$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lankenole
Business
Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Warm but nice

The hotel was in a good location. Property was clean and had a clean classy appearance . The room was comfortable except for the fact that there was no AC. It made for an uncomfortably warm night. My husband thinks its was because there was a fireplace in the room which would have been great on a cold night. Unfortunately for us It was not cold. The young man, Patrick, at the front desk was great and very helpful giving us directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We arrived in the late evening and most places were closing

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieT0513
Business
California
Oct 17, 2013

Great place to stay with your dog

My wife and I stayed at the hotel with our dog. The staff were very friendly to him, and the restaurant has a outside patio that is dog friendly so we could eat with our pet. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed there several times and have had good experiences there each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Carmel beach is very nice and allows dogs to run around off leash.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krails
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 15, 2013

Great quick getaway

Stayed at Hotel Abrego for the second time. Still just as nice. Got an upgraded room with fireplace overlooking the pool. Very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Esteban tapas restaurant nearby is great.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los banos, CA
Jun 4, 2010

Problems at first!!!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icemaiden
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 3, 2011

Totally decent

Beautifully appointed, fireplace in the room. Within easy walk of Fisherman's Wharf. Restaurant understaffed; good food but slow service. Hotel is called Hotel Abrego not Sand Dollar Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant had good food if you got there early. Hotel also gave us a free bottle of wine for our anniversary.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 30, 2011

A nice affordable spot

I went down to Monterey for a diving class (2 days), and my wife and her mother came along for the trip. The place my dive instructor recommended was full, so we found this place. The hotel is clean, and the staff were very friendly. We had a snack at the restaurant and the food was affordable and palatable if not extraordinary. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bargain but who doesn't want to go to a seedy, bottom-of-the-barrel type of place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Alviso Street, there are a few good places to eat, including a good bagel place and Lebanese restaurant.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indignee
Business
Davis
Feb 7, 2011

Hotel Abrego

I discovered Hotel Abrego a year ago, when they were finishing it, so got a discounted rate. This time, because I knew the rooms were clean and linens fresh, I went for the extra "regular" cost. Although I'm not 100% sure, I'd say we were discriminated for because of "ageism", ie, we had two kids with us. Rather than place us in one of the nicer rooms in the main building, they gave us one on the parking lot--when I said "that's not a room on the parking lot, is it?" the reception desk person said "it's on the first floor," as if that made it ok to have parking lot car lights shining in your room. The room they tried to put us in was on the parking lot-- not worth the money. I had to go back in and request another room. I understand that loud children can be annoying, but better to assume the best and trust the parents rather than to discriminate. We won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Dec 16, 2010

Double check your reservation....

There is a small downside to this story, but I'll save it for last.I've stayed at this hotel previously. I already knew I liked it. The rooms are attractively appointed and the hotel is in a good location. The bedding is great-- all down pillows, crisp thick sheets, down comforters. The bed is fair, though a little too firm for me. Both times I stayed I had rooms with fireplaces, though they must have them without. They're great! They're on a timer with 30 min, 1 hour and 2 hour settings. And being gas there's no smoke, no lighting--yes hit the switch!The bathrooms are very nice looking. Which almost overrides the fact that the rain head shower spray does not fit within the confines of the tub, thereby creating a small lake outside the shower. Watch your step when you get out! And there was not a lot of pressure from the shower head either. I'm all for saving water, but I also need to get the soap off. Then again, I don't remember it being an issue on my last trip, so maybe it varies from room to room.My room had a great view of the bay from a little balcony. Well, once I looked past the gas station. ha! Even though my room was on the corner (overlooking Four Corners for any past Monterey residents) the sound did not bother me at night. I did have to close the darkening curtains as the well lit gas station is open all night.The down side.............I got into Monterey after 9 hours of driving and a couple hours of visiting a friend around 10pm.[...]Moral of the story? It's a nice hotel. Both kids were with me on the last trip and it was fine for a family, too. But, like Monterey itself...It's a nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to live there. haha!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Siamese Bay Thai is NOT worth the money or two block walk. I ordered a chicken dish and the chicken was SO dry I had to drink water to get the bites down. Yes, I only had a few bites because I was Starving, but it was that bad. The friend I was with took hers home for her dog. She didn't eat more than the one bite. If I'd been alone or with different company, I would not have paid for the dish!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
May 31, 2010

Hotel Abrego

Not an exciting location, but with a car that made no difference. Fab hotel though, super modern/clean rooms. Very impressed, would reccommend hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cupid Shot Me
Business
Sonoma County, CA
Jun 6, 2010

The good, the bad about Hotel Abrego

Hotel Abrego was clean and the service friendly. They gave us an upgrade on our hotel room which was great! The negative...only one roll of toilet paper was provided (none to be found in the hotel room except for the one)and thought the hotel is close to the highlight area of Monterey and the beautiful bay, the street is noisy and the neighboring restaurant life as well. There was loud music playing at the Mexican restaurant across the street past midnight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top