$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

El Castell Motel

3 stars
View map of 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nelly T
Business
Marina CA
Oct 14, 2014

nice cozy rooms

its was great we enjoyed our stay the only issue was was it was somewhat noise y outside a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barula
Business
Argentina
Oct 8, 2014

A must return place

Great place, everything was perfect, you park your car at your doorstep, you have the pool right in front of the room. All the place seems well maintained and clean. The breakfast was great also, you have cereals, fruit, muffins, waffles, etc. The location is good, you are at ten minutes of the fisherman coast, and ten minutes from Carmel. I'll get back here with my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach at Carmel

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouBelle
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 25, 2014

Great Value!

The hotel room was updated and very nice. The value could not be beat. The location was close to the freeway and close to downtown. Staff was friendly and helpful. This is a hidden gem. I would stay here again without thinking twice about it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quinta Luz
Business
Sacramento CA
Sep 22, 2014

Good for Monterey Jazz Festival

El Castell is a good choice for anyone attending the Monterey Jazz Festival. It's just 1 block from the fairgrounds where the festival's held, and another block from the main entrance. Nothing fancy, but rooms are spacious, have undergone some renovation in last couple of years, and include continental breakfast. And the price is usually one of the best among motels near the festival. We've stayed several times. NOTE: If booking for the Jazz Festival, even though the festival's s in September, El Castell and all other nearby motels are usually fully booked before end of February.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sandbar and Grill. Hangs off the municipal pier (not Fisherman's Wharf) looking over the marina. Good food, reasonable prices with nice view & friendly service. ALSO LouLou's, right next door on the pier. Tiny place with an attitude. Sunday breakfast especially good with pancakes bigger than plates, oatmeal broulee (YUM!) and other treats..

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler Denis
Business
France
Sep 17, 2014

Great rooms

Comfortable hotel. Great value for the price. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
delle
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 17, 2014

Perfect for our weekend business trip

Rooms where clean and beds where comfortable. Close to plenty of restaurants and the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sherry JK
Business
Menlo Park, Ca
Sep 6, 2014

short trip

My husband and I wanted a couple days away and booked this hotel. They put us in a handicapped room (neither of us are). If you are handicapped, I DO NOT recommend this hotel. The only piece of furniture besides a refrig was a small round table and chair. Space was so tight that you couldn't open the door without hitting the chair. The bathroom was very large but no counter space. There was no dresser or place to put suitcases (besides the bed) to get anything out and no place to unpack to. The sink and hanger space (no closet) were lower to the ground but that was one of the few pluses. The breakfast room was too small for the size of the hotel and people were waiting for others to leave to sit. I do not plan on going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went on a whale watch and had an incredible time. I would recommend that experience to anyone.

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CA family guests
Business
California
Sep 4, 2014

Overpriced refurb

Paid more than double what I would have expectedfor a place and location like this. 2 doors down from an adult theater and surrounded by all the liquor stores and cheapest motels in Monterey. It feels like it was recently refurbished. The room was fairly clean, but after crawling around for a few minutes on the floor, my kids had blackened knees and hands. We spent the rest of our stay trying to keep them from touching the carpet. We will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheXGuy
Business
Reno, Nevada
Aug 28, 2014

Good clean hotel

It is a good clean hotel. Great selection for its price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
caribelife
Business
boise, idaho
Aug 25, 2014

Way Overpriced

While the bed was comfortable and the hotel somewhat updated, it lacked any sparkle and was WAY overpriced. I realize the motel is in Monterey, but seriously, $170/night for a courtyard motel with no real amenities? How about a bit more of a spit shine and more thorough cleaning. Location isn't too far from downtown Monterey, but on a strip of Fremont Blvd. with lots of other motels & an adult bookstore 2 doors down. Not much positive to say for a place that charges such a high tariff. I sure wouldn't be rushing back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top