$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommywife
Sonora ca
Jan 22, 2013

Great getaway

The location was perfect for us, just two blocks from the downtown and a couple more to the old warf. The staff was great, hotel was clean and the creme brûlée oatmeal was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stine44
Business
Fremony, CA
Mar 25, 2014

Great stay

I enjoyed that we could walk to fisherman's wharf from the hotel, so the location was pretty good. The value for the beautiful, clean hotel was also very good. No charge for parking is always a plus. For me, a clean and quiet hotel is most important for my stay. I did use the pool and it was nice and clean too. But cold in March. It was still warmer than the ocean, hehe! Great trip and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveling Luc
Business
Pasadena, California
Jan 4, 2014

Great family getaway

Hotel is conveniently located next to downtown Monterey. Room was spacious, fireplace was a plus. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom clean, but little space for toiletry. Will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fisherman wharf is nearby: restaurants, shops, whale watching boat trips, sea lions resting on the decks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DCha
Business
New York City
Dec 5, 2013

Beautiful hotel

My experience with hotel Abrego was fantastic. It is an easy 10 minute walk from Fisherman's Wharf and a few blocks away from the main shopping street. Parking is free and there were plenty of spaces on a Saturday afternoon. The hotel has a heated swimming pool and hot tub which are easily accessible. Check in was easy and the staff are very nice. I stayed in a room with two queen beds, and it was fantastic. The room has a tv and a fireplace, as well as a beautiful bathroom with organic shower products (HUGE plus!). There are Hotel Abrego robes in the closet as well as wine glasses just in case you need them! I was able to use Orbucks as well as a 20% off coupon to stay here, but it would have been worth it even for full price! Overall, this hotel is perfect for the Monterey atmosphere, and I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieT0513
Business
California
Oct 17, 2013

Great place to stay with your dog

My wife and I stayed at the hotel with our dog. The staff were very friendly to him, and the restaurant has a outside patio that is dog friendly so we could eat with our pet. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We have stayed there several times and have had good experiences there each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Carmel beach is very nice and allows dogs to run around off leash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krails
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 15, 2013

Great quick getaway

Stayed at Hotel Abrego for the second time. Still just as nice. Got an upgraded room with fireplace overlooking the pool. Very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Esteban tapas restaurant nearby is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael273
Business
Chicago
Oct 10, 2013

Beautiful gem

Hotel was great! Staff was so accommodating. I didn't fly in until 2:30am and they were still waiting up for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outdoors Bay Area
Business
Oakland, ca
Sep 26, 2013

Satisfied Customer In Town for Jazz Festival

Based on others' reviews, my mother and I stayed here for the Monterey Jazz Festival. It was close enough to walk to the free shuttle bus. We appreciated being able to open the windows for ample fresh air. The bed was comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The stay was expensive but expected given the Festival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save $10 parking fee and walk to free shuttle service to the Jazz Festival.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lankenole
Business
Florida
Sep 24, 2013

Warm but nice

The hotel was in a good location. Property was clean and had a clean classy appearance . The room was comfortable except for the fact that there was no AC. It made for an uncomfortably warm night. My husband thinks its was because there was a fireplace in the room which would have been great on a cold night. Unfortunately for us It was not cold. The young man, Patrick, at the front desk was great and very helpful giving us directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We arrived in the late evening and most places were closing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Tillman
Business
New York City
Jul 20, 2013

Great Getaway or Workacation Spot

I left the 100 degree weather of Manhattan for the 60 degree climate of Monterey for a week in July. First of all, the hotel's location is near all historic sites, restaurants, entertainment, Carmel, Pebble Beach, etc. The concierge was exceptional, as they anticipated every need possible and fulfilled very request we had. The room, which was very comfortable, was kept spotless by the cleaning staff. And most of all the price was moderate for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

...any of the Mexican, Mediterranean or similar restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
3g's
Business
Tracy, CA
Jul 11, 2013

Good Stay

We had requested and had been assured that we had a handicap accessible room but when we checked in the room had a tub shower which could not be accessed by my wife. When we asked for a roll in shower we were told that the hotel only had one room with that type of shower and that it was booked for six days. We were upset since we had even called the hotel to confirm it was a roll in shower and were assured our room had one. Other than the shower issue, the room and hotel were great and the location is perfect for getting to the various activities in Monterey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top