$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Hotel Pacific

4 stars
300 Pacific Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Would stay again

This hotel is awesome! Loved the fireplace and the television that swivels from living room to... See full review

  • Bellas Mom
  • Jan 14, 2014
Lovely little hotel in the downtown/old town area

The hotel is right on the edge of the downtown area and surrounded by early settler homes. The... See full review

  • Race driver Bob
  • Jan 5, 2014
Romantic Monterey all-suite hotel reveals hints of Spanish influence
Find a touch of the Mediterranean at the Hotel Pacific, an adobe all-suite hotel in Monterey. Each of this boutique hotel's 105 guest rooms features hardwood floors, feather beds and a fireplace. Separate living and dining areas include a wet bar, honor bar and French doors that open to a private balcony or patio. Lush private courtyards, fountains and gardens evoke the feel of a Spanish estate, while panoramic views firmly establish the Hotel Pacific's fantastic Monterey Bay location. Fisherman's Wharf is a short walk from the Hotel Pacific.
Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • All rooms feature a balcony or patio
  • Fireplace in every room
  • Afternoon tea reception
  • Concierge service
Rooms
Guest suites at the Hotel Pacific are both large and cozy, with plenty of space to spread out and distinctive layouts that provide quiet corners for sleeping, living and dining. Feather beds and exposed white wood beams give the feeling of a secluded seaside retreat with the fireplace as the focal point of any romantic getaway. Expect high-speed Internet access (fees apply), tile baths, complimentary Aveda bath amenities and nightly turndown service.
Features
Free continental breakfast the Hotel Pacific includes breads, muffins, bagels, pastries, granola, hard-boiled eggs, juice and coffee from the local Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting Company, all served in the salon, the Spanish garden courtyard or the comfort of the guest's suite. Many of Monterey's top attractions are within walking distance of the Hotel Pacific -- when it's time to rest and refresh, stop back at the hotel for a complimentary afternoon tea reception.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.1 mi/85.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
  • Highway 1 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
Attractions
  • Monterey Conference Center (Across the street)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey Institute of International Studies (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Presidio of Monterey (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cannery Row (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
Business
  • On-site meeting space for up to 40 people
  • Catering provided by Tarpy's Roadhouse
  • Across the street from the Monterey Conference Center
Policies and fees
Additional charges: Parking fee, $20 USD per day per car; county assessment fee, $0.50 USD per night per room; and honor bar charges, Internet fees of $9.95 USD per day. Pet fee is $50 USD per stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6018 -121.8954
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport - 70 miles, Oakland International Airport - 115 miles, San Francisco International Airport - 120 miles.
Area description
The Hotel Pacific is located downtown Monterey within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and the Monterey Conference Center. Numerous historic adobes and California's First Theater, capturing the Spanish heritage of the area, surround the Hotel Pacific. Centrally located, the hotel is just minutes away from Carmel, Pebble Beach, Pacific Grove, Big Sur, and an array of Central California's premium wineries.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Pacific also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Pacific Rooms

Junior Suite King Street View
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower,designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Junior Suite 2 Double Street View
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500square feet, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony with street view, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite King
One king bed with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower,Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only
Luxury Junior Suite Two Double
Two double beds with premium down feather bedding. The Room is 500 square feet, located away from the street, has hardwood floors, gas fireplace, sitting area and dining alcove, private furnished patio or balcony, and is accessed via exterior corridor. Basic wireless/wired internet access is complimentary (high-speed surcharge). Cable/satellite television channels. Clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffee maker. Separate bathtub and shower. Handheld shower, designer toiletries, bathrobes, hair dryer, iron/ironing board. Non-smoking only.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Pacific

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxnard, CA
May 22, 2011

Expectations not met

Hotel room was large but very noisy. Hotel could use a great facelift. Elevators, etc looked rund down. Bed was comfortable and the hotel was within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. Advertisement sounded great but hotel did not live up to what was described. Know there is a seperate charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother's Day happy
Foster City, CA
May 9, 2011

Wonderful!!

We were there to go to the aquarium and just relax. This place was perfectly located by fisherman's wharf, we walked everywhere and loved it!! It was a big room for us to put our 2 kids to bed, step out onto the patio while they fell asleep and hang out in the sitting area once they were asleep! They allowed us to park there all day after we checked out because we walked down to the aquarium (1.2 miles). The continental breakfast was excellent, and the room very comfortable and clean. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up fisherman's wharf for chowder and fresh seafood for dinner, can't beat the free tasters and the atmosphere!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wino Foodie
San Francisco, CA
Dec 6, 2010

perfection

spacious rooms, such comfortable beds, and gorgeous bathrooms (with two shower heads to boot!) close to all downtown attractions and walking distance to cannery row. Great fireplace and comfortable living area. One downside is that advertised as pet free (and as I'm allergic, selection of this hotel was based upon this), and there was definitely a dog across the hall (could be heard yapping through the night). Front desk denied this, though there was obviously dog next door...very strange. Other than that incident- highly recommend this hotel, and we will absolutely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Go for the in room couples massage! $85 for an hour and the best massage I've had in a looong time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Oct 28, 2010

