$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
47 reviews
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 5, 2011
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Hotel Map

36.5953 -121.8646
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 1.00, MI, N; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 60.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 120.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, Aquarium 2 Mi.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mpham
La Habra, California
Jan 10, 2014

Don't stay there! Will ruin your vacation

I've been through cheap hotel before, but this one is horrible. For start, the Indian receptionist was not friendly at all. She was hardly smile or try to be helpful.... The location was far away from the beach and very near to the local airport - so don't expect to have peaceful nite. Anyway, the minute we walked in to the room, we wanted to back out (We should but we afraid that we can not book another hotel at the last minutes so we decided to hang on to it). Anyway the smell of the pinesol fill in the whole entire room. We felt like we at one of the hospital. Everything in the room were old. We will never stay with Econo Loge at any where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Twadec
Lancaster, ca
Oct 8, 2013

Monterey getaway

Nice and located close to everything but that's as good as it gets. Stayed two nights, we where on the first floor out of two. Could not sleep either night., to much noise from people up stairs, don't think they were out of hand just an old building with NOTHING to stop the noise between first and second story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

17 mile drive

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lacrosse Dude
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2014

The Worst!

Though I have stayed at this budget motel in the past, things have greatly declined since my last visit. My room had stains in the carpet and broken furniture. The Wi-Fi did not allow for login. The biggest problem I had was that both days I was there, I left a time for a wake-up call with the desk (there are no alarm clocks in the rooms). Both days I woke up on my own a half hour after the time I had left with the desk the night before. For very little more money, much better budget accommodations can be found on Munras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Qteepie
Sacramento, CA
Aug 15, 2014

Not a Great Place

I arrived at 3 p.m. and my room was not ready. My reservation said I could check in at 3 p.m. I was told to come back in a half of hour. When I went to take a shower in the a.m. I noticed the shower curtain had mold on the bottom of it and the shower head leaked. I reported it and it got taken care of. This place was not that clean. The breakfast was the bare minimum stuff, no bagels, peanut butter or cream cheese - just coffee. 2 kinds of juices, wheat bread, and pastries .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bicycles Girl
Santa Barbara, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Needs Repairs

Good: Manager, flowers in front, heater worked, safe Bad: Permitted 36 hour rave directly behind my room at fairground afforded me NO sleep. Bathroom door didn't close, room smelled like cat spray, one meter square hole in ceiling being unprofessionally repaired and unpainted and fresh toxin smell in the first room offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring bikes for short drive to coastal bike path

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginger
Fresno, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

trip to monterey

The place was ok...good location to the wharf, aquarium, and tide pools. The breakfast was not worth the money you pay for the motel and the rooms were a bit run down. Overall it was just ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelPacker
CA
Nov 13, 2011

Unfriendly staff at Econolodge Monterey, CA

Unfriendly staff at Econolodge Monterey, CA. Was complained when asked for a couple of forks when checked in. Very impolite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Top secret
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 25, 2011

OK....

It's not the hotel's fault that they are located on the 'main drag' (too much traffic). I specifically asked my agent to find a hotel with an open whirlpool/pool either in or outdoors. When we got to this one, they said their whirlpool was closed. The whole previous week we stayed at hotels and everyone else's hottub/pool was open. We would have picked a 'cheaper' hotel if we knew we would not have the option of a tub and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

it was minutes to the airport,and with an early flight, 6:30 and the need to check in even earlier, this was perfect!

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KATHY SPIDER BITE
lemoore california
Sep 16, 2013

spider

everything ok nothing out of the ordinary escept one thing my wife got bitten by a spider on her face and arms. she went in and show the front desk and she call the boss and the boss said he counldn't do nothing about it. all they did is knock down the spider web in the room. that didn't help knocking down the spider web because she got bitten again that night when sleeping and woke up with more spider bits on her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KATHY SPIDER BITE
lemoore california
Sep 15, 2013

SPIDER ROOM

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD EXCEPT I GOT BITTEN BY A SPIDER. SHOWED AND TOLDED THE HOTEL PEOPLE ALND THEY DIDN'T DO NOTHING ABOUT IT EXCEPT WENT AND KNOCK DOWN THE SPIDER WEBS IN THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search