$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

3 stars
443 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Great breakfast/super nice room

I walked to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. The rooms were very up-to-date, the colors were... See full review

  • Ayurvedic patient
  • Jun 27, 2011
Quiet and Convenient

We went to Monterey for the night while my son attended an honor band rehearsal. He says he slept... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 4, 2011
Business smart and eco-friendly one block from the Pacific Ocean

Renovated and all nonsmoking, the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row offers clean, quiet accommodations on the Monterey/Carmel Peninsula. Just a block from the ocean, the hotel presents a free breakfast bar in the sunny breakfast room to start each morning. A hosted wine and cheese reception welcomes guests back from around town each evening. Walk one block to Cannery Row, three to Monterey Bay Aquarium or less than 15 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and the conference center. Rest and chat on the landscaped deck or in the outdoor hot tub.

Highlights

  • Outdoor hot tub and landscaped deck
  • Free breakfast bar and evening wine and cheese reception daily
  • Eco-friendly renovated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi
  • Free underground parking at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row
  • A block from the ocean and Cannery Row, close to restaurants and the aquarium

Rooms

The 43 stylish and spacious guest rooms at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row have been refurbished to be both comfortable and eco-friendly. Recycled eco-quartz sparkles on vanities and tub surrounds, eco-friendly recycled tile and carpet feel fresh underfoot, and new furnishings and bedding pair with low-VOC paint for a clean, green experience. Enjoy a flat-screen LCD TV, refrigerator and complimentary wireless Internet access from the desk with an ergonomic chair.

Features
Underground parking is free at Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. The business-friendly hotel features dry cleaning services (fees apply), a business center, in-room laptop safes, free copies of USA Today and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For breakfast, find a complimentary selection of fruit, juice, cereal, breads and pastries, hardboiled eggs and signature coffee. Stop by the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row lobby for wine and cheese evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Take a short drive to nearby Pebble Beach, the 17-Mile Drive or Carmel-by-the-Sea.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.4 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/165 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.9 mi/51.4 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.3 mi/71.3 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.7 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with printer, copier and fax machine

Hotel Map

36.6126 -121.8989
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 5.00, MI, NW; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 110.00, MI, S; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 75.00, MI, S;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MimiinMay
Business
Jackson MS
Apr 10, 2012

Good Place for the Money

Hotel was clean, up to date, in the middle of Cannery Row. Staff was nice. They were updating the television system while I was there and I got back to my room early afternoon that day. The staff realized that and had my television connected first. Breakfast was good, lots of choices. Good place to stay for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cacky
mississippi
Jul 23, 2013

vacation

only stayed one night. convenient to beach,stores,airport,car rental, shopping, not overlooking bay, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great local seafood or ribs

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Frijole
San Diego, CA
Sep 26, 2012

Worst hotel for the price I've ever stayed at.

The good: It's a good location, close to Cannery row and the rooms are cleanish and have been recently remodeled....nothing special. The man working the front counter when we checked out was nice. The bad: Don't let the remodeled rooms fool you...this is an old, poorly designed hotel. No sound insulation whatsoever. Anytime anyone walked anywhere on our side of the hotel, the whole room shook. Anytime a toilet or shower was used, it sounded like it was coming from our bathroom. No weatherstripping around the door, so not only sound, but light was coming into the room all night. I slept maybe 2 hours during the night. Bathroom door lock was broken. TV didn't work because it was unplugged at the back of the TV. Towels felt like they were made out of sandpaper. Vending machines didn't work. I checked with Guiness. The elevator is officially the world's slowest. And completely worthless since once you get to your floor, you have to walk back down a flight of stairs due to the horrible hotel design. Yah, it's only a 3 story hotel, but when you have alot of luggage, it's kind of a big deal. Upon leaving the hotel, I had a near impossible time trying to pull my car out of the parking garage due to the maid having her car illegally parked behind me. Seriously, I've never felt more ripped off in my life. You could stay at a cheap hotel across town for a 1/4 of the price and get the same hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a little pasta joint down the block called The Loose Noodle that was excellent.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
White
Troon scotland
Sep 15, 2012

Fab Location

Nothing stood out as special with this hotel,but a comfortable night,although a bit noisy from other guests.The location made it and that's why I chose it.The price was too much for this standard of hotel and that would certainly turn me off staying in Monterey again.We stopped here en-route to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deceived in Cabo
Wisconsin
Jul 20, 2012

Pictures can be deceiving

Not a big fan of hotels that have room access from outdoors as they just aren't as clean as rooms with inside hall access.. The website pictures for the hotel fail to show this. This is an older hotel and not the typical Holiday Inn Express which I've stayed at many and have had much success with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Genny's mom
walnut creek, ca
Jun 13, 2012

Great Location, not great staff

No mention that once you leave elevator on second floor you have to go down 6 or 7 stairs and then climb back up another set to get to your room! No real drapes on windows, just shears. Transformer blew at 1AM which turned off all power and set off smoke alarm. After trying to disarm it ourselves with the red button which lasted 15 minutes when it decided to go off again even louder, we had to pull it down from ceiling. When told front desk at check out we were not pleased about sleep being interrupted they offered no real apology or compensation. Dinning room so crowded we had to eat in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MimiinMay
Business
Jackson MS
Apr 10, 2012

Good Place for the Money

Hotel was clean, up to date, in the middle of Cannery Row. Staff was nice. They were updating the television system while I was there and I got back to my room early afternoon that day. The staff realized that and had my television connected first. Breakfast was good, lots of choices. Good place to stay for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal M
Hawaii
Apr 2, 2012

Ideal location!

Very convenient to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Cannery Row shops and restaurants; about a 5 minute walk to Cannery Row and another 5 minutes to the Aquarium. Free parking at the hotel beats feeding the parking meters or paying up to $10 at any of the parking lots. Our room was very roomy. The recently installed satellite tv service is another plus. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast but did not take advantage of the afternoon wine tasting experience on Friday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Monterey Bay Aquarium is one of the best that we have seen and probably one of the more expensive. Enjoyable for visitors of all ages but elementary school children will certainly learn a lot from all of the exhibits.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
over all happy
holiday inn express
Feb 13, 2012

Great stay

I thought our hotel was just fine.Great location,close to the beach and cannary row.The breakfast was a full breakfast eggs,juce,muffins,3 kinds of cereal for the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are quite a few small dinner`s on the bike path,choose one of thoes,you wont be sorry,great charm.

Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris9
Bay Area
Jan 21, 2012

Short walk to Aquarium

As with all the Holiday Inn Expresses we've stayed at, this hotel was clean, in good condition, perfectly adequate, with good staff, decent breakfast and a reasonable rate. Very conveniently located close to the aquarium and lots of restaurants. Our only complaint: the walls were a little thin, so one could hear road traffic and a swinging metal gate on the premises. Worth it anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express MONTEREY-CANNERY ROW

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ambo
Sacramento, CA, USA
Dec 24, 2011

Perfect for short vacation

My bf, our kids and I were looking for a decent place to stay near Cannery Row that a) wasn't going to break the bank, and b) met a minimum with cleanliness and overall appearance. We knew it was only going to be a place to sleep at night, but I'm picky. ;) Maybe it's because it was recently renovated, but this place was PERFECT. Super clean, room didn't give me the heebie-geebies at all, and I had a great night's sleep. Continental breakfast was pretty good - I think I was more wowed by the pancake machine than anything else, though. hehe. Overall, probably the best bang for your buck if you want to be within walking distance to the aquarium. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have kids that just need to let out some energy, drive over to Dennis the Menace Park. Pretty cool park - my son didn't want to leave after an hour of straight running around.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search