$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
48 reviews
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
Had a wonderful time

We spent 4 days here sightseeing Monterey and area. Our stay at the Econolodge was a very pleasant... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 5, 2011
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KATHY SPIDER BITE
Business
lemoore california
Sep 15, 2013

SPIDER ROOM

EVERYTHING WAS GOOD EXCEPT I GOT BITTEN BY A SPIDER. SHOWED AND TOLDED THE HOTEL PEOPLE ALND THEY DIDN'T DO NOTHING ABOUT IT EXCEPT WENT AND KNOCK DOWN THE SPIDER WEBS IN THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dad and mom letting their
Business
Fresno, ca
Jul 15, 2013

A good value

It was clean, and they had just replaced the mattresses in all the rooms!! Motel is about 10 minutes or less to fishermens ward and cannery row, and restaurants. My only complaint is the rooms up front which is where we stayed you could heard the cars going by on the street, but the street noise wasn't to bad as the night went on.I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nomomleftindoors
Business
California
Apr 6, 2013

Nice for the price, could beef up security though...

For an inexpensive hotel, it was fine. The door lock was not strong, and the bathroom window in the back was not secured. For women staying alone, not the best. Security needs to be improved. Beds were hard...don't know why recently hotel beds have gone to these much harder beds...no matter the rating of the hotel. Breakfast was sufficient, but not remarkable. For the traveler wanting cheap but no frills, this hotel works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay in-town Monterey, you can save on high parking costs for Aquarium downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhFe
Business
Northern California
Feb 15, 2013

Comfortable

We had everything we needed. The toilet flushed by itself on a regular basis and the bed was a bit too bouncy, but the room was warm, the hot water in the shower was excellent. I would like to see bagles or something not sweet for breakfast. Fruit loops, frosted flakes, and sweet rolls do not provide protein. There was not even any cream cheese. So the breakfast buffet was lacking. Still, I appreciated most everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC779
Business
Visalia Ca
Jan 27, 2013

WEEKEND GETAWAY

GOOD LOCATION CLEAN NO PROBLEMS. I WOULD STAY AGAIN,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zohreh
Business
Danvill, California
Nov 14, 2012

weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a more quite room away from the street and even though we had a reservation for queen bed she upgraded us to a more quite room with king bed. the room was clean and had a refrigerator , microwave and a coffeemaker very good for the price.Hotel provided breakfast which was really reasonable for its price. loved it , great deal and will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
visitor august
Business
monterey,ca
Sep 27, 2012

Clean sheets

Just the usual ordinary hotel but very clean,it would had help to have hair conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginger
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Just Ok

Close to Monterey but in serious need of room make overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Monterey Bay area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Top secret
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 25, 2011

OK....

It's not the hotel's fault that they are located on the 'main drag' (too much traffic). I specifically asked my agent to find a hotel with an open whirlpool/pool either in or outdoors. When we got to this one, they said their whirlpool was closed. The whole previous week we stayed at hotels and everyone else's hottub/pool was open. We would have picked a 'cheaper' hotel if we knew we would not have the option of a tub and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

it was minutes to the airport,and with an early flight, 6:30 and the need to check in even earlier, this was perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelPacker
Business
CA
Nov 13, 2011

Their breakfast is Nothing

Do Not expext anything for breakfast other than some old pieces of bread and old coffee. No milk or juice provided. Also was complained by the staff when asked for a couple of plastic forks when checked in. Not worth the value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top