$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

El Castell Motel

3 stars
View map of 2102 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
81 reviews
Good place to stay -

it was awesome place to stay on the way to SF from LA See full review

  • Natalie Kim
  • Feb 12, 2015
El Castell Motel Review

My boyfriend and I were visiting Monterey for the weekend and weren't looking for anything fancy. I... See full review

  • Set
  • Feb 9, 2015
The El Castell Motel is an exquisite lodge located in one of the most beautiful areas in the world, Monterey. The lodge features an indoor seasonally heated pool, continental breakfast, business center and free wifi access. All 48 rooms have been recently remodeled and feature LCD TVs. The lodge is 100% nonsmoking. The hotel also offers free breakfast.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Castell Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Castell Motel Rooms

Deluxe room 2 pax
Deluxe 1 Queen bed with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV including HBO and ESPN
Deluxe Room 4 pax
Deluxe 2 Queen beds with nonsmoking room with free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, refrigerator and microwave. 32in LCD cable TV with HBO and ESPN.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Accessible parking

Dining

Monterey Cookhouse
Located across the street, The Monterey Cookhouse is part of a movement towards homeade, fresh and natural cuisine, slow cooked from scratch. Their "comfort cuisine' ranges from casual to fine dining. You may feast on a hearty platter of fried chicken, or a gourmet rib eye,wood fired, and served on a bed of mashed potatoes and green beans,and slathered in a red wine reduction.
Caruso's Corner Restaurant
Also located across the street, Caruso's Corner Restaurant is an Italian restaurant, named one of the best in the peninsula.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for El Castell Motel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Grandparents
Salt Lake City, UT
Aug 12, 2012

Fun family getaway to Monterey

The kids enjoyed the pool. The beds were comfortable. A fairly short drive to the main attractions of Monterey. The breakfast area gets a little crowded when everyone is making waffles. Rooms included a microwave and a fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotelpro
Business
San Francisco
May 23, 2015

short stay

overall the hotel offers what you expect from that kind of hotels. It's fairly clean and you get the basic necessities. The wifi was very slow though which could've been a problem if i had stayed longer. Breakfast could be better but it's free so can't really complain. It's a good place to rest for a night or 2 at a good price when visiting the region.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arcenio
Business
Redwood City
May 3, 2015

Avoid at all costs

In a sketchy neighborhood where trucks and motorcycles are parked in a packed lot. This is a motel that they tried to renovate to bring up the stars but if you are familiar with Holiday Inn or Best Western, this motel trying to be a hotel, does not come close to those other competitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
j.p.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

Bedbugs

This place would have been very nice, except the parking was a little lacking and they had bedbugs, we had to try 3 different rooms before we could find one without them, ruined our whole vacation, and they didn't act like they even believed us, but the blisters on my hands and arms were proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARIA Y.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Nice and clean Will recomend

Will stay again , breakfast they continue bringing out till everyone got served,, nice and courteous staff., good location, fair price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natalie Kim
Business
Ellicott city
Feb 12, 2015

Good place to stay -

it was awesome place to stay on the way to SF from LA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Set
Business
Lafayette
Feb 9, 2015

El Castell Motel Review

My boyfriend and I were visiting Monterey for the weekend and weren't looking for anything fancy. I am always a bit nervous about booking motels or hotels because sometimes they are very hit or miss (or just downright nasty). I am SO happy that El Castell completely blew away expectations. The room was clean and neat, no dirty bits or stains, the bed was comfy (for a bed that wasn't home), service was polite, there was parking for everyone, and amenities were your usual fare. Breakfast was okay/good. Yogurt, cereal, fruit, waffles, and hard boiled eggs.There were a lot of people so I'm glad we woke up early! We had to drive to get to downtown Monterey though, so paying for parking is something to consider. Not too sure about the neighborhood surrounding it though, but I'm probably being to sensitive. Overall, VERY satisfied with our experience, and will definitely stay here again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom Nurse Diver
Business
Lagrange
Jan 7, 2015

Great family trip

This place was easy to find and friendly to me and my children. Great breakfast. The pool was wonderful for kids and me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This was a really nice place. I was surprised. We go to Monterrey a lot and I will be going back here.

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellyn L.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

smelly

the room smelled like dirty mop :/ Not the best thing to sniff on Christmas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Connie V.
Business
Houston
Dec 29, 2014

Fun Vacation

The hotel was in a good location and reasonably priced. AC did not work at all and window did not provide much circulation. when we complained, no action was taken even though each time they said they would have someone check it. I understand that other rooms AC did work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Castell Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friendly Farang
Business
Monroe
Dec 23, 2014

Reasonable room near Big Sur

If you are looking for a budget hotel near Monterey and Big Sur you can't do much better than this. Rooms are very clean, brand new carpeting, no pealing wallpaper or cracks in the walls, bathrooms are clean and in decent shape, Keurig machine is a bonus. It is right down the street from the 1 South exit to downtown Monterey and the Big Sur coast. My only complaint was that the local TV stations were staticky but still watchable. The other cable channels were fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top