$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

El Castell Motel

3 stars
2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
73 reviews
Excellent

Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good location. See full review

  • delle
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great rooms

Comfortable hotel. Great value for the price. The staff was very helpful. See full review

  • Traveler Denis
  • Sep 17, 2014
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 73
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfking
Business
Ventura
Dec 17, 2014

Family day trip

Everything looked nice. The room was a bit small and there was a few leftover hairs from their last cleaning. Not what you want to see upon arrival. Other than that the stay was fine. Monterey is so nice it's hard to get down about the small stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouBelle
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 25, 2014

Great Value!

The hotel room was updated and very nice. The value could not be beat. The location was close to the freeway and close to downtown. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a hidden gem. I would stay here again without thinking twice about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CA family guests
Business
California
Sep 4, 2014

Overpriced refurb

Paid more than double what I would have expectedfor a place and location like this. 2 doors down from an adult theater and surrounded by all the liquor stores and cheapest motels in Monterey. It feels like it was recently refurbished. The room was fairly clean, but after crawling around for a few minutes on the floor, my kids had blackened knees and hands. We spent the rest of our stay trying to keep them from touching the carpet. We will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Our summer trip
Business
Monterey, Ca
Jul 27, 2014

Family trip

It was clean and quiet, I slept well and room was insulated well so you don't hear noise from neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deblmax
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 3, 2014

Last Minute Aquarium Trip

At the last minute my children and I decided to go to the Monterey Aquarium. We needed to find a room. With my kids giving their instructions in the background, pool and cable LOL we found this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms were clean and recently redone. The pool was clean and indoor, perfect for our late arrival. It's not much to look at from the outside but this is a real gem. I would recommend this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's wharf to find good seafood and walk the kids after a long drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karla Carina
Business
Stockton, CA
Jun 6, 2014

Birthday Weekend Trip

My boyfriend and I decided to takes my parents along with sister and nephew to Monterrey for the weekend to visit the aquarium As we arrived to our location, the check-in was pretty standard. They were expecting us and the person in the office was friendly. The outside of the location was dated, but the rooms were updated and contemporary, clean and smelled like fresh linens. The bathroom was clean and modern. However, the vent in the bathroom from the room I stayed was very low and seemed to be on the verge of burning out. Plus the light surrounding the vanity kept turning off. The room that my parents stayed in had a broken ironing board, along with an low vent in the bathroom as well. My sister's room with my nephew was fine. And the continental breakfast was typical. The check out was quick. All in all I would rank our stay as average and I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cannery Row has a restaurant by the name of Fish Hopper. It is more in the high dollar range but the menu is outstanding. Delicious and pallet worthy to a wide range of customers. Scenery is amazing when dining near a window. The views are beautiful from all sides and the sun setting on the water is amazing. You may even catch the occasional sea otter swimming in the ocean. However, the service can be slow and the drinks could be mixed better. I still however praise the watermelon margarita.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moxie Mama
Business
Bay Area CA
Apr 7, 2014

Worked well for our family

We're a family with 2 kids (elementary school age). The room worked will with 2 queens, a microwave and a small refridgerator. We picked this hotel because the pool was covered and the week was looking like it was going to rain. The pool was cold and I would recommend a hot tub to be added to the pool area. The morning breakfast was in the small lobby and filled up quickly, but there was plenty of cereal, danishes and waffles that you could cook - the kids loved that! The busline was right outside the motel and ran downtown and to the aquarium. The one thing that I did notice is that the walls were thin and I could hear the neighbors talking. Other than that, it was a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PankMom
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Mar 4, 2014

Great value

Staff was extremely helpful, even let my kids and I check in super early! Pool was warm for winter, would've enjoyed it a little warmer. Room clean, big, breakfast yummy (I would recommend the hotel add a protein option--yogurt, eggs), good location, quiet, everything worked nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne M.
Business
Los Gatos, California
Feb 22, 2014

Great value

The rooms were very nice, with great beds and bathrooms. Parking was easy, and the kids enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was also better than expected for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey Aquarium is excellent, and we also enjoyed the 17-mile drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fantastic family of four
Business
Monterey, ca
Nov 30, 2013

Great affordable trip

This hotel was perfect for our family of four. Room was extremely clean and roomy. Had a fridge and microwave. Heated pool and complimentary breakfast was an added bonus for my kids. We loved our visit and would stay again if we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top