$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
View map of 2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lacrosse Dude
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 1, 2014

The Worst!

Though I have stayed at this budget motel in the past, things have greatly declined since my last visit. My room had stains in the carpet and broken furniture. The Wi-Fi did not allow for login. The biggest problem I had was that both days I was there, I left a time for a wake-up call with the desk (there are no alarm clocks in the rooms). Both days I woke up on my own a half hour after the time I had left with the desk the night before. For very little more money, much better budget accommodations can be found on Munras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Loner Luke
Business
California
Jun 20, 2014

Goods and bads

First the goods: this hotel has one of the warmest pools I've ever been in, as well as an interesting hot tub. The staff are nice, and the breakfast is ok. Moreover, the rates are pretty darn cheap. Now the bads: I've stayed here twice, and the last time was an accident (In my haste, I thought I was booking the Travel Lodge next door). I doubt I will stay here again although I appreciate a warm pool (there are a few in the area that have indoor or well-heated outdoor pools). The room I got the second time was barely okay. The first room I got was very depressing, not only because I had to get the staff to help getting the old lamps to work, but also because the room is just cheap inside. Furthermore, the connecting door was right by the bed, and there was a big storage thing in the parking spaces in front of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are two good gyms within walking distance of this area/the Fairgrounds.

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mpham
Business
La Habra, California
Jan 10, 2014

Don't stay there! Will ruin your vacation

I've been through cheap hotel before, but this one is horrible. For start, the Indian receptionist was not friendly at all. She was hardly smile or try to be helpful.... The location was far away from the beach and very near to the local airport - so don't expect to have peaceful nite. Anyway, the minute we walked in to the room, we wanted to back out (We should but we afraid that we can not book another hotel at the last minutes so we decided to hang on to it). Anyway the smell of the pinesol fill in the whole entire room. We felt like we at one of the hospital. Everything in the room were old. We will never stay with Econo Loge at any where.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conchita HP
Business
Sacramento, CA
Dec 2, 2013

monterey

ok stay for the price at this location. there was quite a lot of noice coming from the street traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Twadec
Business
Lancaster, ca
Oct 8, 2013

Monterey getaway

Nice and located close to everything but that's as good as it gets. Stayed two nights, we where on the first floor out of two. Could not sleep either night., to much noise from people up stairs, don't think they were out of hand just an old building with NOTHING to stop the noise between first and second story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

17 mile drive

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redlands
Business
Redlands, CA
Sep 18, 2013

road trip

We only had to stay for one night so for the amount of time we were there it was a good value. Had i needed to stay more than one night I probably wouldn't recommend the hotel. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and it was located very near the tourist part of Monterey Bay. However the room was fairly small...so small that the TV and dresser cannot fit at the foot of the bed. So the furniture was oddly arranged in order to fit it all in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KATHY SPIDER BITE
Business
lemoore california
Sep 16, 2013

spider

everything ok nothing out of the ordinary escept one thing my wife got bitten by a spider on her face and arms. she went in and show the front desk and she call the boss and the boss said he counldn't do nothing about it. all they did is knock down the spider web in the room. that didn't help knocking down the spider web because she got bitten again that night when sleeping and woke up with more spider bits on her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KATHY SPIDER BITE
Business
lemoore california
Sep 15, 2013

SPIDER ROOM

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD EXCEPT I GOT BITTEN BY A SPIDER. SHOWED AND TOLDED THE HOTEL PEOPLE ALND THEY DIDN'T DO NOTHING ABOUT IT EXCEPT WENT AND KNOCK DOWN THE SPIDER WEBS IN THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dad and mom letting their
Business
Fresno, ca
Jul 15, 2013

A good value

It was clean, and they had just replaced the mattresses in all the rooms!! Motel is about 10 minutes or less to fishermens ward and cannery row, and restaurants. My only complaint is the rooms up front which is where we stayed you could heard the cars going by on the street, but the street noise wasn't to bad as the night went on.I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nomomleftindoors
Business
California
Apr 6, 2013

Nice for the price, could beef up security though...

For an inexpensive hotel, it was fine. The door lock was not strong, and the bathroom window in the back was not secured. For women staying alone, not the best. Security needs to be improved. Beds were hard...don't know why recently hotel beds have gone to these much harder beds...no matter the rating of the hotel. Breakfast was sufficient, but not remarkable. For the traveler wanting cheap but no frills, this hotel works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay in-town Monterey, you can save on high parking costs for Aquarium downtown.

Back to menu Return to top