$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Hotel Pacific

4 stars
300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
73 reviews
Last minute getaway

Had a very nice stay, loved the fireplace especially during this time of year. Enjoyed the space,... See full review

  • Mary Ann A.
  • Dec 20, 2014
Rustic Mediterranean Style

Checking in and out was simple, quick and easy. The breakfast bar was awesome and the rustic... See full review

  • Briya
  • Dec 8, 2014
Romantic Monterey all-suite hotel reveals hints of Spanish influence
Find a touch of the Mediterranean at the Hotel Pacific, an adobe all-suite hotel in Monterey. Each of this boutique hotel's 105 guest rooms features hardwood floors, feather beds and a fireplace. Separate living and dining areas include a wet bar, honor bar and French doors that open to a private balcony or patio. Lush private courtyards, fountains and gardens evoke the feel of a Spanish estate, while panoramic views firmly establish the Hotel Pacific's fantastic Monterey Bay location. Fisherman's Wharf is a short walk from the Hotel Pacific.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • All rooms feature a balcony or patio
  • Fireplace in every room
  • Afternoon tea reception
  • Concierge service
Rooms
Guest suites at the Hotel Pacific are both large and cozy, with plenty of space to spread out and distinctive layouts that provide quiet corners for sleeping, living and dining. Feather beds and exposed white wood beams give the feeling of a secluded seaside retreat with the fireplace as the focal point of any romantic getaway. Expect high-speed Internet access (fees apply), tile baths, complimentary Aveda bath amenities and nightly turndown service.
Features
Free continental breakfast the Hotel Pacific includes breads, muffins, bagels, pastries, granola, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee from the local Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting Company, all served in the salon, the Spanish garden courtyard or the comfort of the guest's suite. Many of Monterey's top attractions are within walking distance of the Hotel Pacific -- when it's time to rest and refresh, stop back at the hotel for a complimentary afternoon tea reception.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.1 mi/85.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Highway 1 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Conference Center (Across the street)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Presidio of Monterey (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cannery Row (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
Business
  • On-site meeting space for up to 40 people
  • Catering provided by Tarpy's Roadhouse
  • Across the street from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Additional charges: Parking fee, $20 USD per day per car; county assessment fee, $0.50 USD per night per room; and honor bar charges, Internet fees of $9.95 USD per day. Pet fee is $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pacific also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pacific Rooms

Junior Suite King Street View
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower,designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Junior Suite 2 Double Street View
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite King
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower,Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite Two Double
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pacific

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 24, 2010

Okay but noisy!

We loved the uniqueness of the rooms and the hotel itself, however, it sounded like a herd of elephants were in the room above us! Also, the noise from the street was very loud. In addition, we had no power for almost an hour due to a transformer blowing down the street (which the hotel had no control over).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Jan 24, 2010

Friendly getaway

I spent a weekend-getaway with three friends and we all were very happy with the room. It was very roomy so we didn't feel cramped. We enjoyed the fireplace, the large screen TV and the large bathroom. We asked for a room away from the street and were given one, so we had a quiet evening in the room. The continental breakfast was plentiful and tasty. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 11, 2010

One of the best experiences

Check-in was easy and pleasant. The room was perfect with slanted ceilings, lots of room and clean with windows you could actualy open and get fresh air! The bathroom was even better with heated floors and shower pressure and temperature that was GREAT! The bed was so comfy I thought I was at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Table for Two Traveler
Business
Oakland, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Noisy but Cozy

Great service at the front desk... be aware of the fact that they charge for parking if you would like to use the garage, about $20. Room was nice, bed was nice, ambiance of the area and layout were great. The biggest downside was just the lack of anything sound dampening whatsoever. Street noises, banging noises from the ceiling (if there are rooms above you). Reminds me of why I don't stay in an apartment. Great location for heading into the old fisherman's warf and just a few minute drive to cannery row and the aquarium. Overall, felt like an average hotel, especially at the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The old fisherman's warf is full of great food and small shops to get all the souvenirs you could want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wife and Mama
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 10, 2010

Amazing Weekend! Wish we were stil there

This was our first time staying at this hotel, but not our first time staying overnight in Monterey. I can say with certainty that we will be back again!! Hopefully sooner rather than later! We got an excellent price on the room, which was a junior suite with a king bed. All the rooms on property are suites with a junior being the smallest. I cannot imagine needing anything bigger, we have never had so much space in a hotel! We had emailed 2 days prior to our arrival to let them know it was our anniversary (3 years) and upon check in our anniversary was addressed and a bottle of regional wine and pinot noir chocolate cherries were left in our room along with a card. It was above and beyond service that meant a great deal to us. The room was beautiful, pictures do not do it justice. The bed was so comfy that my husband and I both agreed we would never get up if we owned it! The bathroom was hands down the most impressive I have ever seen in a hotel, with heated floors, 2 showers (one with a nice tub) and all Aveda bath products: inlcuding the BEST bath salts ever. I even purchased them after our stay. We had a lovely balcony which we enjoyed our free breakfast on and it overlooked a quaint courtyard with a very serene fountain (this is shut off at night). We enjoyed the small hot tub and were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and this place was beyond quiet. This is not a good place to bring kids, due to the demographic being geared towards couples and the lack of a pool. The room had lots of extra touches (robes, plates, wine glasses, bottle openers, huge flat screen TV and gas fireplace that we REALLY enjoyed.) I highly recommend this hotel and will be going there for our 4th anniversary as well!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbow
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Jan 3, 2010

great location and staff

Great location, we walked to both fishermans warf and cannery row it was an easy and beautiful walf, we had a short 10 minute drive to the 17 mile drive in Carmel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Isabellas on fishermans warf is FANTASTIC... we also had a great dinner at Bubba Gumps in Cannery Row which is maybe a 15 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton CA
Jan 1, 2010

Romantic and Unique

I have stayed at this hotel several times now. Keep hoping for a courtyard room, but never seem to get one ... could it be that they are reserved for bookings that are not at a discounted price?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverbank, CA
Nov 20, 2009

Very comfortable and centrally located.

Wedding Anniversary/ Birthday this was our second trip this year.Both time we enjoyed the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Aquarium tickets can be used for two days. Good value if you plan on being around for more than a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Aug 8, 2009

A downhill slide...

Having stayed at this well-located hotel many times in years past for both conference and leisure travel, we're discouraged to report that it has lost much of its charm and original romantic cachet. Sheets as well as towels have seen better days, and shower stall had been left w a showerhead aimed at head-height. Although we had reserved a luxury room category, when we arrived late in the evening we were shown to a room in the rear of the building facing an alley. Air circulation in the room was negligible, and when we enquired if any other rooms might be available with a ceiling fan the front-desk professed ignorance as to whether any of the rooms are thusly-equipped (although daytime desk staff seemed far more professional and competent). All in all, the Pacific seems a mere shadow of its former self. We checked out after one night and had a much better subsequent experience in another of Monterey's finer hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

I loved this hotel!

The room I shared with my boyfriend was spacious and comfortable. I fell in love with the down feather bed and duvet. The sheets weren't bright cheesey flowers like you see in so many other relatively inexpensive hotels. I would stay here again in a heart beat! The only thing that I wasn't real impressed about was the continental breakfast, but thats so unimportant in the grand scheme of things. Stay here, just go out to breakfast in the morning :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top