$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
153 reviews
Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus.... See full review

  • traveling Luc
  • Jan 4, 2014
Beautiful hotel

My experience with hotel Abrego was fantastic. It is an easy 10 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf... See full review

  • DCha
  • Dec 5, 2013
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5943 -121.8916
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport, San Jose International Airport, San Francisco Airport
Area description
1 block from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and the Monterey Conference Center, and 2 miles from the Aquarium.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Abrego

The hotel is very nice and clean, and conveniently located if you have a car. Not all rooms have air conditioning, I called and they upgraded me. I didn't need it however, it cooled off quite a bit at night. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, so I can't rate those. Ordered pizza one night for dinner, wasn't great, didn't try the breakfast but it smelled really good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do 17 Mile Drive remember that you can get your money back if you purchase anything over $25. I forgot and it wasn't worth going back. Make sure you check out Carmel, it's a cute little town. Would have liked to have more time to spend there!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 27, 2011

A Good Stay

The stay was great couldn't ask for more. The beach and downtown was within walking distance. The room was very nice and spacious with a flat screen t.v. and I was comped an upgraded room with a fireplace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bellagio Pizzeria on Tyler St. was great. Must try!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area
Jul 6, 2011

4th of July in Monterey

We are very active so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The location was perfect for us because we like to walk everywhere. Fishermans wharf was about a 10 minute walk. We had breakfast at LouLous Griddle in the middle which was awesome! highly recommend! Dinner at Sapporo was also amazing! We walked alittle less than two miles to the Aquarium which was super cool to watch the Open Water exhibit on the first day it was open!The hotel was clean and looked brand new with a very modern flair. The gas fireplace was beautiful, but we only got to use it one night due to the weather being so hot! My one complaint was the hotel is "pet friendly" but you have to call to find out that there is a $30/animal/night charge and only in select rooms which were sold out. So, we wish the charge was clearly stated on the [...] site because we would have chosen a less expensive hotel. Lastly, the pool is really small and uninviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LouLous Griddle in the Middle

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3g's
Tracy, CA
Jul 11, 2013

Good Stay

We had requested and had been assured that we had a handicap accessible room but when we checked in the room had a tub shower which could not be accessed by my wife. When we asked for a roll in shower we were told that the hotel only had one room with that type of shower and that it was booked for six days. We were upset since we had even called the hotel to confirm it was a roll in shower and were assured our room had one. Other than the shower issue, the room and hotel were great and the location is perfect for getting to the various activities in Monterey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family3
Riverbank, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

very nice

It was very nice. We had plenty of room for our 2 year old to run around. Had a nice gated outdoor patio. We were in walking distance to the Dennis the Menace Park and the children museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Mar 24, 2010

Great Value

This hotel was a short walk from Fisherman's Wharf and not too far from Cannery Row. I regret renting a car because we rarely used it. The hotel staff frequently went above and beyond to help us out. I'd definitely recommend staying here. One of the best hotel I've stayed at, especially considering the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieT0513
California
Oct 17, 2013

Great place to stay with your dog

My wife and I stayed at the hotel with our dog. The staff were very friendly to him, and the restaurant has a outside patio that is dog friendly so we could eat with our pet. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed there several times and have had good experiences there each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Carmel beach is very nice and allows dogs to run around off leash.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
z along for the ride
san francisco, california
May 28, 2013

great stay

Clean, friendly, walking distance to warf, downtown. Great area to walk with the dog. Great place for a quick get-away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy P
Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

nice location

The location was great within walking distance of fishermans wharf and the mall. The cost compared to other hotels was reasonable for California. My rental car was parked at the hotel & got scratched on the side. I mentioned it to the front desk and they stated the manager was going to get back to me. He never did and we were there for 4 days. I mentioned it again while checking out & he finally got back to me after I got home. Not to happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marin County, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Nice service and ambiance, a bit noisy

I usually have a business trip to Monterey once or twice a year and this was the first time I stayed at the Hotel Abrego. The personnel were very nice and friendly and it was a nice treat to have chilled water (with fresh cucumber & mint) while waiting to check in. The rooms are well done and include a flat-screen tv and fireplace. While the location was surprisingly quiet for a fairly busy thoroughfare, the walls were not adequate to muffle the noise of my neighbors. Luckily, they all went to bed relatively early so that I no longer heard footsteps and muffled voices while trying to sleep. The location is good as you can walk to downtown Monterey and nice restaurants are very close by. I didn't try the hotel restaurant. It also is an easy access to the freeway and Del Monte Mall. I'd probably give it 3.5 stars if I could, but the place is nicely styled and the staff is well trained so that makes it definitely better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Estaban Restaurant was a block away and excellent!

Back to menu Return to top