$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

El Castell Motel

3 stars
2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
78 reviews
Great family trip

This place was easy to find and friendly to me and my children. Great breakfast. The pool was... See full review

  • Mom Nurse Diver
  • Jan 7, 2015
Greatest place in Monterey!

I went with my kids last minute. The pool was open till 10p and warm. The staff have us extra... See full review

  • Mom Nurse Diver
  • Nov 16, 2014
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Grandparents
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 12, 2012

Fun family getaway to Monterey

The kids enjoyed the pool. The beds were comfortable. A fairly short drive to the main attractions of Monterey. The breakfast area gets a little crowded when everyone is making waffles. Rooms included a microwave and a fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Nurse Diver
Business
Lagrange
Jan 7, 2015

Great family trip

This place was easy to find and friendly to me and my children. Great breakfast. The pool was wonderful for kids and me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This was a really nice place. I was surprised. We go to Monterrey a lot and I will be going back here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellyn L.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

smelly

the room smelled like dirty mop :/ Not the best thing to sniff on Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie V.
Business
Houston
Dec 29, 2014

Fun Vacation

The hotel was in a good location and reasonably priced. AC did not work at all and window did not provide much circulation. when we complained, no action was taken even though each time they said they would have someone check it. I understand that other rooms AC did work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friendly Farang
Business
Monroe
Dec 23, 2014

Reasonable room near Big Sur

If you are looking for a budget hotel near Monterey and Big Sur you can't do much better than this. Rooms are very clean, brand new carpeting, no pealing wallpaper or cracks in the walls, bathrooms are clean and in decent shape, Keurig machine is a bonus. It is right down the street from the 1 South exit to downtown Monterey and the Big Sur coast. My only complaint was that the local TV stations were staticky but still watchable. The other cable channels were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfking
Business
Ventura
Dec 17, 2014

Family day trip

Everything looked nice. The room was a bit small and there was a few leftover hairs from their last cleaning. Not what you want to see upon arrival. Other than that the stay was fine. Monterey is so nice it's hard to get down about the small stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Nurse Diver
Business
Sonora, California
Nov 16, 2014

Greatest place in Monterey!

I went with my kids last minute. The pool was open till 10p and warm. The staff have us extra towels. Breakfast was awesome. Waffles, fresh fruit and kerug coffee. I slept like a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Here for work
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Nov 9, 2014

Here for work

Stay at this hotel was good. Convenient location close to food and near freeway. Quiet and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JWSF
Business
California
Nov 8, 2014

not satisfied

We stay for only one night. We didn't know why the room lights keep turning off when we were inside. Beds were too soft for us. Bed sheets was old too. We didn't expect much anyway. What you pay is what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
delle
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 3, 2014

Excellent

Room was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiwi G
Business
New Zealand
Oct 26, 2014

Disaster in Monterey

Very disappointing stay, due to the filthy floor, which literally made my flip flops dirty! You could barely get into the free continental breakfast because of the lack of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast somewhere else!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top