$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smb6622
Charlotte, NC
Oct 27, 2012

A keeper

Staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations. Room was very comfortable especially after the 2nd try to get me a firm pillow (don't like the ones that you sink into). Just a short drive to the wharf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billd
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Good value

We had a pleasant stay at the Abrego. The hotel is a bit away from the usual tourist area. It's about a 20 min walk to the water; parking in town is fairly inexpensive. The Abrego is an older hotel which has been upgraded. There is a restaurant which we did not use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KSAB
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Nice, New Hotel

Within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown Monterey. Just a five minute drive to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Great location and a very nice place to stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dominico's on the Wharf. Best clam chowder and seafood, period. We've tried many places in and around the area, and you won't get a better meal. The owner is a fisherman and actually gets his king crab from the Time Bandit of the TV show The Deadliest Catch!! You may actually get a chance to meat some of the crew, as they do stop by from time to time. Great bar with happy hour. Try the Oyster Shooter!!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tj619
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great Getaway for the weekend.

When we arrived at the hotel, the complex looked very nice, clean, and well appointed. My girlfriend was impressed and did tell me that it was a great find. We were only a few min away from everything. The room was very clean and modern. I would have to give the room 4/5 stars. For the price, you can't beat this in the area. We both loved the fireplace and bathrooms were pretty nice as well. We didn't get to try any of the food that was offered (for a charge) either at breakfast or for the evening small meals they prepare. We would recommend this place and would be happy to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dublin
Business
Ohio, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great place to stay in Monterey

Great place to stay in Monterey. Very comfortable rooms with quality amenities. Have stayed here on numerous occasions and will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dunes95
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Great deal

This was a very nice room even with a fireplace and convenient to everything although on a busy street. Would stay here again. Room is very spacious with very nice bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishermans wharf is only restaurants and not very impressive.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fresnan
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great place to stay

The decor of the rooms wonderful, gas fireplaces in every room, down comforters on beds, with pillow top mattresses, very comfortable, staff friendly, and accommodating, very clean hotel inside rooms and outside grounds, very clean spa and pool. Had a great time there. Short drives to Fishermen's Wharf and Aquarium. and walking distance to the Monterey downtown area, with restaurants, and bars, pubs, ice cream, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Aquarium, Cannery row, Fishermen's Wharf all are great places to visit, with animals to see, great food to eat, and interesting places to shop, also outlets to shop at south of aquarium.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wiley Kiley
Business
Wine Country, CA
Dec 28, 2011

Great Staff and very nice hotel!

This is our second time at the Abrego. The hotel staff is exceptional!! The rooms are beautiful and large!! The food is excellent!! Hotel Abrego is within walking distance to shopping and Monterey Bay Coastal Trail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For the unpretentious.....Sea Harvest restaurant near Cannery Row is an inexpensive alternative for seafood. Fish is fresh and they will prepare any way you like.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ec99
Business
San Jose, Ca
Nov 24, 2011

Resting Spot

This is our second year using Hotel Abrego for the Big Sir Half Marathon. We love the location and the overall hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Logyn
Business
Fairfield, CA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Simply Amazing!

This hotel was absolutely amazing! My son(3) and I both LOVED it! The staff doesn't get any better, they could not have been any more accomodating. They really went above and beyond and impressed me to no end. The room we had was absolutely gorgeous, my son wanted to move in he loved it so much. Had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G.G.
Business
Clovis, CA
Oct 15, 2011

Couple getaway

Room was large and had all the amenities we desired. Good bed, mini fridge, fireplace, very nice bath, second sink outside the bathroom. Room was very clean. Only complaints were there was only one mirror in the room - in the bathroom. There was the second sink, but no mirror for doing hair or makeup. The reception on the flat screen was poor. Overall we were really comfortable in the room, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top