$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
153 reviews
Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus.... See full review

  • traveling Luc
  • Jan 4, 2014
Beautiful hotel

My experience with hotel Abrego was fantastic. It is an easy 10 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf... See full review

  • DCha
  • Dec 5, 2013
Boutique hotel on Monterey Peninsula offers relaxing coastal atmosphere

Unwind after a long day touring the Monterey Peninsula's many attractions at Hotel Abrego, the area's newest full-service hotel. The modern decor and earth tones match the Peninsula's beauty, while services and amenities offer exceptional value. Hotel Abrego suits both tourists and business travelers due to its proximity to such destinations as Cannery Row and Monterey's Conference Center. The boutique hotel serves also as a central location for endless recreational activities, from coastal bike rides to kayaking on the Marine Sanctuary.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
  • Pet friendly
  • Restaurant includes outdoor patio seating
Rooms

Guests choose from Deluxe Fireplace, Premier, and Traditional rooms for a selection of amenities, yet assuring all a comfortable stay. The 93 non-smoking rooms provide a king, two queen beds, or one queen bed furnished with Italian linens, a 37-inch flat screen television, desk with ergonomic chair, cordless telephone, complimentary wired and wireless Internet access, and iHome iPod docking station. Laptops are securely stored in the room safe. Find a hairdryer, bathrobes, and signature toiletries in the bathrooms. Deluxe Fireplace rooms include a chaise lounge to relax in front of the gas fireplace.

Features

Both business and leisure guests enjoy the welcoming ambiance and engaging, friendly service found at Hotel Abrego. Exceptional location allows guests easy access to top-rated attractions. 

Abrego Lounge, located adjacent to the lobby, features indoor or outdoor dining. Enjoy light fare and a wide selection of beverages, including locally-produced wines and beer, in a comfortable setting. 

The hotel's outdoor pool and spa tub are open year-round and convenient on-site coin-operated laundry facilities are available. Parking is free.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Movie Tours (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1 mi1.6 km)
  • Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Wine Tasting (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Fair Grounds (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission (6 mi/9.6 km)
Business
  • One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space
  • Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless Internet connectivity
Policies and fees

A pet fee of $30.00 per pet per night per room will be applied for additional cleaning and room maintance. A maximum of 2 pets per room is welcomed, Advance notice required, please contact the hotel directly for arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5943 -121.8916
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Monterey Airport, San Jose International Airport, San Francisco Airport
Area description
1 block from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fisherman's Wharf and the Monterey Conference Center, and 2 miles from the Aquarium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Abrego also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Abrego Rooms

Premier Fireplace Two Queen Beds
queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Premier Fireplace Queen
1 queen, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, upgraded tile bathroom, desk w/ ergonomic chair, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, In-room lap top safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe 2 Queen
2 queens, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Deluxe King
1 king bed, Italian linens, gas fireplace, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet, iHome clock radio, 37" flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-room laptop safe, non-smoking.
Abrego Queen
1 king bed, Italian linens, custom designed furnishings, chaise lounge, complimentary wireless internet access, iHome clock radio, 37" Flat-screen TV w/ digital cable, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, designer toiletries, in-roof laptop safe, non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Abrego offers Monterey's newest site to conduct business efficiently, in a calm, relaxing atmosphere. One naturally lit, airy meeting room provides nearly 645-square-feet of flexible meeting space. Designed with floor to ceiling windows, the room features a nine-foot retractable screen, built in LCD projector, and high-speed, wireless internet connectivity.

Dining

The Lounge
Located adjacent to the lobby including outdoor patio seating - serves light, local fare in a relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a tasty breakfast or delicious small plates perfect for sharing along with locally-produced wine and beer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smb6622
Charlotte, NC
Oct 27, 2012

A keeper

Staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations. Room was very comfortable especially after the 2nd try to get me a firm pillow (don't like the ones that you sink into). Just a short drive to the wharf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family3
Riverbank, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

very nice

It was very nice. We had plenty of room for our 2 year old to run around. Had a nice gated outdoor patio. We were in walking distance to the Dennis the Menace Park and the children museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family3
Riverbank, CA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

very nice

It was very nice. We had plenty of room for our 2 year old to run around. Had a nice gated outdoor patio. We were in walking distance to the Dennis the Menace Park and the children museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trevi
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Nice Hotel

