$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
View map of 2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginger
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

trip to monterey

The place was ok...good location to the wharf, aquarium, and tide pools. The breakfast was not worth the money you pay for the motel and the rooms were a bit run down. Overall it was just ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bicycles Girl
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Aug 8, 2011

Needs Repairs

Good: Manager, flowers in front, heater worked, safe Bad: Permitted 36 hour rave directly behind my room at fairground afforded me NO sleep. Bathroom door didn't close, room smelled like cat spray, one meter square hole in ceiling being unprofessionally repaired and unpainted and fresh toxin smell in the first room offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring bikes for short drive to coastal bike path

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
have not idea
Aug 6, 2011

not good not bad

Nothing exceptional but the price was good for a bed and shower was all I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Live Oak, CA
Aug 5, 2011

Nice place to stay

Great place to stay for the price. will be back again will tell friends of Econa inn nice place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
katykate
Business
gilroy, ca
Aug 1, 2011

ok...overpriced on weekends

What we did:snorkeling at Lover's Point, kayaking with Monterey Bay Kayaks, MBAQ (5 star destination...do not miss it), shopping, dining at the Fishwife. Reggae Festival was at the fairgrounds :-) KITCHENETTE WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE FOR A LONG STAY. Usually stay at Residence inn...much nicer. Bed was way too soft/carpet needed shampooing...made white socks turn black.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the aquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pilota 23
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2011

A place to sleep. Not much more.

Location is convenient, and staff is friendly, and the cleaning staff did a good job, but if you're looking to impress your lady, this is not the place to do it. It's a no frills, nothing fancy, place to spend the night, but not much more. Our room smelled musty, and the motel is old and could use some renovation. The prices would be high anywhere else, but this is Monterey, (where price gouging is the norm), and there are only a scant selection of places cheaper than this. The continental breakfast just barely meets the minimum standard. The bottom line is that if you're looking for a cheap motel, you may want to consider this place, otherwise it shouldn't be difficult to find a nicer place to stay. I would hesitate to recommend this place to all but those of us on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland,CA
Jul 7, 2011

large quiet room, well appointed

My grandson enjoyed the pool. Breakfast was satisfactory. Would definitely return to this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey's Fish House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno ca
May 24, 2011

family vacation

all good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

short drive to acuarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Hotel was clean, comfortable, and cheap!

Clean, spacious rooms. The only complaint: we could hear the footsteps of people staying above us on the second floor. At first, our room was cold, but immediately after we visited the front desk to request help, an employee was dispatched to solve the problem for us. The hosts there are friendly and helpful. Fantastic deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cato, NY
Apr 5, 2011

Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant experience. The morning breakfast was minimal but the room and furnishings were great. The Pool and Hot tub were clean and enjoyed after a long day of sightseeing. We were especially pleased to actually get both a refrigerator and a microwave. Something promised but not delivered by other hotel chains we has stayed at. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would have stayed longer if we had not already booked our next destination. We fully intend to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top