$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
104 reviews
Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends. See full review

  • Super travellers
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus.... See full review

  • traveling Luc
  • Jan 4, 2014
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5943 -121.8916
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport, San Jose International Airport, San Francisco Airport
Area description
1 block from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and the Monterey Conference Center, and 2 miles from the Aquarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellers
Durham
Jul 16, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to pier. Would recommend using free trolley bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvved It
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 10, 2014

Excellent Stay

We had two rooms reserved and when checking in we asked that our rooms be close to each other if possible. Because I had reserved a less expensive room, they were located in different buildings. The folks at the front desk gave me an upgrade free of charge without my even asking, so we could have our rooms near each other. The room was great! Very spacious, beautiful bathroom, patio, fireplace, lots of amenities. I usually have trouble sleeping the first night in a hotel because the pillows are always too big or the bed too soft or too hard. Not here. Best pillows ever. I slept beautifully both nights. The location is not the best; I would prefer closer to Cannery Row. But it is an easy and safe walk to Fisherman's Wharf. A great discovery was a fabulous French bakery about three blocks down Abrego toward the wharf. Overall, an excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stine44
Fremony, CA
Mar 25, 2014

Great stay

I enjoyed that we could walk to fisherman's wharf from the hotel, so the location was pretty good. The value for the beautiful, clean hotel was also very good. No charge for parking is always a plus. For me, a clean and quiet hotel is most important for my stay. I did use the pool and it was nice and clean too. But cold in March. It was still warmer than the ocean, hehe! Great trip and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling Luc
Pasadena, California
Jan 4, 2014

Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom clean, but little space for toiletry. Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman wharf is nearby: restaurants, shops, whale watching boat trips, sea lions resting on the decks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krails
San Mateo, CA
Oct 15, 2013

Great quick getaway

Stayed at Hotel Abrego for the second time. Still just as nice. Got an upgraded room with fireplace overlooking the pool. Very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Esteban tapas restaurant nearby is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outdoors Bay Area
Oakland, ca
Sep 26, 2013

Satisfied Customer In Town for Jazz Festival

Based on others' reviews, my mother and I stayed here for the Monterey Jazz Festival. It was close enough to walk to the free shuttle bus. We appreciated being able to open the windows for ample fresh air. The bed was comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The stay was expensive but expected given the Festival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save $10 parking fee and walk to free shuttle service to the Jazz Festival.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lankenole
Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Warm but nice

The hotel was in a good location. Property was clean and had a clean classy appearance . The room was comfortable except for the fact that there was no AC. It made for an uncomfortably warm night. My husband thinks its was because there was a fireplace in the room which would have been great on a cold night. Unfortunately for us It was not cold. The young man, Patrick, at the front desk was great and very helpful giving us directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We arrived in the late evening and most places were closing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lloyd 007
Los Banos CA
Jan 26, 2013

The Abrego Monterey CA

At the desk on Arrival:Did not confirm the type of room we were supposed to have-r2302 which could not be premium (which is what we paid for) The "ROOM"no chairs small 'stool with glass on it was supposed to be desk-had to kneel or use my computer sitting on floor or bed.Beds were good so was shower every thing else was bad.A Premium Room this was not. On leaving the lady at front desk asked us if the room was satisfactory I said no and said we would have liked a balcony and her answer suggested we were not in a premium room but standard. Too late -damage was done..No discussion on the matter would have helped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimmer Daddy
Laguna Niguel, California
Dec 27, 2012

Great budget stay

We stayed at Hotel Abrego for a Christmas road trip. For its price at the peak time of Holiday Season in Monterey, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (double, with fireplace) was clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel (no real dining area) and did not use any facilities like pool or spa, but liked our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of nice breakfast cafes in town; don't have breakfast at the hotel -- Take a short drive to the nearby (Old) Fisherman's Wharf and enjoy Crêpes of Brittany for example.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tissylu
Sacramento, CA
Dec 27, 2012

Great hotel

I had a fantastic stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top