$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly See full review

  • Oma of three
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends. See full review

  • Super travellers
  • Jul 16, 2014
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 106
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Abacus
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 24, 2014

Clean, convenient and quiet

Very much enjoyed our brief stay. We were upstairs in one of the 'wing' rooms which provided nice peace and quiet. Convenient eateries across the street and one block from Casa Munras' excellent Esteban restaurant. Would stay here again, although in summer would ask to stay in the main building since the wing buildings do not have AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiny French bakery shop across the street. Good for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oma of three
Business
San Rafael
Oct 11, 2014

Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier next to Coast Guard center - lots of active sea creatures that are fun to watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Traveler4
Business
New York
Sep 3, 2014

Nice hotel

The hotel is very clean and stuff is extremely helpful and courteous. However, this hotel as most housing in Monterey doesn't have air-conditioning. Our room was on the second floor, and it wasn't a problem with an open balcony door. Our friends were on the first floor and could only open a window. They were not comfortable during August nights. If you can, ask for a room on the second floor. Despite this, I would stay in the hotel again, as it's very conveniently located and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennacole6
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 13, 2014

Extremely disappointing

The property is beautiful, it makes a great first impression. Unfortunately when we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was how hot it was in there (I'm sure it was 80+ degrees) so we looked for the A/C controls only to find that there weren't any in our particular room. When we asked the front desk they said there was no A/C and the best they could do was provide a fan. Our room was right outside the pool area and parking lot so leaving the window open at night was not an option and by the time we woke up in the morning it had to have been over 85 degrees in our room. The one thing I look for in a hotel is good sleep quality and this was one of the worst night's sleep we had on our trip to California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding guests 2
Business
Seattle
Aug 11, 2014

Remodeled but could have used a bit more work

The hallways had a old dank smell but room was fine. No AC was found so it was a little warm. Seagulls made it hard to sleep the first night but got used to them the second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the "Wild Plum" just around the corner is a must!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daisy miran shin
Business
san francisco
Apr 5, 2014

It's good.

there was clean room, good condition facilities, and nice people in the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieT0513
Business
California
Oct 17, 2013

Great place to stay with your dog

My wife and I stayed at the hotel with our dog. The staff were very friendly to him, and the restaurant has a outside patio that is dog friendly so we could eat with our pet. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed there several times and have had good experiences there each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Carmel beach is very nice and allows dogs to run around off leash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael273
Business
Chicago
Oct 10, 2013

Beautiful gem

Hotel was great! Staff was so accommodating. I didn't fly in until 2:30am and they were still waiting up for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3g's
Business
Tracy, CA
Jul 11, 2013

Good Stay

We had requested and had been assured that we had a handicap accessible room but when we checked in the room had a tub shower which could not be accessed by my wife. When we asked for a roll in shower we were told that the hotel only had one room with that type of shower and that it was booked for six days. We were upset since we had even called the hotel to confirm it was a roll in shower and were assured our room had one. Other than the shower issue, the room and hotel were great and the location is perfect for getting to the various activities in Monterey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gina in the Marina
Business
Marina del Rey
Jul 2, 2013

Great find!

Cozy, comfortable and modern little escape located walking distance from the Fisherman's Wharf. The staff friendly and helpful and my short stay was delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Opt for walking to the Fisherman's Wharf area. It's a lovely little stroll on a nice evening and you'll avoid the parking frustration.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top