$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly See full review

  • Oma of three
  • Oct 11, 2014
Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends. See full review

  • Super travellers
  • Jul 16, 2014
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy P
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

nice location

The location was great within walking distance of fishermans wharf and the mall. The cost compared to other hotels was reasonable for California. My rental car was parked at the hotel & got scratched on the side. I mentioned it to the front desk and they stated the manager was going to get back to me. He never did and we were there for 4 days. I mentioned it again while checking out & he finally got back to me after I got home. Not to happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tzigrrl
Business
sf bay area, california
Aug 15, 2011

Average ordinary in a fresh clean package

The Hotel Abrego is "new" It's a motor court that's been redone to look like it's bigger brighter and better than it is. The room we were given was in the main building on the 3rd floor. Which is actually the floor 1 and 1/2 as the building is split level. For being next to the elevator, we didn't hear a lick of elevator noise, but we did hear each and every car that drove in as our window looked out onto the drivethrough above the lobby. We asked for a different room, and were offered two options both ground floor that faced the major intersection one lot over rather than in another building. No other option and no concession even though we expressed displeasure within five minutes of checkin. Not a horrid room, but not quiet. Additionally, the bathroom door conflicted with the room door making awkward the move from bathroom to main room. Pretty - obviously just remodeled - two person shower rather than bath (not my preference) and the fireplace is below the tv completely hidden from the bed when you are lying down. Did not partake of the $10 buffet breakfast you can add on. Next time, I'll not stay on the main hotel drag in Monterey and not here since they did nothing to assist me with my issue with the room beyond offer me worse alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have coffee at east village coffee lounge your first day - you'll be back for wifi, pastries, and the general vibe. Eat your best dinner out at Passionfish in Pacific grove.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RKM
Business
Redwood City, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Abriego, Monterey, CA

Lighting in the bathroom is extremely poor. It had only one light in the center of room and nothing over the mirror. Water pressure is awful in the bathroom sink and the shower head is awful as well. The water pressure is almost non existent. We had a room over the garbage bin area and the staff was throwing glass in the bins early in the a.m. and late in the evening. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las Vegas , nv
Jul 13, 2011

Hotel Abrego

Hotel was clean and had everything we needed except for a microwave. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area
Jul 6, 2011

4th of July in Monterey

We are very active so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. The location was perfect for us because we like to walk everywhere. Fishermans wharf was about a 10 minute walk. We had breakfast at LouLous Griddle in the middle which was awesome! highly recommend! Dinner at Sapporo was also amazing! We walked alittle less than two miles to the Aquarium which was super cool to watch the Open Water exhibit on the first day it was open!The hotel was clean and looked brand new with a very modern flair. The gas fireplace was beautiful, but we only got to use it one night due to the weather being so hot! My one complaint was the hotel is "pet friendly" but you have to call to find out that there is a $30/animal/night charge and only in select rooms which were sold out. So, we wish the charge was clearly stated on the [...] site because we would have chosen a less expensive hotel. Lastly, the pool is really small and uninviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LouLous Griddle in the Middle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Ontario
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Abrego

The hotel is very nice and clean, and conveniently located if you have a car. Not all rooms have air conditioning, I called and they upgraded me. I didn't need it however, it cooled off quite a bit at night. I didn't use any of the hotel facilities, so I can't rate those. Ordered pizza one night for dinner, wasn't great, didn't try the breakfast but it smelled really good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do 17 Mile Drive remember that you can get your money back if you purchase anything over $25. I forgot and it wasn't worth going back. Make sure you check out Carmel, it's a cute little town. Would have liked to have more time to spend there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma,RN
Business
Central Valley
Jun 9, 2011

Never again

We took our 2 year old grandaughter for her 1st trip to Coast & Aquarium. We are 59y/o, husband is recent haert attack patient. We checked into room 2105 then left for a while returning about 4 pm. Room was warm, musty "basement" room. Hotel Abrego has no airconditioning usually not a problem in Monterey because opening the window provides a nice breeze. We could not open our window. Immediately outside our window w/n 10' a crew of men were using an huge jackhammer & asphalt saw to rip into the parking lot. When we complained the manager offered to move us to an "upgraded" room. Really? We had traveled, I was exhausted, baby was tired,& I was worried about my husband over doing it. There was no way we felt like repacking luggage, toiletries etc to move again. The room should never have been rented during construction. The staff is very friendly but friendly does not change the facts. No monetary adjustment was offered. Did the hotel put us in this place because we booked on [...]?? I wonder.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carson City, NV
Jun 5, 2011

Great Hotel

The Hotel was attactive close to the wharf. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet. I needed wheel chair accesibile and it was available and great. Would recommend it to our friends and would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
May 16, 2011

Hotel Abrego good location average hotel

Hotel Abrego was a disappointment. The exterior appearance is appealing the hotel staff was courteous but that should be expected. The room furniture wasn't meant for two people, the couch was small, the dresser left a lot to be desired, one more drawer would have been helpful. Two people staying three days or more will far exceed the capacity of the dresser. The walls are thin we could hear someone in another room coughing as well as the water running in the adjoining bathroom. Breakfast came at a cost of nearly $10 a person. For the money the Best Western next door is a better bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lodi, CA
May 15, 2011

Super nice!

This hotel is super nice. The staff was friendly. I felt comfortable and safe staying there with my two girls. We ate a delicious breakfast in the lobby, swam at the pool and relaxed in our room. We spent two days in Monterey visiting the aquarium, the Carmel Mission and beach, and Dennis the Menace Park. It was a great get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't ever forget your bathing suit. You might want to swim or go in the hot tub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top