$131 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
great stay

The staff is friendly, we were able to get early check in, the complimentary breakfast was great... See full review

  • LamFam
  • Oct 5, 2014
Motel near Cannery Row

The motel's biggest plus is that it's walking distance to Cannery Row. The room we had was on the... See full review

  • PeterJay
  • Sep 16, 2014
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Frijole
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 26, 2012

Worst hotel for the price I've ever stayed at.

The good: It's a good location, close to Cannery row and the rooms are cleanish and have been recently remodeled....nothing special. The man working the front counter when we checked out was nice. The bad: Don't let the remodeled rooms fool you...this is an old, poorly designed hotel. No sound insulation whatsoever. Anytime anyone walked anywhere on our side of the hotel, the whole room shook. Anytime a toilet or shower was used, it sounded like it was coming from our bathroom. No weatherstripping around the door, so not only sound, but light was coming into the room all night. I slept maybe 2 hours during the night. Bathroom door lock was broken. TV didn't work because it was unplugged at the back of the TV. Towels felt like they were made out of sandpaper. Vending machines didn't work. I checked with Guiness. The elevator is officially the world's slowest. And completely worthless since once you get to your floor, you have to walk back down a flight of stairs due to the horrible hotel design. Yah, it's only a 3 story hotel, but when you have alot of luggage, it's kind of a big deal. Upon leaving the hotel, I had a near impossible time trying to pull my car out of the parking garage due to the maid having her car illegally parked behind me. Seriously, I've never felt more ripped off in my life. You could stay at a cheap hotel across town for a 1/4 of the price and get the same hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little pasta joint down the block called The Loose Noodle that was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 27, 2009

Not recomended

What should have been a room for maybe $125.00 a night for the location only, was over $200.00! The room was located above a very busy road which made it very difficult to sleep because of the noise. Located on the 3rd floor (there was no view at all)with stairs going down, then up, so that carrying luggage was very difficult. I would not stay in this motel/hotel again and would not recommend using Orbitz for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deceived in Cabo
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 20, 2012

Pictures can be deceiving

Not a big fan of hotels that have room access from outdoors as they just aren't as clean as rooms with inside hall access.. The website pictures for the hotel fail to show this. This is an older hotel and not the typical Holiday Inn Express which I've stayed at many and have had much success with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Genny's mom
Business
walnut creek, ca
Jun 13, 2012

Great Location, not great staff

No mention that once you leave elevator on second floor you have to go down 6 or 7 stairs and then climb back up another set to get to your room! No real drapes on windows, just shears. Transformer blew at 1AM which turned off all power and set off smoke alarm. After trying to disarm it ourselves with the red button which lasted 15 minutes when it decided to go off again even louder, we had to pull it down from ceiling. When told front desk at check out we were not pleased about sleep being interrupted they offered no real apology or compensation. Dinning room so crowded we had to eat in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
White
Business
Troon scotland
Sep 15, 2012

Fab Location

Nothing stood out as special with this hotel,but a comfortable night,although a bit noisy from other guests.The location made it and that's why I chose it.The price was too much for this standard of hotel and that would certainly turn me off staying in Monterey again.We stopped here en-route to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacky
Business
mississippi
Jul 23, 2013

vacation

only stayed one night. convenient to beach,stores,airport,car rental, shopping, not overlooking bay, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great local seafood or ribs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pinole, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Nice hotel, but stay away from Rm. 101

We've stayed here before, but this time we got Rm. 101, which is RIGHT next door to the main office where breakfast is served. We like to sleep in and don't care about breakfast and asked the desk for a different room, but they said it was very quiet. WRONG...we were jolted out of bed each morning we stayed there at 6:00 AM. Great location, great place to stay, but stay away from this room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MSO
Oct 9, 2009

Holiday Inn Express Monterey

Entrance to hotel has small sign & limited lighting at night making it hard to find. If you have poor mobility the steps to the rooms at ground level could be a problem. Staff friendly, knowledgable about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 10, 2010

Great location

Location was great, room was clean and modern. The only bad thing was the busy street below, pretty noisy. Would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington State
Aug 22, 2009

Noisy!

The location was excellent - close to everything and we didn't hear any outside road noise. We stayed on the third floor and whenever people arrived with rolling luggage is echoed down the hallways. We had a family that let their children scream and run wild but when we complained to the desk, they did take care of the problem immediately. Did not like our room being right around the corner from the elevator - would choose a different room. Thought the 5:00 wine and cheese snacks were a nice touch. Staff was very nice also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The paved walk that runs around Monterey Bay is fabulous. We got lots of exercise and fresh air and saw wonderful sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top