$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smb6622
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Oct 27, 2012

A keeper

Staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations. Room was very comfortable especially after the 2nd try to get me a firm pillow (don't like the ones that you sink into). Just a short drive to the wharf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa L.
Family
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Glad we found this place

I ran across this hotel while I was doing LOTS of searching online for a good place for 3 adults to stay in Monterey for one night. This is, by far, one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, and a fabulous bargain for the price. The staff was exceptional, the rooms were spacious, quiet, and spotless and the location was very convenient. We ate at the on-site restaurant, and the food was wonderful as well. I could go on and on..just try it for yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadys girl
Family
San Francisco, California
Nov 25, 2014

Family Reunion

This hotel is GREAT! Thought I was in Las Vegas or a far away resort. Staff...excellent. My husband and I enjoyed the facilities immensely and will definitely make this a regular stay when visiting family on the Peninsula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Near everything!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Abacus
Couples
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 24, 2014

Clean, convenient and quiet

Very much enjoyed our brief stay. We were upstairs in one of the 'wing' rooms which provided nice peace and quiet. Convenient eateries across the street and one block from Casa Munras' excellent Esteban restaurant. Would stay here again, although in summer would ask to stay in the main building since the wing buildings do not have AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiny French bakery shop across the street. Good for breakfast.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oma of three
Couples
San Rafael
Oct 11, 2014

Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier next to Coast Guard center - lots of active sea creatures that are fun to watch.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Traveler4
Couples
New York
Sep 3, 2014

Nice hotel

The hotel is very clean and stuff is extremely helpful and courteous. However, this hotel as most housing in Monterey doesn't have air-conditioning. Our room was on the second floor, and it wasn't a problem with an open balcony door. Our friends were on the first floor and could only open a window. They were not comfortable during August nights. If you can, ask for a room on the second floor. Despite this, I would stay in the hotel again, as it's very conveniently located and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennacole6
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 13, 2014

Extremely disappointing

The property is beautiful, it makes a great first impression. Unfortunately when we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was how hot it was in there (I'm sure it was 80+ degrees) so we looked for the A/C controls only to find that there weren't any in our particular room. When we asked the front desk they said there was no A/C and the best they could do was provide a fan. Our room was right outside the pool area and parking lot so leaving the window open at night was not an option and by the time we woke up in the morning it had to have been over 85 degrees in our room. The one thing I look for in a hotel is good sleep quality and this was one of the worst night's sleep we had on our trip to California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding guests 2
Couples
Seattle
Aug 11, 2014

Remodeled but could have used a bit more work

The hallways had a old dank smell but room was fine. No AC was found so it was a little warm. Seagulls made it hard to sleep the first night but got used to them the second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the "Wild Plum" just around the corner is a must!!

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stepmom D
Friends
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 26, 2014

Bathroom

The room was nice but the bathroom had no counter space. The seagulls squawked all night so we didn't sleep well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fandango restaurant was excellent.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellers
Family
Durham
Jul 16, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to pier. Would recommend using free trolley bus.

Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvved It
Family
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 10, 2014

Excellent Stay

We had two rooms reserved and when checking in we asked that our rooms be close to each other if possible. Because I had reserved a less expensive room, they were located in different buildings. The folks at the front desk gave me an upgrade free of charge without my even asking, so we could have our rooms near each other. The room was great! Very spacious, beautiful bathroom, patio, fireplace, lots of amenities. I usually have trouble sleeping the first night in a hotel because the pillows are always too big or the bed too soft or too hard. Not here. Best pillows ever. I slept beautifully both nights. The location is not the best; I would prefer closer to Cannery Row. But it is an easy and safe walk to Fisherman's Wharf. A great discovery was a fabulous French bakery about three blocks down Abrego toward the wharf. Overall, an excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top