$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommywife
Sonora ca
Jan 22, 2013

Great getaway

The location was perfect for us, just two blocks from the downtown and a couple more to the old warf. The staff was great, hotel was clean and the creme brûlée oatmeal was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caligirl
Business
Davis
Jan 23, 2015

Great Hotel in a convenient location

This hotel was very clean and in a great location! Minutes away from everything. Downside is that the walls are a bit thin and you are able to hear your neighbors. Other than that, it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa L.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Glad we found this place

I ran across this hotel while I was doing LOTS of searching online for a good place for 3 adults to stay in Monterey for one night. This is, by far, one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, and a fabulous bargain for the price. The staff was exceptional, the rooms were spacious, quiet, and spotless and the location was very convenient. We ate at the on-site restaurant, and the food was wonderful as well. I could go on and on..just try it for yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadys girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 25, 2014

Family Reunion

This hotel is GREAT! Thought I was in Las Vegas or a far away resort. Staff...excellent. My husband and I enjoyed the facilities immensely and will definitely make this a regular stay when visiting family on the Peninsula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Near everything!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Abacus
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 24, 2014

Clean, convenient and quiet

Very much enjoyed our brief stay. We were upstairs in one of the 'wing' rooms which provided nice peace and quiet. Convenient eateries across the street and one block from Casa Munras' excellent Esteban restaurant. Would stay here again, although in summer would ask to stay in the main building since the wing buildings do not have AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiny French bakery shop across the street. Good for breakfast.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oma of three
Business
San Rafael
Oct 11, 2014

Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier next to Coast Guard center - lots of active sea creatures that are fun to watch.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Traveler4
Business
New York
Sep 3, 2014

Nice hotel

The hotel is very clean and stuff is extremely helpful and courteous. However, this hotel as most housing in Monterey doesn't have air-conditioning. Our room was on the second floor, and it wasn't a problem with an open balcony door. Our friends were on the first floor and could only open a window. They were not comfortable during August nights. If you can, ask for a room on the second floor. Despite this, I would stay in the hotel again, as it's very conveniently located and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennacole6
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 13, 2014

Extremely disappointing

The property is beautiful, it makes a great first impression. Unfortunately when we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was how hot it was in there (I'm sure it was 80+ degrees) so we looked for the A/C controls only to find that there weren't any in our particular room. When we asked the front desk they said there was no A/C and the best they could do was provide a fan. Our room was right outside the pool area and parking lot so leaving the window open at night was not an option and by the time we woke up in the morning it had to have been over 85 degrees in our room. The one thing I look for in a hotel is good sleep quality and this was one of the worst night's sleep we had on our trip to California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding guests 2
Business
Seattle
Aug 11, 2014

Remodeled but could have used a bit more work

The hallways had a old dank smell but room was fine. No AC was found so it was a little warm. Seagulls made it hard to sleep the first night but got used to them the second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the "Wild Plum" just around the corner is a must!!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stepmom D
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 26, 2014

Bathroom

The room was nice but the bathroom had no counter space. The seagulls squawked all night so we didn't sleep well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fandango restaurant was excellent.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellers
Business
Durham
Jul 16, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to pier. Would recommend using free trolley bus.

Back to menu Return to top