$225 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
443 WAVE STREET, MONTEREY, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
85 reviews
Great breakfast/super nice room

I walked to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were very up-to-date, the colors were... See full review

  • Ayurvedic patient
  • Jun 27, 2011
Great breakfast/super nice room

I walked to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were very up-to-date, the colors were... See full review

  • Ayurvedic patient
  • Jun 27, 2011
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Hotel Map

36.6126 -121.8989
Nearby airports
San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 75.00, MI, S; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 110.00, MI, S; Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 85
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacky
mississippi
Jul 23, 2013

vacation

only stayed one night. convenient to beach,stores,airport,car rental, shopping, not overlooking bay, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great local seafood or ribs

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Genny's mom
walnut creek, ca
Jun 13, 2012

Great Location, not great staff

No mention that once you leave elevator on second floor you have to go down 6 or 7 stairs and then climb back up another set to get to your room! No real drapes on windows, just shears. Transformer blew at 1AM which turned off all power and set off smoke alarm. After trying to disarm it ourselves with the red button which lasted 15 minutes when it decided to go off again even louder, we had to pull it down from ceiling. When told front desk at check out we were not pleased about sleep being interrupted they offered no real apology or compensation. Dinning room so crowded we had to eat in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal M
Hawaii
Apr 2, 2012

Ideal location!

Very convenient to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Cannery Row shops and restaurants; about a 5 minute walk to Cannery Row and another 5 minutes to the Aquarium. Free parking at the hotel beats feeding the parking meters or paying up to $10 at any of the parking lots. Our room was very roomy. The recently installed satellite tv service is another plus. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast but did not take advantage of the afternoon wine tasting experience on Friday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Monterey Bay Aquarium is one of the best that we have seen and probably one of the more expensive. Enjoyable for visitors of all ages but elementary school children will certainly learn a lot from all of the exhibits.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shingle Springs, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Very nice hotel

Great location, walking distance to Cannery Row, the Wharf, etc... Very clean and friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Awakenings has excellent breakfasts.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shingle Springs, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Very nice hotel

Great location, walking distance to Cannery Row, the Wharf, etc... Very clean and friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Awakenings has excellent breakfasts.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayurvedic patient
Las Vegas,NV
Jun 27, 2011

Great breakfast/super nice room

I walked to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were very up-to-date, the colors were expresso and sky blue. They were very friendly. I will stay there next time I go to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Surrey/Bike/ rentals near hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayurvedic patient
Las Vegas,NV
Jun 27, 2011

Great breakfast/super nice room

I walked to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were very up-to-date, the colors were expresso and sky blue. They were very friendly. I will stay there next time I go to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Surrey/Bike/ rentals near hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ukulele Lady
Kaneohe, HI
Mar 29, 2011

Ideal Home Base

Hotel was just a block above Cannery Row-perfect location for exploring the coast. Only downside was that our room was on the second floor which couldn't be accessed directly by elevator. We had to take a flight of stairs to get to our room which might be a problem for those who can't climb stairs (not a problem for us though). Room was very quiet even though it was located next to the elevator shaft. Staff was friendly and room was cleaned promptly and efficiently. Lots of parking. We stayed there early March so not too many tourists. Visited the Monterey Aquarium-fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have some meals at the Trailside Cafe--breakfast is wonderful--went there every day!

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ukulele Lady
Kaneohe, HI
Mar 29, 2011

Ideal Home Base

Hotel was just a block above Cannery Row-perfect location for exploring the coast. Only downside was that our room was on the second floor which couldn't be accessed directly by elevator. We had to take a flight of stairs to get to our room which might be a problem for those who can't climb stairs (not a problem for us though). Room was very quiet even though it was located next to the elevator shaft. Staff was friendly and room was cleaned promptly and efficiently. Lots of parking. We stayed there early March so not too many tourists. Visited the Monterey Aquarium-fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have some meals at the Trailside Cafe--breakfast is wonderful--went there every day!

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammy Marsell
Visalia, CA
Jul 31, 2010

Great getaway.

The hotel is in a great location centrally located on Cannary Row. You're within walking distance of the Aquarium and the shopping and relatively close to Fisherman's Wharf (about 10 min walking). The rooms were clean and well maintained. There's a nice courtyard area where you can sit and enjoy the weather or read. The staff was really helpful when I was trying to locate a shop to work on my brakes even taking the time to help me find one. The only negative and I don't really consider it a negative is that breakfast is wrapped up right on time. Don't doddle and also pickins can get a little slim near the end. My husband's not an early riser so it was a challenge for us. Just eat early. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short walk, 3 min or so. Fabulous food and view. They serve dinner only during the week and add lunch on the weekend.

Back to menu Return to top