have dinner and relax.I went downstairs to the incomparable "C" Restaurant where the hostess quickly seated me "anywhere you like", at a comfortable booth above the other tables,overlooking the ocean. The attentive,lovely wait person assisted me in suggesting dishes she thought I would enjoy after I mentioned what my preferences were and then began a culinary experience that soothed my frazzled nerves,and satiated my palate with the most delectable creations. An excellent martini, oysters on the half shell with a zesty dipping sauce, Caesar Salad with flavorful whole anchovies and a crispy crouton. The best clam chowder, made with creme fraiche,whole baby clams, potato discs and leeks followed by seared Pilot scallops and porcini stew and a delightful glass of wine from the extensive wine list. Topped off with a wonderful coffee and a scrumptious pear tart wrapped for me to enjoy later in the hotel room. All this ,exceptional service, wonderful view and a visit from [...], the restaurant manager to see if there was anything he could do.Exhausted and satiated I slept comfortably in the King size bed. The next morning I checked out smoothly once again assisted by [...] the bell man placing my luggag...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the "C" Restaurant. Don't waste your time going elsewhere if you want to experience an incomparable dining experience with a breathtaking view and exceptional service.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jtois
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 8, 2010

Nice Hotel

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Spotless rooms. However, nothing really distinguished it from some other hotels that I have stayed at -- the reception was very austere and visually impersonal -- not a very welcoming space. Would I stay there again? Yes -- great location and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Carmel mission in Carmel by the Sea. Lovely old mission with a lot of history. Very pretty courtyard. If you have children, don't stay in Carmel for dinner -- take the kids back to Monterey and stroll along Cannery Row.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salinas
Jun 29, 2010

Pretty but a bit overrated

Very pretty hotel, but oddly laided out. Very expensive for what you get and feel they are really tryting to get the consumer for every penny they can. To pay to park where you were staying, over 20$ was a bit pricy. Again beautiful hotel, but is in Monterey and not Hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulexzoe
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Aug 5, 2010

Nice and convenient

Great location - super convenient, walking distance to most shops and restaurants, minutes to the aquarium. Awesome staff! Spotless rooms. Only bad point - some rooms face a brick wall (aquarium wall). Unfortunately those are the quietest rooms. But at least we got to hear the sound of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to aquarium and several shops and restuarants on Cannery Row.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tis
Business
Vallejo,CA
May 17, 2009

Romantic getaway

The location of the hotel was excellent. The room was impeccable and had a great balcony over Cannery Row. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper has the best Clam Chowder in the world!!! Fresh seafood and killer drinks.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oak Cliff Girl
Business
Dallas, TX
May 2, 2009

Perfect location, great hotel.

Great hotel, room was noisy (363) because it was above the garbage pick-up of the building next door. Request a room in the main hotel and you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Little Red House - Great breakfast and lunch, completely charming. Hotel dining was also very good.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firefighter Dave
Business
Fort Myers Florida
Aug 18, 2009

The Clement

We were given room #365 (across the street from the main hotel). BEAUTIFUL room, VERY clean....BUT....We heard doors slamming, footsteps, and even someone "using" the bathroom above us. It was so loud that we asked to be re-located. Management/service were very helpful and curtious. They re-located us to a room in the main hotel and we didn't hear a peep! Very nice hotel, just make sure you stay in the main hotel, NOT across the street. The Monterey Aquarium is right next door...literally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love to Cycle
Business
Truckee, CA
May 30, 2011

Just What I was Looking for, except....

The hotel was exactly as hoped...I asked for a quiet room because I was there for an athletic event. I was given "the quietest room in the hotel." It was fantastic. The Parking Garage was a pain. The attendent was impossible to understand; she told me to drive to the top in my oversized vehicle. I did as instructed only to find, this was employee parking only; very difficult to get around and out. The entrance to the parking garage was two streets away from the hotel; there was an entrance on the between street, but my key didn't work in it and I was told it was for employee's only. Also, no-one told me there was a "Bridge" to atleast get one street closer to the entrance. There were so many people on the streets, walking with luggage was next to impossible. Communication could have relieved some of this. When I was checking out is when I was given full instructions about how to most conveniently access the parking garage. It would have been nice to know this WHEN I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top