Good value for the money. Friendly staff. Nice room with cable and wifi. Terrific bathroom and shower. Free parking. Close to sights and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trevi
Maui, Hawaii, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Nice Hotel

Good value for the money. Friendly staff. Nice room with cable and wifi. Terrific bathroom and shower. Free parking. Close to sights and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy P
Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

nice location

The location was great within walking distance of fishermans wharf and the mall. The cost compared to other hotels was reasonable for California. My rental car was parked at the hotel & got scratched on the side. I mentioned it to the front desk and they stated the manager was going to get back to me. He never did and we were there for 4 days. I mentioned it again while checking out & he finally got back to me after I got home. Not to happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy P
Wisconsin
Sep 9, 2011

nice location

The location was great within walking distance of fishermans wharf and the mall. The cost compared to other hotels was reasonable for California. My rental car was parked at the hotel & got scratched on the side. I mentioned it to the front desk and they stated the manager was going to get back to me. He never did and we were there for 4 days. I mentioned it again while checking out & he finally got back to me after I got home. Not to happy about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tzigrrl
sf bay area, california
Aug 15, 2011

Average ordinary in a fresh clean package

The Hotel Abrego is "new" It's a motor court that's been redone to look like it's bigger brighter and better than it is. The room we were given was in the main building on the 3rd floor. Which is actually the floor 1 and 1/2 as the building is split level. For being next to the elevator, we didn't hear a lick of elevator noise, but we did hear each and every car that drove in as our window looked out onto the drivethrough above the lobby. We asked for a different room, and were offered two options both ground floor that faced the major intersection one lot over rather than in another building. No other option and no concession even though we expressed displeasure within five minutes of checkin. Not a horrid room, but not quiet. Additionally, the bathroom door conflicted with the room door making awkward the move from bathroom to main room. Pretty - obviously just remodeled - two person shower rather than bath (not my preference) and the fireplace is below the tv completely hidden from the bed when you are lying down. Did not partake of the $10 buffet breakfast you can add on. Next time, I'll not stay on the main hotel drag in Monterey and not here since they did nothing to assist me with my issue with the room beyond offer me worse alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have coffee at east village coffee lounge your first day - you'll be back for wifi, pastries, and the general vibe. Eat your best dinner out at Passionfish in Pacific grove.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tzigrrl
sf bay area, california
Aug 15, 2011

Average ordinary in a fresh clean package

The Hotel Abrego is "new" It's a motor court that's been redone to look like it's bigger brighter and better than it is. The room we were given was in the main building on the 3rd floor. Which is actually the floor 1 and 1/2 as the building is split level. For being next to the elevator, we didn't hear a lick of elevator noise, but we did hear each and every car that drove in as our window looked out onto the drivethrough above the lobby. We asked for a different room, and were offered two options both ground floor that faced the major intersection one lot over rather than in another building. No other option and no concession even though we expressed displeasure within five minutes of checkin. Not a horrid room, but not quiet. Additionally, the bathroom door conflicted with the room door making awkward the move from bathroom to main room. Pretty - obviously just remodeled - two person shower rather than bath (not my preference) and the fireplace is below the tv completely hidden from the bed when you are lying down. Did not partake of the $10 buffet breakfast you can add on. Next time, I'll not stay on the main hotel drag in Monterey and not here since they did nothing to assist me with my issue with the room beyond offer me worse alternatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have coffee at east village coffee lounge your first day - you'll be back for wifi, pastries, and the general vibe. Eat your best dinner out at Passionfish in Pacific grove.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RKM
Redwood City, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Abriego, Monterey, CA

Lighting in the bathroom is extremely poor. It had only one light in the center of room and nothing over the mirror. Water pressure is awful in the bathroom sink and the shower head is awful as well. The water pressure is almost non existent. We had a room over the garbage bin area and the staff was throwing glass in the bins early in the a.m. and late in the evening. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RKM
Redwood City, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Hotel Abriego, Monterey, CA

Lighting in the bathroom is extremely poor. It had only one light in the center of room and nothing over the mirror. Water pressure is awful in the bathroom sink and the shower head is awful as well. The water pressure is almost non existent. We had a room over the garbage bin area and the staff was throwing glass in the bins early in the a.m. and late in the evening. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top