$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

El Castell Motel

3 stars
2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
74 reviews
Excellent

Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good location. See full review

  • delle
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great rooms

Comfortable hotel. Great value for the price. The staff was very helpful. See full review

  • Traveler Denis
  • Sep 17, 2014
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 74
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JWSF
Business
California
Nov 8, 2014

not satisfied

We stay for only one night. We didn't know why the room lights keep turning off when we were inside. Beds were too soft for us. Bed sheets was old too. We didn't expect much anyway. What you pay is what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smgradman
Business
Santa Monica
Oct 21, 2014

Decent value for Monterey

Poor neighborhood. Not walking distance to anything. But decent price and a clean, comfortable, decent place in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nelly T
Business
Marina CA
Oct 14, 2014

nice cozy rooms

its was great we enjoyed our stay the only issue was was it was somewhat noise y outside a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quinta Luz
Business
Sacramento CA
Sep 22, 2014

Good for Monterey Jazz Festival

El Castell is a good choice for anyone attending the Monterey Jazz Festival. It's just 1 block from the fairgrounds where the festival's held, and another block from the main entrance. Nothing fancy, but rooms are spacious, have undergone some renovation in last couple of years, and include continental breakfast. And the price is usually one of the best among motels near the festival. We've stayed several times. NOTE: If booking for the Jazz Festival, even though the festival's s in September, El Castell and all other nearby motels are usually fully booked before end of February.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sandbar and Grill. Hangs off the municipal pier (not Fisherman's Wharf) looking over the marina. Good food, reasonable prices with nice view & friendly service. ALSO LouLou's, right next door on the pier. Tiny place with an attitude. Sunday breakfast especially good with pancakes bigger than plates, oatmeal broulee (YUM!) and other treats..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler Denis
Business
France
Sep 17, 2014

Great rooms

Comfortable hotel. Great value for the price. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sherry JK
Business
Menlo Park, Ca
Sep 6, 2014

short trip

My husband and I wanted a couple days away and booked this hotel. They put us in a handicapped room (neither of us are). If you are handicapped, I DO NOT recommend this hotel. The only piece of furniture besides a refrig was a small round table and chair. Space was so tight that you couldn't open the door without hitting the chair. The bathroom was very large but no counter space. There was no dresser or place to put suitcases (besides the bed) to get anything out and no place to unpack to. The sink and hanger space (no closet) were lower to the ground but that was one of the few pluses. The breakfast room was too small for the size of the hotel and people were waiting for others to leave to sit. I do not plan on going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went on a whale watch and had an incredible time. I would recommend that experience to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheXGuy
Business
Reno, Nevada
Aug 28, 2014

Good clean hotel

It is a good clean hotel. Great selection for its price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stretches
Business
Monterey/Seaside
Jul 19, 2014

Great Monterey Stay

We had the best experience here. I checked in on line & apparently they were overbooked by the time I got there. (same day, my fault) They really accommodated us by giving us the suite. It was so nice, clean, and remodel. We appreciated the hospitality. Thank you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Pizza place right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rajneesh p
Business
Fremont
Jul 6, 2014

cozy couple get away

Pretty good experience. Great location.Clean room.Had microwave and refrigerator in the room. Standard continental breakfast. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UMPA
Business
Monterey
Jun 19, 2014

Have stayed in better places

The rating should be two stars for this motel. The beds were comfortable, chairs in the room were not in the best condition. The toilet in the bathroom was to low to the floor. Went to the office and asked if they had a room with a toilet that was higher and showed me a room that was worse than the one I was in. I ended up staying in the original room. Next time I won't pay the full price until I see the room first. Overall, I would not recommend or stay in this motel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Centrally located

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top