$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
47 reviews
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 5, 2011
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Hotel Map

36.5953 -121.8646
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 1.00, MI, N; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 60.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 120.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, Aquarium 2 Mi.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Live Oak, CA
Aug 5, 2011

Nice place to stay

Great place to stay for the price. will be back again will tell friends of Econa inn nice place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food places to eat.

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
katykate
gilroy, ca
Aug 1, 2011

ok...overpriced on weekends

What we did:snorkeling at Lover's Point, kayaking with Monterey Bay Kayaks, MBAQ (5 star destination...do not miss it), shopping, dining at the Fishwife. Reggae Festival was at the fairgrounds :-) KITCHENETTE WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE FOR A LONG STAY. Usually stay at Residence inn...much nicer. Bed was way too soft/carpet needed shampooing...made white socks turn black.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the aquarium.

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pilota 23
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2011

A place to sleep. Not much more.

Location is convenient, and staff is friendly, and the cleaning staff did a good job, but if you're looking to impress your lady, this is not the place to do it. It's a no frills, nothing fancy, place to spend the night, but not much more. Our room smelled musty, and the motel is old and could use some renovation. The prices would be high anywhere else, but this is Monterey, (where price gouging is the norm), and there are only a scant selection of places cheaper than this. The continental breakfast just barely meets the minimum standard. The bottom line is that if you're looking for a cheap motel, you may want to consider this place, otherwise it shouldn't be difficult to find a nicer place to stay. I would hesitate to recommend this place to all but those of us on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland,CA
Jul 7, 2011

large quiet room, well appointed

My grandson enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was satisfactory. Would definitely return to this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey's Fish House

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
fresno ca
May 24, 2011

family vacation

all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to acuarium

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Hotel was clean, comfortable, and cheap!

Clean, spacious rooms. The only complaint: we could hear the footsteps of people staying above us on the second floor. At first, our room was cold, but immediately after we visited the front desk to request help, an employee was dispatched to solve the problem for us. The hosts there are friendly and helpful. Fantastic deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cato, NY
Apr 5, 2011

Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant experience. The morning breakfast was minimal but the room and furnishings were great. The Pool and Hot tub were clean and enjoyed after a long day of sightseeing. We were especially pleased to actually get both a refrigerator and a microwave. Something promised but not delivered by other hotel chains we has stayed at. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would have stayed longer if we had not already booked our next destination. We fully intend to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cordawg
Pleasant Hill, CA
Apr 4, 2011

Not too Shabby

We arrived to Monterey earlier than expected and the hotel staff was kind enough to let us check in early with no questions asked. We laughed a little at the room decor because none of it matched, but that is to be expected from an economy hotel. We decided to walk to fisherman's wharf from the Econolodge, which turned out to be a much longer walk than expected but it was a nice way to see the city. Overall, it is a good value to stay here. Nothing fancy, but nothing to complain about. Who spends much time inside the hotel anyways when you have such beautiful scenery to take in?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Sly McFly's bar for live music and great people watching.

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, Ca
Jan 2, 2011

Decent Motel

This was the best price we could find for our weekend trip to monterey. For what I paid I was happy. It was a basic motel room, very clean and everything was in working order. It was very conveniently located to restaurants,freeway and all the attractions in Monterey. It is near the airport so you will hear airplanes fly by every once in a while, though it occurred only a couples times during our stay and was not bad. If I needed a cheap place to stay in Monterey again I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
santa barbara CA
Nov 27, 2010

good value

Stayed in the area before; Thanksgiving w/family event. Room was clean and good value for price. Not fancy, but at this price, not expected. Staff rarely at desk and somewhat rude to my daughter at check in though I had no similar experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

unit was priced right.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search