$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Hotel Pacific

4 stars
300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Would stay again

This hotel is awesome! Loved the fireplace and the television that swivels from living room to... See full review

  • Bellas Mom
  • Jan 14, 2014
Lovely little hotel in the downtown/old town area

The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area and surrounded by early settler homes. The... See full review

  • Race driver Bob
  • Jan 5, 2014
Romantic Monterey all-suite hotel reveals hints of Spanish influence
Find a touch of the Mediterranean at the Hotel Pacific, an adobe all-suite hotel in Monterey. Each of this boutique hotel's 105 guest rooms features hardwood floors, feather beds and a fireplace. Separate living and dining areas include a wet bar, honor bar and French doors that open to a private balcony or patio. Lush private courtyards, fountains and gardens evoke the feel of a Spanish estate, while panoramic views firmly establish the Hotel Pacific's fantastic Monterey Bay location. Fisherman's Wharf is a short walk from the Hotel Pacific.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • All rooms feature a balcony or patio
  • Fireplace in every room
  • Afternoon tea reception
  • Concierge service
Rooms
Guest suites at the Hotel Pacific are both large and cozy, with plenty of space to spread out and distinctive layouts that provide quiet corners for sleeping, living and dining. Feather beds and exposed white wood beams give the feeling of a secluded seaside retreat with the fireplace as the focal point of any romantic getaway. Expect high-speed Internet access (fees apply), tile baths, complimentary Aveda bath amenities and nightly turndown service.
Features
Free continental breakfast the Hotel Pacific includes breads, muffins, bagels, pastries, granola, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee from the local Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting Company, all served in the salon, the Spanish garden courtyard or the comfort of the guest's suite. Many of Monterey's top attractions are within walking distance of the Hotel Pacific -- when it's time to rest and refresh, stop back at the hotel for a complimentary afternoon tea reception.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.1 mi/85.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Highway 1 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Conference Center (Across the street)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Presidio of Monterey (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cannery Row (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
Business
  • On-site meeting space for up to 40 people
  • Catering provided by Tarpy's Roadhouse
  • Across the street from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Additional charges: Parking fee, $20 USD per day per car; county assessment fee, $0.50 USD per night per room; and honor bar charges, Internet fees of $9.95 USD per day. Pet fee is $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6018 -121.8954
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport - 70 miles, Oakland International Airport - 115 miles, San Francisco International Airport - 120 miles.
Area description
The Hotel Pacific is located downtown Monterey within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Conference Center. Numerous historic adobes and California's First Theater, capturing the Spanish heritage of the area, surround the Hotel Pacific. Centrally located, the hotel is just minutes away from Carmel, Pebble Beach, Pacific Grove, Big Sur, and an array of Central California's premium wineries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pacific also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pacific Rooms

Junior Suite King Street View
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower,designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Junior Suite 2 Double Street View
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite King
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower,Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite Two Double
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pacific

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelfor2
Northern California
Sep 9, 2014

Nice hotel

Large, clean room with a balcony. Walking distance to many restaurants .We had a wonderful,stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill MK
Rocklin, California
Jul 29, 2014

In a good part of town

The staff that dealt with us was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok. The room was nice but a little noisy, they should give out ear plugs for night traffic. Its just down the street from fisherman's wharf for seafood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toothpam
Anaheim Hills, CA
Jun 25, 2014

Nice location

The rooms are very large and somewhat updated but could use a makeover. The location is very close to Fisherman's Wharf. $20 per night for parking didn't make me happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LRTRAVELER
Denair,CA
Feb 17, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Enjoyed the stay, although a little pricey. Rooms need a little attention and charging $20.00 per day for parking is not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellas Mom
Dublin, CA
Jan 14, 2014

Would stay again

This hotel is awesome! Loved the fireplace and the television that swivels from living room to bedroom. Only downside was no air conditioning. Will definitely be back for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behihanas is a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Empty nester 2
San Jose, California
Jan 6, 2014

Very nice!

