$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

El Castell Motel

3 stars
View map of 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
81 reviews
Good place to stay -

it was awesome place to stay on the way to SF from LA See full review

  • Natalie Kim
  • Feb 12, 2015
El Castell Motel Review

My boyfriend and I were visiting Monterey for the weekend and weren't looking for anything fancy. I... See full review

  • Set
  • Feb 9, 2015
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Accessible parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 81
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
j.p.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Bedbugs

This place would have been very nice, except the parking was a little lacking and they had bedbugs, we had to try 3 different rooms before we could find one without them, ruined our whole vacation, and they didn't act like they even believed us, but the blisters on my hands and arms were proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Nurse Diver
Business
Lagrange
Jan 7, 2015

Great family trip

This place was easy to find and friendly to me and my children. Great breakfast. The pool was wonderful for kids and me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This was a really nice place. I was surprised. We go to Monterrey a lot and I will be going back here.

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellyn L.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

smelly

the room smelled like dirty mop :/ Not the best thing to sniff on Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfking
Business
Ventura
Dec 17, 2014

Family day trip

Everything looked nice. The room was a bit small and there was a few leftover hairs from their last cleaning. Not what you want to see upon arrival. Other than that the stay was fine. Monterey is so nice it's hard to get down about the small stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Nurse Diver
Business
Sonora, California
Nov 16, 2014

Greatest place in Monterey!

I went with my kids last minute. The pool was open till 10p and warm. The staff have us extra towels. Breakfast was awesome. Waffles, fresh fruit and kerug coffee. I slept like a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouBelle
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 25, 2014

Great Value!

The hotel room was updated and very nice. The value could not be beat. The location was close to the freeway and close to downtown. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a hidden gem. I would stay here again without thinking twice about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CA family guests
Business
California
Sep 4, 2014

Overpriced refurb

Paid more than double what I would have expectedfor a place and location like this. 2 doors down from an adult theater and surrounded by all the liquor stores and cheapest motels in Monterey. It feels like it was recently refurbished. The room was fairly clean, but after crawling around for a few minutes on the floor, my kids had blackened knees and hands. We spent the rest of our stay trying to keep them from touching the carpet. We will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Our summer trip
Business
Monterey, Ca
Jul 27, 2014

Family trip

It was clean and quiet, I slept well and room was insulated well so you don't hear noise from neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KrazyKoolFamBam
Business
Monterey
Jul 12, 2014

Family retreat

Although the rooms were somewhat small this motel was very clean, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deblmax
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 3, 2014

Last Minute Aquarium Trip

At the last minute my children and I decided to go to the Monterey Aquarium. We needed to find a room. With my kids giving their instructions in the background, pool and cable LOL we found this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms were clean and recently redone. The pool was clean and indoor, perfect for our late arrival. It's not much to look at from the outside but this is a real gem. I would recommend this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's wharf to find good seafood and walk the kids after a long drive.

Back to menu Return to top