$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

3 stars
1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
37 reviews
Great Trip for Work & Sight Seeing

The hotel was modern and clean. I had to clean up my work presentation in the business center and... See full review

  • Works Hard Plays Harder
  • Nov 6, 2014
great place to stay

Nice & clean but priced a little high. Good location did not stay long enough to enjoy all the... See full review

  • bb124
  • Aug 24, 2014
The conveniences of home in Monterey Bay setting

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey spoils guests with private balconies, poolside cabanas, Herman Miller ergonomic desk chairs, and a location just a half mile from beautiful Monterey Bay beaches. Guests also enjoy free wireless Internet access, complimentary use of the 24-hour business center and fitness center, and California cuisine at the on-site Pacific Grille restaurant. The hotel's allure increases from the surrounding majestic Monterey Pine and Live Oak trees, which create a dramatic and colorful setting. Parking facilities (fees apply) are also available for added convenience.

Highlights
  • AAA Three Diamond Award
  • Heated outdoor pool and whirlpool spa
  • 24-hour business center
  • Private poolside cabanas
  • Complimentary high speed Internet access
Rooms

204 comfortably furnished rooms and suites provide a king or two queen Garden Sleep System beds, individual climate control, desk with Herman Miller Mirra ergonomic chair, private balcony, in-room refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Guests entertain themselves with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access and a flat-screen high-definition cable television with complimentary premium channels and pay-per-view movies. All rooms are non-smoking.

Features

Comfortable guestrooms surrounded by lush gardens and proximity to some of the area's most sought-after attractions define a stay at this AAA Three Diamond property. Leisure and business travelers alike will enjoy the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, poolside cabanas, and fully equipped fitness room, which offers treadmills, Stairmaster, weight machine, and stationary bike. The Pacific Grille restaurant features California cuisine and evening room service or the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart service guest needs.


The 24-hour complimentary business center and six different meeting and banquet rooms totaling 6,500 sq ft. make Hilton Garden Inn Monterey a perfect venue for business.

Transportation
  • Monterey Airport (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Fisherman's Warf (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Historic Cannery Row (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Pebble Beach (5 mi/0.8 km)
Business
  • Six meeting rooms totaling 6,500 sq. ft.
  • Secure printing
Policies and fees
  • The hotel charges a $10 USD overnight parking fee. Starting 01 Jan 2015, parking fee will be $14 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Monterey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MFN
Business
Bay Area, CA
Jan 1, 2011

Recommended, Decent Hotel

The person checking us in was very well dressed and professional. However, the woman who came out from the back office during our check in was on the radio with housekeeping and was being horribly rude to them. The hotel room that we were put in was at the far back of the hotel and near the highway. With the door closed, the TV blaring, and heater on, we still could hear the sounds of the highway louder than all else. We called the front and asked them for another room. The front desk sent someone to us with replacement keys within the next 5 minutes. Once at our other room, we were surprised to see how much nicer the other side of the hotel was. It is probably best to know this up front, and ask not to be sent to the back near the highway (what a disappointment to be sent there first). The rest of our stay was fine. With the exception that the hotel is a maze to navigate and easy to get lost in, there was absolutely zero parking for us, and housekeeping came knocking on our door at 6:55 AM to clean up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culver City, CA
Nov 28, 2010

Pretty place, but...

I stopped by here for one night with my mom and sister during the Thanksgiving holiday on our way up to San Francisco. The hotel itself was nice and the price was great! The service on the other hand, not so much. They weren't rude or impolite, but it was non-existent. My mom was apparently having trouble carrying her luggage up the stairs and the hotel staff in the front did nothing to help. I didn't think the guy at the front desk who checked us in was all that friendly or welcoming either. (The lady in the front though did give us free toothpaste when I went down to buy one so who knows, maybe it was just the guy that wasn't friendly. But then again, I would think that a good hotel would have staff that comes to your car to help you or at least offer to help you with your luggage when you're checking in.) And we ended up getting a room that had a handicapped bathroom. I could have requested a change, but didn't care too much about it. Just thought it was kind of weird that we got that room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler learning by mistakes
Business
Hayward, Ca
Aug 23, 2010

Not worth the money!!!

