$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimmer Daddy
Business
Laguna Niguel, California
Dec 27, 2012

Great budget stay

We stayed at Hotel Abrego for a Christmas road trip. For its price at the peak time of Holiday Season in Monterey, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (double, with fireplace) was clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel (no real dining area) and did not use any facilities like pool or spa, but liked our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of nice breakfast cafes in town; don't have breakfast at the hotel -- Take a short drive to the nearby (Old) Fisherman's Wharf and enjoy Crêpes of Brittany for example.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RKM
Business
Redwood City, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Abriego, Monterey, CA

Lighting in the bathroom is extremely poor. It had only one light in the center of room and nothing over the mirror. Water pressure is awful in the bathroom sink and the shower head is awful as well. The water pressure is almost non existent. We had a room over the garbage bin area and the staff was throwing glass in the bins early in the a.m. and late in the evening. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good to Go Husband
Business
Fremont, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Not bad, but not great

Newly remodeled hotel, yet the quality of work was not great, several items still need to be fixed in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tzigrrl
Business
sf bay area, california
Aug 15, 2011

Average ordinary in a fresh clean package

The Hotel Abrego is "new" It's a motor court that's been redone to look like it's bigger brighter and better than it is. The room we were given was in the main building on the 3rd floor. Which is actually the floor 1 and 1/2 as the building is split level. For being next to the elevator, we didn't hear a lick of elevator noise, but we did hear each and every car that drove in as our window looked out onto the drivethrough above the lobby. We asked for a different room, and were offered two options both ground floor that faced the major intersection one lot over rather than in another building. No other option and no concession even though we expressed displeasure within five minutes of checkin. Not a horrid room, but not quiet. Additionally, the bathroom door conflicted with the room door making awkward the move from bathroom to main room. Pretty - obviously just remodeled - two person shower rather than bath (not my preference) and the fireplace is below the tv completely hidden from the bed when you are lying down. Did not partake of the $10 buffet breakfast you can add on. Next time, I'll not stay on the main hotel drag in Monterey and not here since they did nothing to assist me with my issue with the room beyond offer me worse alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have coffee at east village coffee lounge your first day - you'll be back for wifi, pastries, and the general vibe. Eat your best dinner out at Passionfish in Pacific grove.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 24, 2009

Better than good, but not great

OK, I was out and about most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
montereyGetaway
Business
east bay CA
Oct 26, 2009

okay...i guess

friendly and helpful staff. the room and bed were small. the bed was suppose to be a queen, looks like a full. the hotel is not as close to the wharf as it looks on the map. for $109 a night(fri, sat), it was a decent hotel in monterey. However, i will be looking for another spot next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland
Oct 17, 2010

decent

Hotel was clean and conveniently located. Noise level was a problem. You can hear movement from other rooms and stairwell traffic. Otherwise acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stepmom D
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 26, 2014

Bathroom

The room was nice but the bathroom had no counter space. The seagulls squawked all night so we didn't sleep well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fandango restaurant was excellent.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding guests 2
Business
Seattle
Aug 11, 2014

Remodeled but could have used a bit more work

The hallways had a old dank smell but room was fine. No AC was found so it was a little warm. Seagulls made it hard to sleep the first night but got used to them the second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the "Wild Plum" just around the corner is a must!!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stine44
Business
Fremony, CA
Mar 25, 2014

Great stay

I enjoyed that we could walk to fisherman's wharf from the hotel, so the location was pretty good. The value for the beautiful, clean hotel was also very good. No charge for parking is always a plus. For me, a clean and quiet hotel is most important for my stay. I did use the pool and it was nice and clean too. But cold in March. It was still warmer than the ocean, hehe! Great trip and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top