$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
104 reviews
Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends. See full review

  • Super travellers
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus.... See full review

  • traveling Luc
  • Jan 4, 2014
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5943 -121.8916
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport, San Jose International Airport, San Francisco Airport
Area description
1 block from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and the Monterey Conference Center, and 2 miles from the Aquarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommywife
Sonora ca
Jan 22, 2013

Great getaway

The location was perfect for us, just two blocks from the downtown and a couple more to the old warf. The staff was great, hotel was clean and the creme brûlée oatmeal was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lloyd 007
Los Banos CA
Jan 26, 2013

The Abrego Monterey CA

At the desk on Arrival:Did not confirm the type of room we were supposed to have-r2302 which could not be premium (which is what we paid for) The "ROOM"no chairs small 'stool with glass on it was supposed to be desk-had to kneel or use my computer sitting on floor or bed.Beds were good so was shower every thing else was bad.A Premium Room this was not. On leaving the lady at front desk asked us if the room was satisfactory I said no and said we would have liked a balcony and her answer suggested we were not in a premium room but standard. Too late -damage was done..No discussion on the matter would have helped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville, CA
Nov 27, 2010

Not a slient night

Hotel's fire doors slam shut when people use them going up and down the stair case. We had been away from the hotel rooom for 7 hours the next day got back at 3:45pm and still housekeeping had not been to the room to refresh the bathroom or bedroom areas. The costs for a light breakfast was $10 per person, for a family of four we opted for Denny's across the street. Hey Hotel! you can install door jambs pads on the fire door framing to soften the closures of the doors...hint..hint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in Monterey
San Clemente, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Hotel Abrego is No Bueno

My bf and I were so excited to go to Monterey as this was our first trip together. We decided to stay at Hotel Abrego since it seemed like a nice place to stay and somewhere in between the high and low priced hotels. The picture of the room is advertised with a fireplace and we had no fireplace in the room. What we did have was a neighbor upstairs, in which we could hear every step he took with a high pitch creak of the boards. The ceiling was so thin we could hear every move he made. I'm usually a sound sleeper but even the sounds of footsteps at 4 am on Sunday morning woke me up. It's worse than in a house with 2 floors, you could really hear everything…flush of the toilet, shower, everything. My bf couldn't even fall back asleep it was so loud. The next morning we were awaken by the garbage truck right outside our window at 4:50 am and then kept up by our upstairs neighbor that was woke up by the garbage truck. 4 am and 5 am? I sleep in later when I'm at home and have to be to work in the morning, I thought this was supposed to be a vacation for us. Another downer about the hotel is that the spa closes at 9 pm, whereas most hotels close the spa at 10pm. My bf and I actually ended dinner early Saturday night to rush back in time for the spa, which we thought closed at 10pm but was actually already closed by the time we got there. Finally when we went to the front desk (in our swimsuits)to ask them why the spa was closed so early, we also questioned why there was no fireplace in the room and they said that[...]advertises it like that to sell rooms and that only some of their rooms have fireplaces. My experience with the hotel staff was depressing too. I actually was on this trip for work but extended it for some R&R. I had called the hotel staff after booking the room online and inquired about renting a conference room. I left a message at the front desk and was told someone would call me back that handles the conference rooms. No one called back! I ended up renting a conference room at the Portola. I would never stay at this hotel again nor would I recommend it to anyone. I would have rather stayed at the Travelodge because I think our chances of sleeping in would've been better and we could've got our monies worth. On a positive note the bed was comfortable, if it was not for that we would've probably checked out after the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pebble Beach 17 mile ride, it's $10 but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma,RN
Central Valley
Jun 9, 2011

Never again

We took our 2 year old grandaughter for her 1st trip to Coast & Aquarium. We are 59y/o, husband is recent haert attack patient. We checked into room 2105 then left for a while returning about 4 pm. Room was warm, musty "basement" room. Hotel Abrego has no airconditioning usually not a problem in Monterey because opening the window provides a nice breeze. We could not open our window. Immediately outside our window w/n 10' a crew of men were using an huge jackhammer & asphalt saw to rip into the parking lot. When we complained the manager offered to move us to an "upgraded" room. Really? We had traveled, I was exhausted, baby was tired,& I was worried about my husband over doing it. There was no way we felt like repacking luggage, toiletries etc to move again. The room should never have been rented during construction. The staff is very friendly but friendly does not change the facts. No monetary adjustment was offered. Did the hotel put us in this place because we booked on [...]?? I wonder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennacole6
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 13, 2014

