$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

4 stars
750 CANNERY ROW, MONTEREY, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
101 reviews
Perfect trip away from the snow!

We enjoyed our stay very much! The location is absolutely perfect for seeing Cannery Row and other... See full review

  • Ruth in Iowa
  • Mar 18, 2014
Best hotel in the area by far

My fiancé and I stayed here just to get away from work for a couple days, and it is THE BEST. Great... See full review

  • Rmiles and associates
  • Dec 7, 2013
Luxury accommodations next door to Monterey Bay Aquarium

Enjoy stunning ocean views from InterContinental The Clement Monterey, a AAA Four Diamond resort with 208 rooms and suites situated right next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Open-air terraces with fire pits, meeting and banquet facilities, and dining areas all afford views of the ocean, as do many of the guest rooms. The C Restaurant and Bar, spa, fitness center, pool, whirlpools, and terrace can make guests forget to tour Monterey Peninsula.

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center
  • VIP Kid's Club
  • Complimentary newspaper delivered to the room
Rooms

208 guestrooms offer a king or two double beds with premium bedding. Entertainment includes a 37-inch flat-screen television with premium cable channels, iPod dock, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Marble bathrooms feature a soaking tub and separate shower, hairdryer, and bathrobes. Suites range in size from 650 to 850 square feet (60-79 sq m) and afford ocean views with balconies.

Features

Energia Spa specializes in treatment for the body and psyche. Try four-handed massage, a chocolate champagne facial, or the Raindrop Therapy Massage, a detoxifying treatment drawn from an ancient technique based on Lakota Native healing.


Top-of-the-line equipment with individual television screens are found in the fitness center. Children are well cared for with babysitting and daycare services or at the VIP Kids Club, complete with rock climbing wall.  


Find dining and refreshment options at the C Bar, which offers a large selection of tasty appetizers, an extensive local wine selection, and a Champagne menu featuring Champagnes from around the world. C Restaurant showcases fresh treasures from the sea, premium Angus beef, and local organic produce. C Food to Go offers a variety of light foods for guests on the run. Pacific View Courtyard offers stunning ocean views and tasty treats.


Nearby Cannery Row's fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries, and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. Valet or self-parking (fees apply) make cars easily accessible for touring.


Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (5 mi/ 8.05 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.1 mi/0.16 km)
  • Point Lobos State Preserve (9 mi/14.48 km)
  • Laguna Seca Race Track (10 mi/16.09 km)
  • The National Steinbeck Center (17 mi/27.36 km)
Business
  • Unstaffed business center
  • 12 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.6165 -121.9006
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 105.00, MI, N; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 75.00, MI, N; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 3.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Dining

The C Restaurant
At the C, taste buds are tantalized by fresh seafood, premium meats and organically grown local produce. The panoramic bay views on our outdoor patio entertain the eyes. We proudly meet the standards of Monterey Bay Aquarium's seafood watch program.
Pacific View Courtyard
Pacific View Courtyard offers breathtaking ocean views where we serve favorites from drinks to appetizers and small plates. For the ultimate romantic evening, lounging by the two outdoor fire pits at sunset is must.
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Located on the waterfront of the world famous Cannery Row and just steps from the aquarium, there's no better place for the whole family to enjoy great seafood and friendly service. There's even outdoor dining available! We hope you'll join us on your nex
Bistro Moulin
Bistro Moulin is a cozy European Bistro located on Cannery Row in Monterey. French Chef and Owner Didier Dutertre's classic cuisine is exquisitely prepared and French wine selection are plentiful. You'll swear you're in Paris.
Sardine Factory
Every city has that one "can't miss" restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in out historic Caneery Row setting a tradtion for world lead
Fandango Restaurant
Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California, Fandango Restaurant features Mediterranean and European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops and Fandango's famous rack of lamb....all on our woo
The C Bar
The C Bar offers a large selection of tasty appetizers and an extensive selection of local wines plus a delectable Champagne menu featuring Champagnes from around the world.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in Monterey
Hanover, NH, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Great location, great service, great rooms... turned an exhausted visit into a relaxing vacation!

