$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
great stay

The staff is friendly, we were able to get early check in, the complimentary breakfast was great... See full review

  • LamFam
  • Oct 5, 2014
Motel near Cannery Row

The motel's biggest plus is that it's walking distance to Cannery Row. The room we had was on the... See full review

  • PeterJay
  • Sep 16, 2014
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
over all happy
Business
holiday inn express
Feb 13, 2012

Great stay

I thought our hotel was just fine.Great location,close to the beach and cannary row.The breakfast was a full breakfast eggs,juce,muffins,3 kinds of cereal for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are quite a few small dinner`s on the bike path,choose one of thoes,you wont be sorry,great charm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris9
Business
Bay Area
Jan 21, 2012

Short walk to Aquarium

As with all the Holiday Inn Expresses we've stayed at, this hotel was clean, in good condition, perfectly adequate, with good staff, decent breakfast and a reasonable rate. Very conveniently located close to the aquarium and lots of restaurants. Our only complaint: the walls were a little thin, so one could hear road traffic and a swinging metal gate on the premises. Worth it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ambo
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Perfect for short vacation

My bf, our kids and I were looking for a decent place to stay near Cannery Row that a) wasn't going to break the bank, and b) met a minimum with cleanliness and overall appearance. We knew it was only going to be a place to sleep at night, but I'm picky. ;) Maybe it's because it was recently renovated, but this place was PERFECT. Super clean, room didn't give me the heebie-geebies at all, and I had a great night's sleep. Continental breakfast was pretty good - I think I was more wowed by the pancake machine than anything else, though. hehe. Overall, probably the best bang for your buck if you want to be within walking distance to the aquarium. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids that just need to let out some energy, drive over to Dennis the Menace Park. Pretty cool park - my son didn't want to leave after an hour of straight running around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilio
Business
Dinuba, Ca
Aug 26, 2011

Great location for Cannery Row

It is in a great location. Only a couple blocks from Cannery Row. Everything was within walking distance. So, we were within walking distance of all that we wanted to see. This was important because of the traffic and parking in the area. It saved us quite a bit of time. We had a nice corner room with trees outside. So, we could have the windows open and still have a lot of privacy. This was a nice location that was quite. We have been at other hotels that have not been as nice or as quite and private. I was surprised at the breakfast we had in the morning. Usually it is rolls and bagels. I had eggs biscuits and gravey!!and pancakes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 17, 2011

Nice place, good location

Short walk to Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, etc. Nice room for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

First Awakenings is amazing for breakfast before heading the the aquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shingle Springs, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Very nice hotel

Great location, walking distance to Cannery Row, the Wharf, etc... Very clean and friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Awakenings has excellent breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ayurvedic patient
Business
Las Vegas,NV
Jun 27, 2011

Great breakfast/super nice room

I walked to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were very up-to-date, the colors were expresso and sky blue. They were very friendly. I will stay there next time I go to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Surrey/Bike/ rentals near hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ukulele Lady
Business
Kaneohe, HI
Mar 29, 2011

Ideal Home Base

Hotel was just a block above Cannery Row-perfect location for exploring the coast. Only downside was that our room was on the second floor which couldn't be accessed directly by elevator. We had to take a flight of stairs to get to our room which might be a problem for those who can't climb stairs (not a problem for us though). Room was very quiet even though it was located next to the elevator shaft. Staff was friendly and room was cleaned promptly and efficiently. Lots of parking. We stayed there early March so not too many tourists. Visited the Monterey Aquarium-fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have some meals at the Trailside Cafe--breakfast is wonderful--went there every day!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, CA
Feb 7, 2011

Convenient, Clean and Spacious

Easy to find, convenient location with free parking and breakfast. Rooms were very spacious and clean and quiet. Perfect, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Feb 4, 2011

Quiet and Convenient

We went to Monterey for the night while my son attended an honor band rehearsal. He says he slept better at the hotel than at home! I enjoyed walking along Cannery Row and a long run past Lovers Point to Asilomar beach all with ease right out the hotels front door. They were also very nice about allowing me to leave my car parked in the garage after check out time. The room was clean and quiet and had free wireless internet. The price was right and I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Gumps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top