$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
109 reviews
Great Hotel in a convenient location

This hotel was very clean and in a great location! Minutes away from everything. Downside is that... See full review

  • Caligirl
  • Jan 23, 2015
Glad we found this place

I ran across this hotel while I was doing LOTS of searching online for a good place for 3 adults to... See full review

  • Lisa L.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

  • The hotel will undergo renovations from 19 Jan to 19 Mar. The pool/hot tub will not be available during this period.
  • Pets are no longer be allowed in the property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 109
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Abrego

The hotel is very nice and clean, and conveniently located if you have a car. Not all rooms have air conditioning, I called and they upgraded me. I didn't need it however, it cooled off quite a bit at night. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, so I can't rate those. Ordered pizza one night for dinner, wasn't great, didn't try the breakfast but it smelled really good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do 17 Mile Drive remember that you can get your money back if you purchase anything over $25. I forgot and it wasn't worth going back. Make sure you check out Carmel, it's a cute little town. Would have liked to have more time to spend there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City girl
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Hotel Abrego is great!

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and really attractive rooms with fireplaces! There is a restaurant. The food is good. Too bad room service is not available. There is a small refrigerator in each room. If you need a microwave, just call the front desk and it will be delivered. They try to meet every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Fisherman's Grotto has the best food! They offer free samples of their delicious clam chowder.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Dec 16, 2010

Double check your reservation....

There is a small downside to this story, but I'll save it for last.I've stayed at this hotel previously. I already knew I liked it. The rooms are attractively appointed and the hotel is in a good location. The bedding is great-- all down pillows, crisp thick sheets, down comforters. The bed is fair, though a little too firm for me. Both times I stayed I had rooms with fireplaces, though they must have them without. They're great! They're on a timer with 30 min, 1 hour and 2 hour settings. And being gas there's no smoke, no lighting--yes hit the switch!The bathrooms are very nice looking. Which almost overrides the fact that the rain head shower spray does not fit within the confines of the tub, thereby creating a small lake outside the shower. Watch your step when you get out! And there was not a lot of pressure from the shower head either. I'm all for saving water, but I also need to get the soap off. Then again, I don't remember it being an issue on my last trip, so maybe it varies from room to room.My room had a great view of the bay from a little balcony. Well, once I looked past the gas station. ha! Even though my room was on the corner (overlooking Four Corners for any past Monterey residents) the sound did not bother me at night. I did have to close the darkening curtains as the well lit gas station is open all night.The down side.............I got into Monterey after 9 hours of driving and a couple hours of visiting a friend around 10pm.[...]Moral of the story? It's a nice hotel. Both kids were with me on the last trip and it was fine for a family, too. But, like Monterey itself...It's a nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to live there. haha!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Siamese Bay Thai is NOT worth the money or two block walk. I ordered a chicken dish and the chicken was SO dry I had to drink water to get the bites down. Yes, I only had a few bites because I was Starving, but it was that bad. The friend I was with took hers home for her dog. She didn't eat more than the one bite. If I'd been alone or with different company, I would not have paid for the dish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 24, 2009

Better than good, but not great

OK, I was out and about most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top