$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hotel Abrego

3 stars
View map of 755 Abrego St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Abrego

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dadys girl
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 25, 2014

Family Reunion

This hotel is GREAT! Thought I was in Las Vegas or a far away resort. Staff...excellent. My husband and I enjoyed the facilities immensely and will definitely make this a regular stay when visiting family on the Peninsula.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Near everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Abacus
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 24, 2014

Clean, convenient and quiet

Very much enjoyed our brief stay. We were upstairs in one of the 'wing' rooms which provided nice peace and quiet. Convenient eateries across the street and one block from Casa Munras' excellent Esteban restaurant. Would stay here again, although in summer would ask to stay in the main building since the wing buildings do not have AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiny French bakery shop across the street. Good for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oma of three
Business
San Rafael
Oct 11, 2014

Relaxing get away

Close to everything; very accommodating and quiet; staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pier next to Coast Guard center - lots of active sea creatures that are fun to watch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal Traveler4
Business
New York
Sep 3, 2014

Nice hotel

The hotel is very clean and stuff is extremely helpful and courteous. However, this hotel as most housing in Monterey doesn't have air-conditioning. Our room was on the second floor, and it wasn't a problem with an open balcony door. Our friends were on the first floor and could only open a window. They were not comfortable during August nights. If you can, ask for a room on the second floor. Despite this, I would stay in the hotel again, as it's very conveniently located and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennacole6
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 13, 2014

Extremely disappointing

The property is beautiful, it makes a great first impression. Unfortunately when we walked into our room the first thing we noticed was how hot it was in there (I'm sure it was 80+ degrees) so we looked for the A/C controls only to find that there weren't any in our particular room. When we asked the front desk they said there was no A/C and the best they could do was provide a fan. Our room was right outside the pool area and parking lot so leaving the window open at night was not an option and by the time we woke up in the morning it had to have been over 85 degrees in our room. The one thing I look for in a hotel is good sleep quality and this was one of the worst night's sleep we had on our trip to California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding guests 2
Business
Seattle
Aug 11, 2014

Remodeled but could have used a bit more work

The hallways had a old dank smell but room was fine. No AC was found so it was a little warm. Seagulls made it hard to sleep the first night but got used to them the second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the "Wild Plum" just around the corner is a must!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stepmom D
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 26, 2014

Bathroom

The room was nice but the bathroom had no counter space. The seagulls squawked all night so we didn't sleep well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Fandango restaurant was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super travellers
Business
Durham
Jul 16, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great hotel and very friendly staff. Would recommends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to pier. Would recommend using free trolley bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luvved It
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 10, 2014

Excellent Stay

We had two rooms reserved and when checking in we asked that our rooms be close to each other if possible. Because I had reserved a less expensive room, they were located in different buildings. The folks at the front desk gave me an upgrade free of charge without my even asking, so we could have our rooms near each other. The room was great! Very spacious, beautiful bathroom, patio, fireplace, lots of amenities. I usually have trouble sleeping the first night in a hotel because the pillows are always too big or the bed too soft or too hard. Not here. Best pillows ever. I slept beautifully both nights. The location is not the best; I would prefer closer to Cannery Row. But it is an easy and safe walk to Fisherman's Wharf. A great discovery was a fabulous French bakery about three blocks down Abrego toward the wharf. Overall, an excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Abrego

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daisy miran shin
Business
san francisco
Apr 5, 2014

It's good.

there was clean room, good condition facilities, and nice people in the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top