$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

2 stars
2042 N. Fremont St., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
65 reviews
Comfortable

We had everything we needed. The toilet flushed by itself on a regular basis and the bed was a bit... See full review

  • WhFe
  • Feb 15, 2013
weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a... See full review

  • Zohreh
  • Nov 14, 2012
The Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from the Monterey Fairgrounds. This Monterey hotel is minutes away from attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Pebble Beach, 17-mile Drive, the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. Guests are invited to enjoy amenities like free continental breakfast, free coffee in the lobby, free local calls and free HBO. The hotel has a seasonal outdoor pool and spa. All guest rooms come equipped with air conditioning and refrigerators. Microwaves are in most rooms. Handicap rooms are available upon request. Some rooms have kitchens on request with charges. In Room Safe: 1.99 plus tax per night. In room safes with limited warranty, up to $10,000.

Hotel Map

36.5953 -121.8646
Nearby airports
Monterey Peninsula Arpt., (MRY), 1.00, MI, N; San Jose Int'l Airport, (SJC), 60.00, MI, N; San Francisco Int'l Airport, (SFO), 120.00, MI, N;
Area description
Airport, Aquarium 2 Mi.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC779
Visalia Ca
Jan 27, 2013

WEEKEND GETAWAY

GOOD LOCATION CLEAN NO PROBLEMS. I WOULD STAY AGAIN,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zohreh
Danvill, California
Nov 14, 2012

weekend getaway

we loved the staff. the person who gave us our room upgraded our room because we wanted to have a more quite room away from the street and even though we had a reservation for queen bed she upgraded us to a more quite room with king bed. the room was clean and had a refrigerator , microwave and a coffeemaker very good for the price.Hotel provided breakfast which was really reasonable for its price. loved it , great deal and will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
visitor august
monterey,ca
Sep 27, 2012

Clean sheets

Just the usual ordinary hotel but very clean,it would had help to have hair conditioner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginger
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Just Ok

Close to Monterey but in serious need of room make overs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Monterey Bay area

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Top secret
Wisconsin, USA
Nov 25, 2011

OK....

It's not the hotel's fault that they are located on the 'main drag' (too much traffic). I specifically asked my agent to find a hotel with an open whirlpool/pool either in or outdoors. When we got to this one, they said their whirlpool was closed. The whole previous week we stayed at hotels and everyone else's hottub/pool was open. We would have picked a 'cheaper' hotel if we knew we would not have the option of a tub and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

it was minutes to the airport,and with an early flight, 6:30 and the need to check in even earlier, this was perfect!

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelPacker
CA
Nov 13, 2011

Unfriendly staff at Econolodge Monterey, CA

Unfriendly staff at Econolodge Monterey, CA. Was complained when asked for a couple of forks when checked in. Very impolite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelPacker
CA
Nov 13, 2011

Their breakfast is Nothing

Do Not expext anything for breakfast other than some old pieces of bread and old coffee. No milk or juice provided. Also was complained by the staff when asked for a couple of plastic forks when checked in. Not worth the value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jawa
Business
Sun City, CA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Ok room for the price

Staff was nice and the room was clean. The breakfast could have had more options. The location is close to everything you need to do in Monterey. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Theparanoids
San Diego, California
Oct 13, 2011

Good value, nothing special

Nice building with flowers, rooms very small but clean. Nothing special at all, but very good price for a comfortable stay very close to everything in Monterey. Only strange thing: they charge you 2 USD/day for the safe and yo can get the money back (it that works.....) if yoz don't use the safe (How will the know...?)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AngelB
Business
Martinez, CA
Oct 6, 2011

Good place for the price.

I only needed the room for one night and was pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was and how comfortable the bed was. Even though the hotel was full, I didn't hear any noise coming from the surrounding rooms which I was grateful for. The free continental breakfast left something to be desired but it was ok. The staff was very nice & helpful. I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top