El Castell Motel ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$52
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016
3.5 /5
Overall score
80%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

While staying at the modern yet classically designed El Castell Motel in Monterey, Mexico, you can enjoy a quiet and relaxing visit whether you're in town on a weekend trip or extended stay. Each room is equipped with two queen beds and come complete with a separate kitchen area that's equipped with a stove, microwave, refrigerator and sink. If you're in town for business or want to stay connected, take advantage of the in-room work desk and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. In-room Keurig coffee machines are also provided.

Highlights

Key facts

The hotel's location in the Monterey Peninsula puts guests within close proximity of outdoor activities, attractions and beautiful areas to explore. Within walking distance of the hotel, you can enjoy a day of golf at the 18-hole Monterey Pines Golf Course. Northwest of the hotel, you can travel along the coastline and visit popular locations like Fisherman's Wharf. At the wharf, you'll find an assortment of locally owned shops that sell unique souvenirs, fresh seafood and tasty sweets. The Monterey Aquarium provides entertainment for travelers of all ages and is the home of thousands of fish, turtles, otters and other wildlife. Visitors can spend the day at the aquarium viewing the different species of aquatic life, watch live animal feedings and go on tours.

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.3 / 5
$69
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$49
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$75
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$94
Guest score 3.6 / 5
$99
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$105

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities

Activities

  • Indoor pool

Services

  • Business center

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities
  • Accessible facilities
  • Wheel chair access
  • Accessible parking
  • Accessible parking

Reviews

3.5 /5 Overall score

80% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.4/5
  • Comfort: 3.7/5
  • Location: 3.7/5
  • Value: 3.6/5

Trying to forget

Would not recommend Fri, Oct 16, 2015
When we arrived, my wife couldn't believe this was it. The roof was completely gone and about 20 workers were running around a bunch of trucks and ladders and piles of materials. I had trouble parking among all the construction debris. The person at the front desk said the construction workers would be gone soon, but a team of workers installing wires stayed and used power tools into the evening. The front desk person gave me wrong information about the internet and it wouldn't work. I tried to call the front desk but the phone would not work. The phone template says call number 6 for front desk, but that wouldn't work and zero wouldn't work. On top of that, it turns out I paid too much. Not a pleasant experience.

| Vallejo Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Fun trip to Monterey

Would not recommend Wed, Sep 30, 2015
Hotel was nice. It's right across the street from the fairgrounds which is good and bad. That night there was a large (loud) concert. It brought with it many wandering folks. People were drinking and smoking in the parking lot all evening long. This isn't anything bad about the hotel but we were not there for the concert and it became annoying. The motel itself was a little run down but it worked.

| Walnut Creek Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Decent stay, but not outstanding

Would not recommend Tue, Aug 18, 2015
We didn't really have any problems when we arrived, and we were able to check in fairly late, after hitting especially bad traffic. But we left an item in the room that we thought would be pretty easy to recover—nothing valuable, just annoying to replace. The staff, when we called a few hours after we left, didn't seem to care at all, and we never got the item back. I don't leave stuff at hotels or motels often, but every previous time I have, the item was in the mail the same day—once at no charge. *That's* the kind of experience that brings me back to a hotel, not lackluster indifference.

| San Francsico Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

short stay

Would recommend Sat, May 23, 2015
overall the hotel offers what you expect from that kind of hotels. It's fairly clean and you get the basic necessities. The wifi was very slow though which could've been a problem if i had stayed longer. Breakfast could be better but it's free so can't really complain. It's a good place to rest for a night or 2 at a good price when visiting the region.

| San Francisco Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Avoid at all costs

Would not recommend Sun, May 3, 2015
In a sketchy neighborhood where trucks and motorcycles are parked in a packed lot. This is a motel that they tried to renovate to bring up the stars but if you are familiar with Holiday Inn or Best Western, this motel trying to be a hotel, does not come close to those other competitors.

| Redwood City Friends

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Bedbugs

Would not recommend Sat, Apr 25, 2015
This place would have been very nice, except the parking was a little lacking and they had bedbugs, we had to try 3 different rooms before we could find one without them, ruined our whole vacation, and they didn't act like they even believed us, but the blisters on my hands and arms were proof.

| N/A Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Nice and clean Will recomend

Would recommend Thu, Apr 9, 2015
Will stay again , breakfast they continue bringing out till everyone got served,, nice and courteous staff., good location, fair price

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good place to stay -

Would recommend Thu, Feb 12, 2015
it was awesome place to stay on the way to SF from LA

| Ellicott city Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

El Castell Motel Review

Would recommend Mon, Feb 9, 2015
My boyfriend and I were visiting Monterey for the weekend and weren't looking for anything fancy. I am always a bit nervous about booking motels or hotels because sometimes they are very hit or miss (or just downright nasty). I am SO happy that El Castell completely blew away expectations. The room was clean and neat, no dirty bits or stains, the bed was comfy (for a bed that wasn't home), service was polite, there was parking for everyone, and amenities were your usual fare. Breakfast was okay/good. Yogurt, cereal, fruit, waffles, and hard boiled eggs.There were a lot of people so I'm glad we woke up early! We had to drive to get to downtown Monterey though, so paying for parking is something to consider. Not too sure about the neighborhood surrounding it though, but I'm probably being to sensitive. Overall, VERY satisfied with our experience, and will definitely stay here again in the future!

| Lafayette Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great family trip

Would recommend Wed, Jan 7, 2015
This place was easy to find and friendly to me and my children. Great breakfast. The pool was wonderful for kids and me!

Attractions

This was a really nice place. I was surprised. We go to Monterrey a lot and I will be going back here.

| Lagrange Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$52
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 2, 2016