$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

El Castell Motel

3 stars
2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Great Monterey Stay

We had the best experience here. I checked in on line & apparently they were overbooked by the time... See full review

  • Stretches
  • Jul 19, 2014
Will defenitly go back

This hotel was very clean, close to everything and the staff was great! We had a budget and found... See full review

  • Mom needed a break 22
  • May 19, 2014
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Hotel Map

36.5959 -121.8611
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Located less than 10 minutes away from Monterey Peninsula Airport (MRY).
Area description
The El Castell Motel is located in one of the most accessible areas of the Monterey Peninsula. Conveniently situated near downtown Monterey and County Fairgrounds, the El Castell Motel offers the casual or business traveler the convenience of easy access to all the Peninsula's golf courses, restaurants, attractions, and special event locations. They are also less than 10 minutes away from Cannery Row, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble beach golf links and Carmel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Kim
MD
Feb 8, 2014

good value

Awesome place Love to stay again Will recommend to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anne M.
Los Gatos, California
Feb 22, 2014

Great value

The rooms were very nice, with great beds and bathrooms. Parking was easy, and the kids enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was also better than expected for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey Aquarium is excellent, and we also enjoyed the 17-mile drive.

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nichy
San Francisco, California
May 4, 2014

Honeymoon

Our honeymoon trip to Monterey was a delight. The hotel was in excellent location for us to travel to all local events. Rooms were big enough for2 of us. Clean & crisp sheets, very nice bath room. Parking was easy & had ample parking. Stayed for 3 days had very ice breakfast all 3 days. couldn't believe the variety of foods & also the amount available. to all. Would be returning to this place next time as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Location was ideal for everything you can do when you are on a vacation or in our case Honeymoon.

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
urbtexture
Salt Lake City, Ut
Aug 9, 2010

good value for the money

Right off the freeway, as small as the room we had in Mission Bay, but cleaner, more comfortable, and MUCH nicer!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Monterey Cookhouse is first rate!!

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John
Not Provided
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent value, clean and spacious

Excellent value, clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast area is a bit small but that is only a small issue. I would reccomend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizzieVC
San Leandro, CA
Aug 12, 2013

Nice and clean

El Castell was a cool spot to stay in. Their wasn't as much walking room but it was a good size room for 2. I was surprised it looked new in there and everything was clean. I've been to some places where I'm thinking "it should be cleaner and they're more brand name." It was close to the freeway, about a 10-15 minute drive to Cannery Row, if that, other than that a cool area. Only downside was you could hear your neighbors and some people outside. Reggaefest was going on so I heard the music which didn't let me sleep but other than that it was cool. I thought it was a bit pricey but on a last minute trip I guess its expected. I would for sure come back and stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom needed a break 22
Sonora, california
May 19, 2014

Will defenitly go back

This hotel was very clean, close to everything and the staff was great! We had a budget and found the perfect place to fit our needs. I am very happy with how nice it was and will stay there for sure in our future visits! Recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stretches
Monterey/Seaside
Jul 19, 2014

Great Monterey Stay

We had the best experience here. I checked in on line & apparently they were overbooked by the time I got there. (same day, my fault) They really accommodated us by giving us the suite. It was so nice, clean, and remodel. We appreciated the hospitality. Thank you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Pizza place right next door!

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PankMom
Santa Maria, CA
Mar 4, 2014

Great value

Staff was extremely helpful, even let my kids and I check in super early! Pool was warm for winter, would've enjoyed it a little warmer. Room clean, big, breakfast yummy (I would recommend the hotel add a protein option--yogurt, eggs), good location, quiet, everything worked nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moxie Mama
Bay Area CA
Apr 7, 2014

Worked well for our family

We're a family with 2 kids (elementary school age). The room worked will with 2 queens, a microwave and a small refridgerator. We picked this hotel because the pool was covered and the week was looking like it was going to rain. The pool was cold and I would recommend a hot tub to be added to the pool area. The morning breakfast was in the small lobby and filled up quickly, but there was plenty of cereal, danishes and waffles that you could cook - the kids loved that! The busline was right outside the motel and ran downtown and to the aquarium. The one thing that I did notice is that the walls were thin and I could hear the neighbors talking. Other than that, it was a good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search