If you are considering The Clement Intercontinental, make the reservation. Having stayed at several locations in the area, The Clement offers several highlights for the value. First, of course, is the prime location - comfortably walkable in Cannery Row with beautiful views of the waterfront from their courtyard deck (with fire pits for cocktails in the evenings). Second, the staff and service at the Clement are truly excellent - personable, attentive to detail, knowledgable of the area, and clearly skilled in their ability to make your stay luxurious and comfortable. They often offer special deals on local tickets, such as an extra day at the Aquarium, so be sure to ask. Even the valet drivers will go out of their way to anticipate your needs... offering tips for the area depending on the time of day, and bottles of water for your drive back to SFO. It is also important to consider that the valet service will save you $30-50 per day due to the high cost of parking in the area. Try to get a room in the main wing on the waterfront if possible, although the 2nd wing is closer to the pool and spa. The rooms are nicely appointed and well-decorated, with comfortable beds and elegant baths. They are also spacious, clean, well lit, and quiet ... unless, of course, you wish to sleep to the sound of the waves. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For spectacular views, be sure to catch a sunset out at the Point Pinos Lighthouse & Reserve) about 2 miles along the coast in Pacific Grove. If possible, check the tides and aim for low tide or about 1 hour before sunset. Like most places in Monterey, bring a warm jacket, your camera, and some shoes with which you can easily walk on the sand and rocks. If you're slightly adventurous, scurry across the rocks out onto the point itself and look back - you'll be rewarded with stunning views in both directions, amazing tide pools of starfish, great crashing waves on the rocks, curious sea lions, and up close visits from the playful otters.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amsilva
Concord, CA
Nov 16, 2011

Perfect Location

Hotel is just about 100 feet away from MB Aquarium. We had a wonderful view of the bay and were right in the middle of it all. Hotel restaurant was very nice and we enjoyed. Room service was prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the 2 for 1 passes through the concierge at the hotel for Acquarium.

Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whomever
Palatine, IL
Oct 24, 2011

5 day-Weekend Relaxer

Nice views/comfortable room/ prefect location for visit Carmel or Big Sur

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed super dad
los angeles
Jul 20, 2011

InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Good hotel, but overpriced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed super dad
los angeles
Jul 20, 2011

InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Good hotel, but overpriced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinez, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Great Hotel / Great Location

The InterContinental is in the best location in Monterey. Close to Pacific Grove and the 17 Mile Drive as well as walking distance to the entire tourist area. Firepits in the back were a perfect relaxation area after a long day of walking downtown. The Aquarium is about 100 yards away. The staff is amazing and the Kids Center was an excellent way for our daughter to pass the time when we wanted to relax in the room and she wanted to play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinez, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Great Hotel / Great Location

The InterContinental is in the best location in Monterey. Close to Pacific Grove and the 17 Mile Drive as well as walking distance to the entire tourist area. Firepits in the back were a perfect relaxation area after a long day of walking downtown. The Aquarium is about 100 yards away. The staff is amazing and the Kids Center was an excellent way for our daughter to pass the time when we wanted to relax in the room and she wanted to play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love to Cycle
Truckee, CA
May 30, 2011

Just What I was Looking for, except....

The hotel was exactly as hoped...I asked for a quiet room because I was there for an athletic event. I was given "the quietest room in the hotel." It was fantastic. The Parking Garage was a pain. The attendent was impossible to understand; she told me to drive to the top in my oversized vehicle. I did as instructed only to find, this was employee parking only; very difficult to get around and out. The entrance to the parking garage was two streets away from the hotel; there was an entrance on the between street, but my key didn't work in it and I was told it was for employee's only. Also, no-one told me there was a "Bridge" to atleast get one street closer to the entrance. There were so many people on the streets, walking with luggage was next to impossible. Communication could have relieved some of this. When I was checking out is when I was given full instructions about how to most conveniently access the parking garage. It would have been nice to know this WHEN I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love to Cycle
Truckee, CA
May 30, 2011

Just What I was Looking for, except....

The hotel was exactly as hoped...I asked for a quiet room because I was there for an athletic event. I was given "the quietest room in the hotel." It was fantastic. The Parking Garage was a pain. The attendent was impossible to understand; she told me to drive to the top in my oversized vehicle. I did as instructed only to find, this was employee parking only; very difficult to get around and out. The entrance to the parking garage was two streets away from the hotel; there was an entrance on the between street, but my key didn't work in it and I was told it was for employee's only. Also, no-one told me there was a "Bridge" to atleast get one street closer to the entrance. There were so many people on the streets, walking with luggage was next to impossible. Communication could have relieved some of this. When I was checking out is when I was given full instructions about how to most conveniently access the parking garage. It would have been nice to know this WHEN I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kawestlake
Clearlake,Ca
Feb 14, 2011

Very Relaxing Stay

We enjoyed the trip very much and were happy with the location of the hotel it is right on cannery row and next door to the Aquarium. The only thing I was not happy about was the reservation I made was for a queen bed but when I got to the hotel they only had a double, and it was not very comfortable for two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kawestlake
Clearlake,Ca
Feb 14, 2011

Very Relaxing Stay

We enjoyed the trip very much and were happy with the location of the hotel it is right on cannery row and next door to the Aquarium. The only thing I was not happy about was the reservation I made was for a queen bed but when I got to the hotel they only had a double, and it was not very comfortable for two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top