$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

3 stars
1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
58 reviews
Perfect

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a King room, superb See full review

  • Manner
  • Apr 14, 2013
Great Monterey Hotel

We had a very good stay at this hotel. They had overbooked the king rooms and gave us complimentary... See full review

  • Dave the Waterman
  • Nov 8, 2013
The conveniences of home in Monterey Bay setting

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey spoils guests with private balconies, poolside cabanas, Herman Miller ergonomic desk chairs, and a location just a half mile from beautiful Monterey Bay beaches. Guests also enjoy free wireless Internet access, complimentary use of the 24-hour business center and fitness center, and California cuisine at the on-site Pacific Grille restaurant. The hotel's allure increases from the surrounding majestic Monterey Pine and Live Oak trees, which create a dramatic and colorful setting. Parking facilities (fees apply) are also available for added convenience.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond Award
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • Private poolside cabanas
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
Rooms

204 comfortably furnished rooms and suites provide a king or two queen Garden Sleep System beds, individual climate control, desk with Herman Miller Mirra ergonomic chair, private balcony, in-room refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Guests entertain themselves with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and a flat-screen high-definition cable television with complimentary premium channels and pay-per-view movies. All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Comfortable guestrooms surrounded by lush gardens and proximity to some of the area's most sought-after attractions define a stay at this AAA Three Diamond property. Leisure and business travelers alike will enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, poolside cabanas, and fully equipped fitness room, which offers treadmills, Stairmaster, weight machine, and stationary bike. The Pacific Grille restaurant features California cuisine and evening room service or the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart service guest needs.


The 24-hour complimentary business center and six different meeting and banquet rooms totaling 6,500 sq ft. make Hilton Garden Inn Monterey a perfect venue for business.

Transportation
  • Monterey Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Fisherman's Warf (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Pebble Beach (5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms totaling 6,500 sq. ft.
  • Secure printing
Policies and fees
NOTE: Starting 1 January 2014, the hotel will charge a $10 overnight parking fee per vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.591 -121.88
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Airport, (MRY), 3.00, MI, E; San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 70.00, MI, N; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 100.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler learning by mistakes
Hayward, Ca
Aug 23, 2010

Not worth the money!!!

I was very disappointed! From the time we checked in - the service at the front desk was non exsistent... Unfriendly staff at desk - we were given a map and no other directions to find our room . Which was on the back side of building, facing a rock wall and drive way. The underground parking garage was color coded but, the map was not. Even trying to use the parking garage elevator was difficult - no where was there instructions that the elevator required the use of room key!!! Upon entering our room - OMG it was so small - barely fit the two queen beds and nightstand. Bad lighting, no place to sit, except on the beds. No toilet paper in dispenser, both rolls lying on top of dispenser. Before I unpacked I called other Hotels in area, trying to find a better more friendly place. I was willing to sacrafice the money already spent because, I was that unhappy and I wanted this trip to be perfect!!! Needless to say, nothing was available so, I tried to make the best of it. By staying out of the room... We were also given two room keys and only one worked. This room was also right next to the service elevator which ran all night long - LOUDLY - The breakfast was not explained to us so of course we missed that. I will never use [...] for travel arrangements and I will never stay at a Hilton Hotel. Overpriced accommodations - Unfriendly staff - and unexceptable location for local attractions. The whole experience I rate at a negative 0 or -*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here if, you are looking for local attractions within walking distance. It's a 10 minute or more drive to anything - Beach, resturants,Aquarium, shopping, etc. And parking is limited or very expensive. Try to book Hotel or sleeping accommodations in the downtown area - Munras, Lighthouse, Ocean Avenues. They are cheaper and customer service is exceptional.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Aug 10, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

When we checked in, they gave us the wrong room (2 queens, very small) and not the upgraded (King and extras) that we paid extra for. When we complained, they apologized and upgraded us to a suite (though it was a Monday, so no one was there). They didn't do much else, and refused to give us breakfast coupons for their on site restaurant (which I think comes with the rooms) and told us it was because we "Booked through a 3rd party).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Cannery Row

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHRPE
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

A nice convenient location with clean and updated facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHRPE
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

A nice convenient location with clean and updated facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
well-travelled
England
May 31, 2010

Good value for Monterey

This is a bland chain hotel nothing remarkable but clean and comfortable with good road access that makes for a good base to explore the area. You will need a car as there is nothing really walkable nearby. The staff were welcoming and the the laundry and business centre were useful. I have stayed here before and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey Bay Aquarium really is one the best in the world and not to be missed.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
well-travelled
England
May 31, 2010

Good value for Monterey

This is a bland chain hotel nothing remarkable but clean and comfortable with good road access that makes for a good base to explore the area. You will need a car as there is nothing really walkable nearby. The staff were welcoming and the the laundry and business centre were useful. I have stayed here before and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey Bay Aquarium really is one the best in the world and not to be missed.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern California
May 17, 2010

Ok place for the price

Needed a convenient place for the night that had an on-site restaurant, as we were too tired from driving to search for anything not nearby. The room was nice but we could hear traffic noise. The fitness room was excellent, there was a convenient self-serve laundry available, parking seemed limited. I felt extrememly lucky to find a spot nearby my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern California
May 17, 2010

Ok place for the price

Needed a convenient place for the night that had an on-site restaurant, as we were too tired from driving to search for anything not nearby. The room was nice but we could hear traffic noise. The fitness room was excellent, there was a convenient self-serve laundry available, parking seemed limited. I felt extrememly lucky to find a spot nearby my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
WASHINGTON STATE
Apr 27, 2010

Nice Hotel

GOOD HOTEL, CLEAN, QUIET ROOMS IN A GOOD LOCATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
WASHINGTON STATE
Apr 27, 2010

Nice Hotel

GOOD HOTEL, CLEAN, QUIET ROOMS IN A GOOD LOCATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top