$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly See full review

  • Oma of three
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends. See full review

  • Super travellers
  • Jul 16, 2014
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indignee
Business
Davis
Feb 7, 2011

Hotel Abrego

I discovered Hotel Abrego a year ago, when they were finishing it, so got a discounted rate. This time, because I knew the rooms were clean and linens fresh, I went for the extra "regular" cost. Although I'm not 100% sure, I'd say we were discriminated for because of "ageism", ie, we had two kids with us. Rather than place us in one of the nicer rooms in the main building, they gave us one on the parking lot--when I said "that's not a room on the parking lot, is it?" the reception desk person said "it's on the first floor," as if that made it ok to have parking lot car lights shining in your room. The room they tried to put us in was on the parking lot-- not worth the money. I had to go back in and request another room. I understand that loud children can be annoying, but better to assume the best and trust the parents rather than to discriminate. We won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City girl
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Hotel Abrego is great!

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and really attractive rooms with fireplaces! There is a restaurant. The food is good. Too bad room service is not available. There is a small refrigerator in each room. If you need a microwave, just call the front desk and it will be delivered. They try to meet every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Fisherman's Grotto has the best food! They offer free samples of their delicious clam chowder.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 30, 2011

A nice affordable spot

I went down to Monterey for a diving class (2 days), and my wife and her mother came along for the trip. The place my dive instructor recommended was full, so we found this place. The hotel is clean, and the staff were very friendly. We had a snack at the restaurant and the food was affordable and palatable if not extraordinary. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bargain but who doesn't want to go to a seedy, bottom-of-the-barrel type of place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Alviso Street, there are a few good places to eat, including a good bagel place and Lebanese restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
icemaiden
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 3, 2011

Totally decent

Beautifully appointed, fireplace in the room. Within easy walk of Fisherman's Wharf. Restaurant understaffed; good food but slow service. Hotel is called Hotel Abrego not Sand Dollar Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant had good food if you got there early. Hotel also gave us a free bottle of wine for our anniversary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego
Dec 16, 2010

Double check your reservation....

There is a small downside to this story, but I'll save it for last.I've stayed at this hotel previously. I already knew I liked it. The rooms are attractively appointed and the hotel is in a good location. The bedding is great-- all down pillows, crisp thick sheets, down comforters. The bed is fair, though a little too firm for me. Both times I stayed I had rooms with fireplaces, though they must have them without. They're great! They're on a timer with 30 min, 1 hour and 2 hour settings. And being gas there's no smoke, no lighting--yes hit the switch!The bathrooms are very nice looking. Which almost overrides the fact that the rain head shower spray does not fit within the confines of the tub, thereby creating a small lake outside the shower. Watch your step when you get out! And there was not a lot of pressure from the shower head either. I'm all for saving water, but I also need to get the soap off. Then again, I don't remember it being an issue on my last trip, so maybe it varies from room to room.My room had a great view of the bay from a little balcony. Well, once I looked past the gas station. ha! Even though my room was on the corner (overlooking Four Corners for any past Monterey residents) the sound did not bother me at night. I did have to close the darkening curtains as the well lit gas station is open all night.The down side.............I got into Monterey after 9 hours of driving and a couple hours of visiting a friend around 10pm.[...]Moral of the story? It's a nice hotel. Both kids were with me on the last trip and it was fine for a family, too. But, like Monterey itself...It's a nice place to visit, but I wouldn't want to live there. haha!![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Siamese Bay Thai is NOT worth the money or two block walk. I ordered a chicken dish and the chicken was SO dry I had to drink water to get the bites down. Yes, I only had a few bites because I was Starving, but it was that bad. The friend I was with took hers home for her dog. She didn't eat more than the one bite. If I'd been alone or with different company, I would not have paid for the dish!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, CA
Nov 27, 2010

Not a slient night

Hotel's fire doors slam shut when people use them going up and down the stair case. We had been away from the hotel rooom for 7 hours the next day got back at 3:45pm and still housekeeping had not been to the room to refresh the bathroom or bedroom areas. The costs for a light breakfast was $10 per person, for a family of four we opted for Denny's across the street. Hey Hotel! you can install door jambs pads on the fire door framing to soften the closures of the doors...hint..hint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley
Nov 16, 2010

Hotel Abrego

Excellent staff, room was upgraded at no charge upon arrival, clean fresh room. no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in Monterey
Business
San Clemente, CA
Oct 26, 2010

Hotel Abrego is No Bueno

My bf and I were so excited to go to Monterey as this was our first trip together. We decided to stay at Hotel Abrego since it seemed like a nice place to stay and somewhere in between the high and low priced hotels. The picture of the room is advertised with a fireplace and we had no fireplace in the room. What we did have was a neighbor upstairs, in which we could hear every step he took with a high pitch creak of the boards. The ceiling was so thin we could hear every move he made. I'm usually a sound sleeper but even the sounds of footsteps at 4 am on Sunday morning woke me up. It's worse than in a house with 2 floors, you could really hear everything…flush of the toilet, shower, everything. My bf couldn't even fall back asleep it was so loud. The next morning we were awaken by the garbage truck right outside our window at 4:50 am and then kept up by our upstairs neighbor that was woke up by the garbage truck. 4 am and 5 am? I sleep in later when I'm at home and have to be to work in the morning, I thought this was supposed to be a vacation for us. Another downer about the hotel is that the spa closes at 9 pm, whereas most hotels close the spa at 10pm. My bf and I actually ended dinner early Saturday night to rush back in time for the spa, which we thought closed at 10pm but was actually already closed by the time we got there. Finally when we went to the front desk (in our swimsuits)to ask them why the spa was closed so early, we also questioned why there was no fireplace in the room and they said that[...]advertises it like that to sell rooms and that only some of their rooms have fireplaces. My experience with the hotel staff was depressing too. I actually was on this trip for work but extended it for some R&R. I had called the hotel staff after booking the room online and inquired about renting a conference room. I left a message at the front desk and was told someone would call me back that handles the conference rooms. No one called back! I ended up renting a conference room at the Portola. I would never stay at this hotel again nor would I recommend it to anyone. I would have rather stayed at the Travelodge because I think our chances of sleeping in would've been better and we could've got our monies worth. On a positive note the bed was comfortable, if it was not for that we would've probably checked out after the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pebble Beach 17 mile ride, it's $10 but worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Good to Go Husband
Business
Fremont, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Not bad, but not great

Newly remodeled hotel, yet the quality of work was not great, several items still need to be fixed in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famity of three
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Fantastic Family getaway! Hotel Abrego!

Great bedrooms, fun pool and warm water! nice Jacuzzi, great food at the hotel, and great location. We went back just a couple of days after our last staying. The only bad thing: we could hear all the steps, noices, voices, even water running from the pipes, of the above rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

GReat spot for children, there are lots of things to do with your children in Monterrey!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top