Junior Suite ooms are very spacious with good amenities and very comfortable sitting around the fireplace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Race driver Bob
USA
Jan 5, 2014

Lovely little hotel in the downtown/old town area

The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area and surrounded by early settler homes. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. The balcony had wonderful views and we ate our complimentary breakfast there every morning. We would stay here again if we go back to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bay & all it's attractions are within a mile & the hotel rents bicycles if you don't feel like walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MLCP3312
Frederick, Maryland
Sep 24, 2013

Dingy, Dirty & Dated

I am a business owner (having once partnered in a hotel and event complex venture) and understand the impact of a bad review. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this hotel and am in a quandary how The Hotel Pacific has received so many favorable reviews. While the staff was friendly, this did not make up for the overall condition of this hotel. We entered the hotel via the underground parking garage. My first impression was not good but I thought, “hey, it’s a garage…garages can be sooty. Check in was easy and the gentlemen expeditiously handled a reservation mix up with our companions. Next stop was to the elevator and stairs from the garage. Again, sooty, grungy, dirty and dated. As we walked to our room, looking over the courtyard, I observed the disarray of furniture, an exposed damaged banquet table and green water in the fountains. I wasn’t feeling optimistic as I saw the screaming need for repairs; a thorough power washing and paint job is desperately needed all over this hotel. Finally, we reached the room. The rooms are spacious and the fireplace is a nice touch but the room(s) are in serious need of updating. The carpeting was filthy and stained. The loveseat and porch furniture should be burned. I found myself sitting on the fireplace ledge for fear of what lurked in & on the upholstered furniture. With that said, I could see that the housekeeping staff tried to do a good job keeping the room clean in spite of the conditions of the accommodations. Housekeeping also made certain that we had plenty of towels (albeit white sandpaper), offered turn down service and did an amazing job washing our own wine glasses. This hotel does not have air conditioning. Upon entry, the room seemed stuffy. My husband called down to the front desk to inform the hotel that the air con did not seem to be working only to be told that the hotel does not have air-conditioning! Seriously, no air conditioning. Relaxing was a challenge and was made even more difficult due to our room being located on a very busy and loud street. We could not keep our windows or porch doors open due to the noise level. We would not have stayed at this hotel and wanted to leave immediately if it had not been that our companions had selected The Hotel Pacific. Additionally, the little fees can add up. One surprise was the $20 per day parking fee – for parking under the hotel’s own property. The price point for this hotel is not in line with its offerings and conditions. There are too many other hotels in Monterey that are better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
310 Travelers
San Francisco, Ca
Sep 21, 2013

Close but no cigar...

This hotel has all the makings of a great hotel. Good location, renovated rooms and the comforts of a home but......it's noisy! We LOVED the recently renovated room! It looks and feels like a home with a fireplace, spacious open plan, love seat, seats, plush bathroom, 2 showers, plush king sized bed and flat screen TV. Unfortunately, we were woken at 6am by the guests walking around on the the hard wood floors in the room above us! It was awful! You could hear every sound they made! I mentioned this to the staff when checking out and they agreed that they have received this complaint from other guests. They suggested to ask for a floor on the top floor to avoid this. The other downfall....parking was a steep $20/night! With the money we saved, we lost it with the $20 in parking. Too bad the rooms are great but we would not stay there again due to the parking and noise level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We were on our honeymoon and mentioned this at check-in. The front desk attendant upgraded us to a courtyard view room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DHWS
Roseville, CA
Jul 15, 2013

Monterey getaway

The staff were very friendly and professional. The room had some issues. Room was charming but had some issues; Cupboard door was falling off the hinges, clogged sink, bathtub plug didn't work, chairs, sofa in room looked very worn and dated, dry rot on deck, etc. They removed the $20 parking fee for us as our sleep kept being interupted by the ice machine outside the door all hours of the night along with a couple of loud explosions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chart House restaurant - Amazing dinner and views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search