I was very disappointed! From the time we checked in - the service at the front desk was non exsistent... Unfriendly staff at desk - we were given a map and no other directions to find our room . Which was on the back side of building, facing a rock wall and drive way. The underground parking garage was color coded but, the map was not. Even trying to use the parking garage elevator was difficult - no where was there instructions that the elevator required the use of room key!!! Upon entering our room - OMG it was so small - barely fit the two queen beds and nightstand. Bad lighting, no place to sit, except on the beds. No toilet paper in dispenser, both rolls lying on top of dispenser. Before I unpacked I called other Hotels in area, trying to find a better more friendly place. I was willing to sacrafice the money already spent because, I was that unhappy and I wanted this trip to be perfect!!! Needless to say, nothing was available so, I tried to make the best of it. By staying out of the room... We were also given two room keys and only one worked. This room was also right next to the service elevator which ran all night long - LOUDLY - The breakfast was not explained to us so of course we missed that. I will never use [...] for travel arrangements and I will never stay at a Hilton Hotel. Overpriced accommodations - Unfriendly staff - and unexceptable location for local attractions. The whole experience I rate at a negative 0 or -*.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't stay here if, you are looking for local attractions within walking distance. It's a 10 minute or more drive to anything - Beach, resturants,Aquarium, shopping, etc. And parking is limited or very expensive. Try to book Hotel or sleeping accommodations in the downtown area - Munras, Lighthouse, Ocean Avenues. They are cheaper and customer service is exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Aug 10, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

When we checked in, they gave us the wrong room (2 queens, very small) and not the upgraded (King and extras) that we paid extra for. When we complained, they apologized and upgraded us to a suite (though it was a Monday, so no one was there). They didn't do much else, and refused to give us breakfast coupons for their on site restaurant (which I think comes with the rooms) and told us it was because we "Booked through a 3rd party).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Cannery Row

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHRPE
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

A nice convenient location with clean and updated facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
well-travelled
Business
England
May 31, 2010

Good value for Monterey

This is a bland chain hotel nothing remarkable but clean and comfortable with good road access that makes for a good base to explore the area. You will need a car as there is nothing really walkable nearby. The staff were welcoming and the the laundry and business centre were useful. I have stayed here before and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey Bay Aquarium really is one the best in the world and not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
May 17, 2010

Ok place for the price

Needed a convenient place for the night that had an on-site restaurant, as we were too tired from driving to search for anything not nearby. The room was nice but we could hear traffic noise. The fitness room was excellent, there was a convenient self-serve laundry available, parking seemed limited. I felt extrememly lucky to find a spot nearby my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WASHINGTON STATE
Apr 27, 2010

Nice Hotel

GOOD HOTEL, CLEAN, QUIET ROOMS IN A GOOD LOCATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yuppiz
Business
san gabriel, ca
Apr 20, 2010

Nice resort and convenient location

- convenient location to all attractions in the area; - room is nicely equiped and clean; - reasonable price;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

5 minutes to Cannery Row and fisherman's wharf; and very close to laguna seca raceway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Below Hilton Standards, in many ways

The Hilton Garden Monterey is in a wonderful location-right off the freeway to Carmel, but is quiet, even in the rooms facing that road. That's about the only nice thing I can say. The "adjustable firmness" beds were awful.We tried two different rooms, and both beds were the same. They were tubbed out. Maintenance overall was poor: coffeemaker had to be changed out, there was a loud ticking in the wall like a water heater malfunctioning, and toilet would run by itself. Sewer backed up in the parking lot, making "lovely" odor. Coffee service disappears in the front office apparently at 9. (?!) WiFi in the room was inoperable at 9PM, which is when a business traveler would use it?? Overall, will not stay again. For the price, I can hopefully do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tuesdays 4-7pm- Farmer's Market/craft fair in downtown Monterey. Great unique stuff, and short walk from there to the Fisherman's Wharf. Park on upper streets and walk down. In Carmel, be sure to shop at The Mole Hole, one block west of the Carmel Plaza on the corner for excellent gift items. Barnyard in Carmel Crossroads area has excellent high end thrift shops- The Yellow Brick Road and the SPCA gift shop. Eat at the excellent Portabella restaurant in Carmel on Ocean Ave, across from the library.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top