$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

El Castell Motel

3 stars
2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
62 reviews
Great Monterey Stay

We had the best experience here. I checked in on line & apparently they were overbooked by the time... See full review

  • Stretches
  • Jul 19, 2014
Will defenitly go back

This hotel was very clean, close to everything and the staff was great! We had a budget and found... See full review

  • Mom needed a break 22
  • May 19, 2014
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Hotel Map

36.5959 -121.8611
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
Located less than 10 minutes away from Monterey Peninsula Airport (MRY).
Area description
The El Castell Motel is located in one of the most accessible areas of the Monterey Peninsula. Conveniently situated near downtown Monterey and County Fairgrounds, the El Castell Motel offers the casual or business traveler the convenience of easy access to all the Peninsula's golf courses, restaurants, attractions, and special event locations. They are also less than 10 minutes away from Cannery Row, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble beach golf links and Carmel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Grandparents
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 12, 2012

Fun family getaway to Monterey

The kids enjoyed the pool. The beds were comfortable. A fairly short drive to the main attractions of Monterey. The breakfast area gets a little crowded when everyone is making waffles. Rooms included a microwave and a fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sherry JK
Menlo Park, Ca
Sep 6, 2014

short trip

My husband and I wanted a couple days away and booked this hotel. They put us in a handicapped room (neither of us are). If you are handicapped, I DO NOT recommend this hotel. The only piece of furniture besides a refrig was a small round table and chair. Space was so tight that you couldn't open the door without hitting the chair. The bathroom was very large but no counter space. There was no dresser or place to put suitcases (besides the bed) to get anything out and no place to unpack to. The sink and hanger space (no closet) were lower to the ground but that was one of the few pluses. The breakfast room was too small for the size of the hotel and people were waiting for others to leave to sit. I do not plan on going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went on a whale watch and had an incredible time. I would recommend that experience to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CA family guests
California
Sep 4, 2014

Overpriced refurb

Paid more than double what I would have expectedfor a place and location like this. 2 doors down from an adult theater and surrounded by all the liquor stores and cheapest motels in Monterey. It feels like it was recently refurbished. The room was fairly clean, but after crawling around for a few minutes on the floor, my kids had blackened knees and hands. We spent the rest of our stay trying to keep them from touching the carpet. We will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheXGuy
Reno, Nevada
Aug 28, 2014

Good clean hotel

It is a good clean hotel. Great selection for its price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
caribelife
Business
boise, idaho
Aug 25, 2014

Way Overpriced

While the bed was comfortable and the hotel somewhat updated, it lacked any sparkle and was WAY overpriced. I realize the motel is in Monterey, but seriously, $170/night for a courtyard motel with no real amenities? How about a bit more of a spit shine and more thorough cleaning. Location isn't too far from downtown Monterey, but on a strip of Fremont Blvd. with lots of other motels & an adult bookstore 2 doors down. Not much positive to say for a place that charges such a high tariff. I sure wouldn't be rushing back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave A. S.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Aug 23, 2014

Monterey Bay trip

This property was good price and location for visiting Monterey Bay to see the whales. Harbor is only a couple of miles away and easy to get to from this location. Also convenient to Highway 1.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Our summer trip
Monterey, Ca
Jul 27, 2014

Family trip

It was clean and quiet, I slept well and room was insulated well so you don't hear noise from neighbors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stretches
Monterey/Seaside
Jul 19, 2014

Great Monterey Stay

We had the best experience here. I checked in on line & apparently they were overbooked by the time I got there. (same day, my fault) They really accommodated us by giving us the suite. It was so nice, clean, and remodel. We appreciated the hospitality. Thank you,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Pizza place right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rajneesh p
Fremont
Jul 6, 2014

cozy couple get away

Pretty good experience. Great location.Clean room.Had microwave and refrigerator in the room. Standard continental breakfast. Nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deblmax
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jul 3, 2014

Last Minute Aquarium Trip

At the last minute my children and I decided to go to the Monterey Aquarium. We needed to find a room. With my kids giving their instructions in the background, pool and cable LOL we found this hotel. It was perfect. The rooms were clean and recently redone. The pool was clean and indoor, perfect for our late arrival. It's not much to look at from the outside but this is a real gem. I would recommend this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's wharf to find good seafood and walk the kids after a long drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mendo2Mtry2LA
LA
Jul 2, 2014

Mendocino 2 Monterey 2 LA

Very good. Nice décor. All 3 rooms ready and as promised

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search