$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
48 reviews
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 5, 2011
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara CA
Nov 27, 2010

good value

Stayed in the area before; Thanksgiving w/family event. Room was clean and good value for price. Not fancy, but at this price, not expected. Staff rarely at desk and somewhat rude to my daughter at check in though I had no similar experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

unit was priced right.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma, CA
Jun 14, 2010

Econo Lodge, Monterey

Have stayed here before. Excellent hotel for the price and location. Always clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Chinese and an excellent Italian restaurant within 1 block of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland Oregon
Oct 11, 2009

Routine stay every year for ALMS

Can't beat the location and the prices. More than enough good restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
motorweeker
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 16, 2009

practical location in and out to the are

While attending the monterey motor week we used the hotell. The location was convenient with easy access to HWY 1 in both directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the time and travel to Carmel Valley for breakfast at the Running Iron restaurant or dinner at any of the great restaurants there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno, ca
Aug 5, 2009

quite the deal

just needed a relief from the heat, so looked for the cheapest hotel available. This was it. We were really surprised, the rooms were spotless, ok decor and smelled great. Customer servcice was fine, but hotel is under airport flight plans and there was constant air traffic until about 9pm. Walking distance to the fairgrounds and short distance to monterey wharf, cannery row, etc. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

del monte mall was a short drive from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
So Cal
Aug 3, 2009

I Love Monterey!

We were there to help our college daughter move from one apartment to another. The location was great the room was comfortable and quiet. Price was fair. My only complaint was that the check in staff were not very friendly. I would stay again if it was the best price we could get for a comparable place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

At Bubba Gump's you can call in your reservation. The atmosphere there is fun and welcoming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salinas, CA
May 26, 2009

Happy Customer :)

It was the perfect location to Monterey downtown. It was 5 minutes away to everything. The rooms were clean and simple. I enjoyed my stay :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento, ca
May 25, 2009

Will not return

The good: We called for directions and the employee/owner was willing to help us with accurate directions. The hotel is attractive from the outside, with lots of flowers and plants. The bad: The lobby and rooms smell dingy and stuffy. The employee/owner at the front desk was slow, solemn and unfriendly. The beds were uncomfortable. Breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, toast and pastries - cut in half :/ We felt that this hotel was not a good value. We paid a lot for a pretty sub-par room. We won't return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top