$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
View map of 443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
54 reviews
Family Trip

This was the second time staying at this hotel. It's nice being able to park here and then walk to... See full review

  • Jason A.
  • Jan 8, 2015
great stay

The staff is friendly, we were able to get early check in, the complimentary breakfast was great... See full review

  • LamFam
  • Oct 5, 2014
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 54
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jason A.
Business
N/A
Jan 8, 2015

Family Trip

This was the second time staying at this hotel. It's nice being able to park here and then walk to the many attractions and restaurants along cannery row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abhi
Business
San Jose
Jan 7, 2015

Awesome Family Trip

Great room with a very good location. Very close to the bay and cannery row area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Frijole
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 26, 2012

Worst hotel for the price I've ever stayed at.

The good: It's a good location, close to Cannery row and the rooms are cleanish and have been recently remodeled....nothing special. The man working the front counter when we checked out was nice. The bad: Don't let the remodeled rooms fool you...this is an old, poorly designed hotel. No sound insulation whatsoever. Anytime anyone walked anywhere on our side of the hotel, the whole room shook. Anytime a toilet or shower was used, it sounded like it was coming from our bathroom. No weatherstripping around the door, so not only sound, but light was coming into the room all night. I slept maybe 2 hours during the night. Bathroom door lock was broken. TV didn't work because it was unplugged at the back of the TV. Towels felt like they were made out of sandpaper. Vending machines didn't work. I checked with Guiness. The elevator is officially the world's slowest. And completely worthless since once you get to your floor, you have to walk back down a flight of stairs due to the horrible hotel design. Yah, it's only a 3 story hotel, but when you have alot of luggage, it's kind of a big deal. Upon leaving the hotel, I had a near impossible time trying to pull my car out of the parking garage due to the maid having her car illegally parked behind me. Seriously, I've never felt more ripped off in my life. You could stay at a cheap hotel across town for a 1/4 of the price and get the same hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little pasta joint down the block called The Loose Noodle that was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
White
Business
Troon scotland
Sep 15, 2012

Fab Location

Nothing stood out as special with this hotel,but a comfortable night,although a bit noisy from other guests.The location made it and that's why I chose it.The price was too much for this standard of hotel and that would certainly turn me off staying in Monterey again.We stopped here en-route to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deceived in Cabo
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 20, 2012

Pictures can be deceiving

Not a big fan of hotels that have room access from outdoors as they just aren't as clean as rooms with inside hall access.. The website pictures for the hotel fail to show this. This is an older hotel and not the typical Holiday Inn Express which I've stayed at many and have had much success with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
over all happy
Business
holiday inn express
Feb 13, 2012

Great stay

I thought our hotel was just fine.Great location,close to the beach and cannary row.The breakfast was a full breakfast eggs,juce,muffins,3 kinds of cereal for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are quite a few small dinner`s on the bike path,choose one of thoes,you wont be sorry,great charm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris9
Business
Bay Area
Jan 21, 2012

Short walk to Aquarium

As with all the Holiday Inn Expresses we've stayed at, this hotel was clean, in good condition, perfectly adequate, with good staff, decent breakfast and a reasonable rate. Very conveniently located close to the aquarium and lots of restaurants. Our only complaint: the walls were a little thin, so one could hear road traffic and a swinging metal gate on the premises. Worth it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ambo
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Perfect for short vacation

My bf, our kids and I were looking for a decent place to stay near Cannery Row that a) wasn't going to break the bank, and b) met a minimum with cleanliness and overall appearance. We knew it was only going to be a place to sleep at night, but I'm picky. ;) Maybe it's because it was recently renovated, but this place was PERFECT. Super clean, room didn't give me the heebie-geebies at all, and I had a great night's sleep. Continental breakfast was pretty good - I think I was more wowed by the pancake machine than anything else, though. hehe. Overall, probably the best bang for your buck if you want to be within walking distance to the aquarium. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids that just need to let out some energy, drive over to Dennis the Menace Park. Pretty cool park - my son didn't want to leave after an hour of straight running around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilio
Business
Dinuba, Ca
Aug 26, 2011

Great location for Cannery Row

It is in a great location. Only a couple blocks from Cannery Row. Everything was within walking distance. So, we were within walking distance of all that we wanted to see. This was important because of the traffic and parking in the area. It saved us quite a bit of time. We had a nice corner room with trees outside. So, we could have the windows open and still have a lot of privacy. This was a nice location that was quite. We have been at other hotels that have not been as nice or as quite and private. I was surprised at the breakfast we had in the morning. Usually it is rolls and bagels. I had eggs biscuits and gravey!!and pancakes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Nice place, good location

Short walk to Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, etc. Nice room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

First Awakenings is amazing for breakfast before heading the the aquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top