$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
105 reviews
Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends. See full review

  • Super travellers
  • Jul 16, 2014
Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus.... See full review

  • traveling Luc
  • Jan 4, 2014
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5943 -121.8916
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport, San Jose International Airport, San Francisco Airport
Area description
1 block from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and the Monterey Conference Center, and 2 miles from the Aquarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BlakeDavis
Davis, California
Aug 16, 2012

Pleasant experience and relatively close to Old Town

The hotel and our room was clean, pleasant, and contemporary looking. We arrived early and since our room was being cleaned, they upgraded us to a better room, which I did not expect. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to most Old Town attractions and a short driving distance from Cannery Row and Del Monte Shopping Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RKM
Redwood City, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Abriego, Monterey, CA

Lighting in the bathroom is extremely poor. It had only one light in the center of room and nothing over the mirror. Water pressure is awful in the bathroom sink and the shower head is awful as well. The water pressure is almost non existent. We had a room over the garbage bin area and the staff was throwing glass in the bins early in the a.m. and late in the evening. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
las Vegas , nv
Jul 13, 2011

Hotel Abrego

Hotel was clean and had everything we needed except for a microwave. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area
Jul 6, 2011

4th of July in Monterey

We are very active so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The location was perfect for us because we like to walk everywhere. Fishermans wharf was about a 10 minute walk. We had breakfast at LouLous Griddle in the middle which was awesome! highly recommend! Dinner at Sapporo was also amazing! We walked alittle less than two miles to the Aquarium which was super cool to watch the Open Water exhibit on the first day it was open!The hotel was clean and looked brand new with a very modern flair. The gas fireplace was beautiful, but we only got to use it one night due to the weather being so hot! My one complaint was the hotel is "pet friendly" but you have to call to find out that there is a $30/animal/night charge and only in select rooms which were sold out. So, we wish the charge was clearly stated on the [...] site because we would have chosen a less expensive hotel. Lastly, the pool is really small and uninviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LouLous Griddle in the Middle

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Abrego

The hotel is very nice and clean, and conveniently located if you have a car. Not all rooms have air conditioning, I called and they upgraded me. I didn't need it however, it cooled off quite a bit at night. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, so I can't rate those. Ordered pizza one night for dinner, wasn't great, didn't try the breakfast but it smelled really good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do 17 Mile Drive remember that you can get your money back if you purchase anything over $25. I forgot and it wasn't worth going back. Make sure you check out Carmel, it's a cute little town. Would have liked to have more time to spend there!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma,RN
Central Valley
Jun 9, 2011

Never again

We took our 2 year old grandaughter for her 1st trip to Coast & Aquarium. We are 59y/o, husband is recent haert attack patient. We checked into room 2105 then left for a while returning about 4 pm. Room was warm, musty "basement" room. Hotel Abrego has no airconditioning usually not a problem in Monterey because opening the window provides a nice breeze. We could not open our window. Immediately outside our window w/n 10' a crew of men were using an huge jackhammer & asphalt saw to rip into the parking lot. When we complained the manager offered to move us to an "upgraded" room. Really? We had traveled, I was exhausted, baby was tired,& I was worried about my husband over doing it. There was no way we felt like repacking luggage, toiletries etc to move again. The room should never have been rented during construction. The staff is very friendly but friendly does not change the facts. No monetary adjustment was offered. Did the hotel put us in this place because we booked on [...]?? I wonder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carson City, NV
Jun 5, 2011

Great Hotel

The Hotel was attactive close to the wharf. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet. I needed wheel chair accesibile and it was available and great. Would recommend it to our friends and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA
May 16, 2011

Hotel Abrego good location average hotel

Hotel Abrego was a disappointment. The exterior appearance is appealing the hotel staff was courteous but that should be expected. The room furniture wasn't meant for two people, the couch was small, the dresser left a lot to be desired, one more drawer would have been helpful. Two people staying three days or more will far exceed the capacity of the dresser. The walls are thin we could hear someone in another room coughing as well as the water running in the adjoining bathroom. Breakfast came at a cost of nearly $10 a person. For the money the Best Western next door is a better bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lodi, CA
May 15, 2011

Super nice!

This hotel is super nice. The staff was friendly. I felt comfortable and safe staying there with my two girls. We ate a delicious breakfast in the lobby, swam at the pool and relaxed in our room. We spent two days in Monterey visiting the aquarium, the Carmel Mission and beach, and Dennis the Menace Park. It was a great get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't ever forget your bathing suit. You might want to swim or go in the hot tub.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 27, 2011

A Good Stay

The stay was great couldn't ask for more. The beach and downtown was within walking distance. The room was very nice and spacious with a flat screen t.v. and I was comped an upgraded room with a fireplace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bellagio Pizzeria on Tyler St. was great. Must try!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marin County, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Nice service and ambiance, a bit noisy

I usually have a business trip to Monterey once or twice a year and this was the first time I stayed at the Hotel Abrego. The personnel were very nice and friendly and it was a nice treat to have chilled water (with fresh cucumber & mint) while waiting to check in. The rooms are well done and include a flat-screen tv and fireplace. While the location was surprisingly quiet for a fairly busy thoroughfare, the walls were not adequate to muffle the noise of my neighbors. Luckily, they all went to bed relatively early so that I no longer heard footsteps and muffled voices while trying to sleep. The location is good as you can walk to downtown Monterey and nice restaurants are very close by. I didn't try the hotel restaurant. It also is an easy access to the freeway and Del Monte Mall. I'd probably give it 3.5 stars if I could, but the place is nicely styled and the staff is well trained so that makes it definitely better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Estaban Restaurant was a block away and excellent!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search