$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Hotel Pacific

4 stars
300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Would stay again

This hotel is awesome! Loved the fireplace and the television that swivels from living room to... See full review

  • Bellas Mom
  • Jan 14, 2014
Lovely little hotel in the downtown/old town area

The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area and surrounded by early settler homes. The... See full review

  • Race driver Bob
  • Jan 5, 2014
Romantic Monterey all-suite hotel reveals hints of Spanish influence
Find a touch of the Mediterranean at the Hotel Pacific, an adobe all-suite hotel in Monterey. Each of this boutique hotel's 105 guest rooms features hardwood floors, feather beds and a fireplace. Separate living and dining areas include a wet bar, honor bar and French doors that open to a private balcony or patio. Lush private courtyards, fountains and gardens evoke the feel of a Spanish estate, while panoramic views firmly establish the Hotel Pacific's fantastic Monterey Bay location. Fisherman's Wharf is a short walk from the Hotel Pacific.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • All rooms feature a balcony or patio
  • Fireplace in every room
  • Afternoon tea reception
  • Concierge service
Rooms
Guest suites at the Hotel Pacific are both large and cozy, with plenty of space to spread out and distinctive layouts that provide quiet corners for sleeping, living and dining. Feather beds and exposed white wood beams give the feeling of a secluded seaside retreat with the fireplace as the focal point of any romantic getaway. Expect high-speed Internet access (fees apply), tile baths, complimentary Aveda bath amenities and nightly turndown service.
Features
Free continental breakfast the Hotel Pacific includes breads, muffins, bagels, pastries, granola, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee from the local Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting Company, all served in the salon, the Spanish garden courtyard or the comfort of the guest's suite. Many of Monterey's top attractions are within walking distance of the Hotel Pacific -- when it's time to rest and refresh, stop back at the hotel for a complimentary afternoon tea reception.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.1 mi/85.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Highway 1 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Conference Center (Across the street)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Presidio of Monterey (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cannery Row (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
Business
  • On-site meeting space for up to 40 people
  • Catering provided by Tarpy's Roadhouse
  • Across the street from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Additional charges: Parking fee, $20 USD per day per car; county assessment fee, $0.50 USD per night per room; and honor bar charges, Internet fees of $9.95 USD per day. Pet fee is $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6018 -121.8954
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport - 70 miles, Oakland International Airport - 115 miles, San Francisco International Airport - 120 miles.
Area description
The Hotel Pacific is located downtown Monterey within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Conference Center. Numerous historic adobes and California's First Theater, capturing the Spanish heritage of the area, surround the Hotel Pacific. Centrally located, the hotel is just minutes away from Carmel, Pebble Beach, Pacific Grove, Big Sur, and an array of Central California's premium wineries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pacific also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pacific Rooms

Junior Suite King Street View
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower,designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Junior Suite 2 Double Street View
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite King
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower,Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite Two Double
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pacific

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Race driver Bob
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2014

Lovely little hotel in the downtown/old town area

The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area and surrounded by early settler homes. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. The balcony had wonderful views and we ate our complimentary breakfast there every morning. We would stay here again if we go back to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The bay & all it's attractions are within a mile & the hotel rents bicycles if you don't feel like walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bellas Mom
Business
Dublin, CA
Jan 14, 2014

Would stay again

This hotel is awesome! Loved the fireplace and the television that swivels from living room to bedroom. Only downside was no air conditioning. Will definitely be back for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behihanas is a block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChelleS
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 23, 2012

Fun Monterey Getway!

My famiy loved their stay at Hotel Pacific! Lovely and spacious suite with all the amenitie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distances to Fisherman's wharf, mission and cannery row.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Codyhosz
Business
Rocklin,ca
Jun 17, 2012

Such a pleasant surprise

I grew up in Monterey and moved away after college and for what ever reason I have always stayed at the Portola Plaza when I Return to town...But the last time we did it Was not good.....so on a recent visit to Monterey for a girlfriend get away I decided to try This hotel which is right across the street from Portola....Wow, I feel like a fool for not doing this earlier.This hotel is less money than both the Marriott and the Portola and it is so much better...baring the fact that there is no room service...but who cares you can walk to great food within minutes..there is a little market next store with full deli..waters,sandwiches ect. The wharf is like a two minute walk....downtown is like a two minute walk. The room was a dream( for a hotel room) big open airy with nice linens...the bed was a 10+ I never sleep well in hotels .....I slept so hard here I think I drooled.....clean and fresh...not new, but well cared for. The fire place on with the ocean breeze floating in of the balcony it was like staying at a spa.....parking is tight spaces....so I was there on my anniversary with my friend as my husband had to be in so cal.....he called the hotel and asked for them to do something nice....I came back to my room, the beds were turned down , they went to the market and made a basket for my room that was beautiful ........also we are painting our home and we want the Santa Barbara ca mission style. I love the paint of the hotel...I asked the front desk what the name of the paint was she said let me check on that for you..when I checked out she gave me the paint can lid with the color code on it, the number to the paint rep that has their Elia. Formulated paint color code so I could get it.......wow.....I thought customer service like that was a distant memory, but not at this place alive and well people taking pride in their work everywhere, even housekeing...also I am really picky specially about rooms.....in comparison to the two places right near it this will be my hotel here on out...you would be foolish to pass it up....and the location on the peninsula is smack dad in the middle close to most stuff....best over all location by far......good luck :). Oh the breakfast is good too....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We walked to turtle bay for grilled shrimp tacos......yum, best gaucumole ever....had lamb sliders at mucky duck...to die for.....Lala palooka onalverado had a great steak......the walk from the wharf to cannery row is really pleasant and less than a mile and if you are tired you can get a cab back.....:) great chowder at the Monterey plaza hotel......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Monterery Memories
Business
Raritan, NJ
Sep 4, 2012

Warm and welcoming

The staff was very welcoming, the location was just steps away from the pier, and the rooms were very clean and spacious (loved the 2 showers for our family of 4!). And the fireplace was a wonderful treat that created such a warm and cozy feel to our room on a cool foggy evening. I would DEFINITELY go back! Wish we didn't have to leave!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DanielQuinlan
Business
Boulder, CO
Dec 11, 2012

Great room in a great location

We spent two nights here in early December. It's an easy walk from here to the Old Fisherman's Wharf, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and downtown Monterey. The room was quite spacious and included a separate shower, as well as a microwave and small refrigerator. Unfortunately, the wifi was extra, so we skipped that. Overall, though, it is an exceptional hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Alvarado Fish and Steak House -- we had a fabulous meal with great service there one night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muffins
Business
South SF, Ca
Dec 23, 2012

Excellent weekend

Great place! Roomy, comfortable, great staff!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muffins
Business
South SF, Ca
Jan 29, 2013

romantic getaway

great place to stay. very comfortable. will come again!:)))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
majicones
Business
oakland, ca
Feb 28, 2013

A great place to stay!

We were in town for a show at the Golden State Theater, which was only 3 blocks away. The service was good, the room was immaculate and had everything we needed and more. Our Jr. Suite was huge and extremely comfortable, with a great fireplace, adorable little deck, and a really well-designed bathroom. When we came back from the show, we could hear the seals barking! Couldn't have been better! Highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
three adults
Business
oakland, cz
Jun 28, 2010

Excellent Hotel...but no in-home movies

Great location; clean; excellent rooms; great service. 4-6 O'clock tea was comprised ONLY of tea and apples Unable to purchase in-home movie, something malfunctioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top