$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
View map of 2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhFe
Couples
Northern California
Feb 15, 2013

Comfortable

We had everything we needed. The toilet flushed by itself on a regular basis and the bed was a bit too bouncy, but the room was warm, the hot water in the shower was excellent. I would like to see bagles or something not sweet for breakfast. Fruit loops, frosted flakes, and sweet rolls do not provide protein. There was not even any cream cheese. So the breakfast buffet was lacking. Still, I appreciated most everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC779
Couples
Visalia Ca
Jan 27, 2013

WEEKEND GETAWAY

GOOD LOCATION CLEAN NO PROBLEMS. I WOULD STAY AGAIN,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zohreh
Couples
Danvill, California
Nov 14, 2012

weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a more quite room away from the street and even though we had a reservation for queen bed she upgraded us to a more quite room with king bed. the room was clean and had a refrigerator , microwave and a coffeemaker very good for the price.Hotel provided breakfast which was really reasonable for its price. loved it , great deal and will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
visitor august
Couples
monterey,ca
Sep 27, 2012

Clean sheets

Just the usual ordinary hotel but very clean,it would had help to have hair conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginger
Couples
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Just Ok

Close to Monterey but in serious need of room make overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Monterey Bay area

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Top secret
Couples
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 25, 2011

OK....

It's not the hotel's fault that they are located on the 'main drag' (too much traffic). I specifically asked my agent to find a hotel with an open whirlpool/pool either in or outdoors. When we got to this one, they said their whirlpool was closed. The whole previous week we stayed at hotels and everyone else's hottub/pool was open. We would have picked a 'cheaper' hotel if we knew we would not have the option of a tub and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

it was minutes to the airport,and with an early flight, 6:30 and the need to check in even earlier, this was perfect!

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelPacker
Friends
CA
Nov 13, 2011

Their breakfast is Nothing

Do Not expext anything for breakfast other than some old pieces of bread and old coffee. No milk or juice provided. Also was complained by the staff when asked for a couple of plastic forks when checked in. Not worth the value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelPacker
Friends
CA
Nov 13, 2011

Unfriendly staff at Econolodge Monterey, CA

Unfriendly staff at Econolodge Monterey, CA. Was complained when asked for a couple of forks when checked in. Very impolite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jawa
Business
Sun City, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Ok room for the price

Staff was nice and the room was clean. The breakfast could have had more options. The location is close to everything you need to do in Monterey. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theparanoids
Couples
San Diego, California
Oct 13, 2011

Good value, nothing special

Nice building with flowers, rooms very small but clean. Nothing special at all, but very good price for a comfortable stay very close to everything in Monterey. Only strange thing: they charge you 2 USD/day for the safe and yo can get the money back (it that works.....) if yoz don't use the safe (How will the know...?)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top