Excellent stay

The hotel is excellent and comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon tea are enjoyable and plentiful. Only downside -- I asked for a 7:00 a.m. wakeup call. The desk thought I said 7:30 a.m. I corrected it to 7:00 a.m. The wakeup call came at 7:30 a.m. Fortunately, I was already awake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fred & Scott
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Oct 11, 2010

Great hotel service and location

Perfect location to walk to shops and restaurants - staff was extremely helpful - big room - made us feel at home and we really didn't want to leave - great breakfast included in nice room with a fireplace. Perfect place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaca Munkey!
Elk grove, ca
Sep 5, 2010

Decent location, rustic rooms

The hotel staff on check in weren't the friendliest. It seemed they wanted to get us checked in and out of their hair. Their 'nice' behavior was obviously feigned. Luckily we didn't interact with them much. We only stayed one night, the day of our arrival we made the trek to the Aquarium , which is not as close as they want you to think. It took us 30 minutes along the path. It was a nice walk, just longer and colder then anticipated. The hotel is very close to the fishermans wharf, so close to souvenir shops and lots of restaurants. The breakfast is so so. Mostly cereals, baked goods and if you are lucky you can grab an boiled egg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the fishermans wharf and try the free chowder samples before you pick a place to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pleasanton, CA
Aug 30, 2010

Very nice, but slightly lacking.

Last time my girlfriend and I stayed in monterey we stayed at the best western victoria, which is right in the downtown area. This time I decided to spend a little bit more and really make it nice for our anniversary. The room was very clean, friendly enough staff and a nice room. It really did seem like they were going for the more luxurious feel, and they almost made it. The TV is a little too small to watch from the bed, but with the layout in their junior suite it seems like that's what they have in mind. (it's too awkwardly positioned to watch in the sitting area without moving furniture around) The other issue I had was that the bathrooms, while they had nice looking fixtures didn't have everything tied up and installed properly. The sink didn't drain as quickly as the faucet filled it, drain piping in the tub was exposed because the cover's weren't installed right and the toilet didn't even flush until I adjusted the chain!. Overall, I would recommend the hotel if you can get it on sale (say, 130 or less before taxes) but if you're paying anywhere near the 180ish a night they want, just find another hotel unless you really just want to be on the wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Fishermans Grotto did right by us, I made a reservation ahead and let them know it was for our anniversary and asked if they could have a dozen roses and a tall candle on the table. They did that without charge and also gave us a free appetizer and desert! Great food and wonderful staff, I highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
Aug 22, 2010

terrible, terrible, terrible

They need to stop advertising themselves as "near the aquarium." In fact, they're well over a mile from the aquarium in downtown Monterey. [...]I had asked for a crib when I registered, when I checked in, and when I got back to the hotel several hours later. In fact, I had to ask for the crib SIX TIMES before it arrived.Also be aware that by "suite" they do not mean there's a separate area where someone can hang out while someone else sleeps. They just means that there's seating next to the beds.There was nothing great enough about this hotel to make all the problems worthwhile. It was average at best. And is grossly misrepresented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA Roadtripper
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 4, 2010

Adorable Cottage-Like Suite

Celebrating our 10 year anniversary we drove up the coast from San Diego to San Francisco and stopped in Moneterey along the way. We stayed at 5 different hotels, 3-5 star quality, and this one was definitely worth the visit. The rooms are cottage-like and very roomy! We traveled without kids but if you chose the suite with a sofa-bed there is plenty of room for a family of 4, possibly 5, if the kids are young. There is a complimentary continental breakfast that was very sufficient - it included cereals, bagels, muffins, fresh juice, etc. The suite has a kitchen table and little living room area so that if you chose to bring meals back to your room you'll have the space to dine. The staff was fantastic! They helped answer our questions and were available every time we needed something. My only one negative comment would be that the hotel is spread out into different buildings and some rooms are not a straight shot to get to (although there are elevators to reach the different levels). If you have a lot of luggage or have limited movement, you may want to ask for a room closer to the front. There is plenty of parking onsite for $19/day. The location was perfect - you are within a 2 block walk to the Wharf and Recreation trail between the Wharf and Cannery Row. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Monterey has many cute restuarants all within walking distance from this hotel! Be sure to venture out to enjoy the local fare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Pacific

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
three adults
oakland, cz
Jun 28, 2010

Excellent Hotel...but no in-home movies

Great location; clean; excellent rooms; great service. 4-6 O'clock tea was comprised ONLY of tea and apples Unable to purchase in-home movie, something malfunctioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search