Extremely disappointing

The property is beautiful, it makes a great first impression. Unfortunately when we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was how hot it was in there (I'm sure it was 80+ degrees) so we looked for the A/C controls only to find that there weren't any in our particular room. When we asked the front desk they said there was no A/C and the best they could do was provide a fan. Our room was right outside the pool area and parking lot so leaving the window open at night was not an option and by the time we woke up in the morning it had to have been over 85 degrees in our room. The one thing I look for in a hotel is good sleep quality and this was one of the worst night's sleep we had on our trip to California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lawrence of the Coast
Olympia, WA
Jul 11, 2009

New Addition and Renovation Problems

It is also known now as the "Abrego" and I wish it was better managed. The first night we were "upgraded" to a premium room in the new addition. The room was very eye-pleasing and obviously in mint condition. So far so good, however, the chemical smell in the room was overwhelming and eye/lung irritating. The new carpeting and furniture clearly needed to be off-gassed and I would not consider the room to be habitable. We ended up leaving the sliding door (we were on the ground floor) open all night to provide some needed ventilation. We awoke congested and with a headache. The next day I was told that the carpeting was installed last week and I assume the furniture was brand new as well. The next day we asked to be moved to the "old" part of the complex. When we explained why, the earnest but clueless staff made no apology or offer for a price reduction. I then spent an hour walking back and forth with the clerk to our newly assigned room because the two staff at the desk could not figure out how to program the electronic key to our room. I gave up and went to dinner and hoped they could have it working when I got back. I also had to give them my credit three times to pay. Apparently, the business systems of the hotel are not together yet. Finally, any attempt at a nap was impossible as they were jack-hammering (I kid you not) the parking lot for their new entrance. Upon leaving, I spoke with someone who acted as though she had authority and told her about our experience. She had the sense to apologize and offer us a discount and a free breakfast. Bottom-line, for the price (no free breakfast), the staff I dealt with were not well-trained and their support systems were sub-par. That's a management problem, not the front-line employees' problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For a light snack, walk the "clam chowder gauntlet" along the Cannery and get a small cup of clam chowder every 25 feet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
merced cal
Jul 31, 2010

relaxing getway

the location was good.The staff was not very friendly and when asked directions not very detail.The room had this smell of paint that was unbearable,but we stayed in it since we were out of the room during the day.I will not go back to this hotel.In all fairness the hot tub was nice.But they have ice machines away from the room we were in it ,not good deal.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

go whale watching!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Mateo, CA
Aug 16, 2009

Bait and switch on the "premium" rooms

We booked this hotel based on the new remodel and good reviews. However, when we arrived they told us that the room we'd reserved (two Queen bed "premium" room with fireplace) was not available. At first the manager offered us two adjoining rooms each with a King which would have been a very nice offer considering they didn't have our room available. However, he quickly changed tack and instead offered us one King premium room, with an airbed added. We accepted, with the understanding that the room was plenty large for an air bed for both of our children to sleep on. However, once we got to the room, the only way we could fit the airbed (which I had to air up myself!) was to put it right in front of the fireplace. On top of that, it was only a Twin so our younger daughter had to sleep on the couch. Their compensation for this? A free continental breakfast. =( After our trip, I called the hotel to discuss with the manager and was told someone would call me back. However, noone ever did. They did contact Orbitz to give us a small credit back on the room rate. Not enough considering what we'd paid for this "premium" room and the bad experience we had. Hopefully once they work the kinks out this will be a nice hotel. The rooms, lobby, etc were all very nicely remodeled. If it had just been two of us staying, the room would have been very nice. But it's unacceptable to pull this sort of bait and switch for a family of four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Whale Watch does an excellent morning and afternoon whale watching cruise. We got to see several humpbacks, some dolphins, and even a blue whale (very rare!). They have a marine biologist on every boat, and it was a very fun and informative trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA
May 16, 2011

Hotel Abrego good location average hotel

Hotel Abrego was a disappointment. The exterior appearance is appealing the hotel staff was courteous but that should be expected. The room furniture wasn't meant for two people, the couch was small, the dresser left a lot to be desired, one more drawer would have been helpful. Two people staying three days or more will far exceed the capacity of the dresser. The walls are thin we could hear someone in another room coughing as well as the water running in the adjoining bathroom. Breakfast came at a cost of nearly $10 a person. For the money the Best Western next door is a better bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swimmer Daddy
Laguna Niguel, California
Dec 27, 2012

Great budget stay

We stayed at Hotel Abrego for a Christmas road trip. For its price at the peak time of Holiday Season in Monterey, we were pleasantly surprised. Our room (double, with fireplace) was clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel (no real dining area) and did not use any facilities like pool or spa, but liked our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of nice breakfast cafes in town; don't have breakfast at the hotel -- Take a short drive to the nearby (Old) Fisherman's Wharf and enjoy Crêpes of Brittany for example.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search