$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
48 reviews
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 5, 2011
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Hotel Map

36.5953 -121.8646
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 1.00, MI, N; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 60.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 120.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, Aquarium 2 Mi.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 48
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of V
Business
Monterey, CA
Aug 21, 2014

Clean and Convenient

It was clean and convenient, but nothing special. I booked the hotel for my dad and his girlfriend, because it was close to my house and the cheapest I could find. I expected a little bit more, for the price, but wasn't sorely disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Cook House is a quick walk and has good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mpham
Business
La Habra, California
Jan 10, 2014

Don't stay there! Will ruin your vacation

I've been through cheap hotel before, but this one is horrible. For start, the Indian receptionist was not friendly at all. She was hardly smile or try to be helpful.... The location was far away from the beach and very near to the local airport - so don't expect to have peaceful nite. Anyway, the minute we walked in to the room, we wanted to back out (We should but we afraid that we can not book another hotel at the last minutes so we decided to hang on to it). Anyway the smell of the pinesol fill in the whole entire room. We felt like we at one of the hospital. Everything in the room were old. We will never stay with Econo Loge at any where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conchita HP
Business
Sacramento, CA
Dec 2, 2013

monterey

ok stay for the price at this location. there was quite a lot of noice coming from the street traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redlands
Business
Redlands, CA
Sep 18, 2013

road trip

We only had to stay for one night so for the amount of time we were there it was a good value. Had i needed to stay more than one night I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and it was located very near the tourist part of Monterey Bay. However the room was fairly small...so small that the TV and dresser cannot fit at the foot of the bed. So the furniture was oddly arranged in order to fit it all in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dad and mom letting their
Business
Fresno, ca
Jul 15, 2013

A good value

It was clean, and they had just replaced the mattresses in all the rooms!! Motel is about 10 minutes or less to fishermens ward and cannery row, and restaurants. My only complaint is the rooms up front which is where we stayed you could heard the cars going by on the street, but the street noise wasn't to bad as the night went on.I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhFe
Business
Northern California
Feb 15, 2013

Comfortable

We had everything we needed. The toilet flushed by itself on a regular basis and the bed was a bit too bouncy, but the room was warm, the hot water in the shower was excellent. I would like to see bagles or something not sweet for breakfast. Fruit loops, frosted flakes, and sweet rolls do not provide protein. There was not even any cream cheese. So the breakfast buffet was lacking. Still, I appreciated most everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC779
Business
Visalia Ca
Jan 27, 2013

WEEKEND GETAWAY

GOOD LOCATION CLEAN NO PROBLEMS. I WOULD STAY AGAIN,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zohreh
Business
Danvill, California
Nov 14, 2012

weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a more quite room away from the street and even though we had a reservation for queen bed she upgraded us to a more quite room with king bed. the room was clean and had a refrigerator , microwave and a coffeemaker very good for the price.Hotel provided breakfast which was really reasonable for its price. loved it , great deal and will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
visitor august
Business
monterey,ca
Sep 27, 2012

Clean sheets

Just the usual ordinary hotel but very clean,it would had help to have hair conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginger
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Just Ok

Close to Monterey but in serious need of room make overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Monterey Bay area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top