$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
great stay

The staff is friendly, we were able to get early check in, the complimentary breakfast was great... See full review

  • LamFam
  • Oct 5, 2014
Motel near Cannery Row

The motel's biggest plus is that it's walking distance to Cannery Row. The room we had was on the... See full review

  • PeterJay
  • Sep 16, 2014
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Hotel Map

36.6126 -121.8989
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.00, MI; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 110.00, MI; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 75.00, MI;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 13, 2007

friendly, clean etc. great location

We enjoyed our stay. It was a great location, quiet, clean & a friendly staff..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

greatlocal dining around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 25, 2007

Great location and service

The Holiday Inn Express on Wave Street was a charming, comfortable hotel which was well maintained by a helpful, friendly,smiling staff. Our room was large and nicely decorated. It included a fridge, iron and coffee pot. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, and free paking was available. The breakfast area was pleasant, and there was nice choices of cereals,pastries,yogurt, juices and milk and coffee. Cannery Row restaurants and shops are in easy walking distance,as well as the Aquarium. Tickets for the Aquarium can be purchased at the hotel so no wait in line to get in! We used local taxis to attend Jazz Fest..and promt efficient service was available. This is a great hotel! Would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wm.
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 1, 2007

Great Experience

The Holiday Inn Express, Cannary Row, was a very pleasant experience. Rooms were large and very clean. The staff was very helpful, and the in-room internet was very fast. I would definetly stay their on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wharf is within a short walk with lots of shops and restaraunts. Go hungry, the fresh seafood was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S.S.F.
Jun 29, 2008

Nice and Intimate

The Holiday Inn at Cannery Row is what you are looking for if you don't want the hustle and bustle of the bigger hotels (which I don't mind). But as for a place to lay our heads on a romantic getaway this was the perfect place. The hotel staff were very nice and pleasant.The room was clean and fresh. The bed was very comfy. The location was very much so within walking distance of everything with the exception of the wharf. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sardine Factory (where we ate) is within walking distance as well as the Chart House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 24, 2007

Excellent Location

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was large and there was plenty of room for all of our luggage. The bed was very comfortable. We always get a good night's sleep in a Holiday Inn Express. The location couldn't have been better for visiting Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquariam. It was a little difficult getting all of our luggage to the room. After taking the elevator to the third floor, we had to remove our bags from the cart then walk down and then up another set of stairs to the room. Other than that, there were no complaints only complements. I would love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It was about three blocks to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. You can walk down Cannery Row or on a wonderful walking/bike path that extends on down the beach. Great views and shops along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beverly
Nov 23, 2008

Very friendly!

The Holiday Inn Express was very warm and welcoming. There was a free cocktail hour at night and a wide variety of breakfast food in the morning. When I ran out of toothpaste, the hotel manager ran up to our room within minutes to give me a complimentary tube! Although I was traveling with my boyfriend, I noticed it was a very family-friendly hotel. Rooms were quiet and blocked a lot of the noise from outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Fishermans Grotto or other Seafood-specific restaurants, don't bother getting food at the pubs in the area, stick to the good stuff! Often times, you can sample clam chowder from different places!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 4, 2011

Quiet and Convenient

We went to Monterey for the night while my son attended an honor band rehearsal. He says he slept better at the hotel than at home! I enjoyed walking along Cannery Row and a long run past Lovers Point to Asilomar beach all with ease right out the hotels front door. They were also very nice about allowing me to leave my car parked in the garage after check out time. The room was clean and quiet and had free wireless internet. The price was right and I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gumps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Great value, family friendly

The Holiday Inn Express is a half-block away from Cannery Row, it's clean, the rooms are big and your stay includes free breakfast, free wine/cheese, and free parking, plus the rooms are air conditioned. This is a GREAT value for the area and accommodations. There were alot of families, but if you don't mind a bit of extra noise, this is a terrific place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 7, 2007

Great location

The Holiday Inn Express - Cannery Row Monterey is in a great location. Within walking distance of Cannery Row, the Monterey Aquarium, excellent restaurants, childrens activity museum and beyond. Nice complimentary breakfast and evening wine & cheese refreshments. Staff refreshed the food often. Comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff. Most important was being able to park our car - complimentary - and not use it for three days. We will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sardine Factory is a super restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Outstanding Accommodation

The location of this hotel in Cannery Row, near very expensive hotels, is incredible. You can walk to Lovers Point, The Wharf, downtown, and the historical areas. It's very close (walking distance) to many great restaurants,shopping outlets,the IMAX Theater, the Acquarium and the beache. Even though this hotel does not have a business center, the staff made photocopies for me when I asked. The staff is very curteous, friendly and professional. I was also surprised about their breakfast -- I expected it to be continental, but It's a full breakfast with eggs, sausages, buiscuit and gravy in addition to cereal, yogurt and pastry. The room size was very comfortable and very clean. I'll always stay in this hotel when I visit Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The sport trail is my absolute favorite in the area. During the week we spent in Monterey, I was able to walk for at least one hour on the the sport trail, along the coast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top