$33 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Del Monte Pines Motel

2 stars
1298 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
74 reviews
near the aquarium

The best place to stay for the price. The manager personally took care of any problems we ran into.... See full review

  • Maverick
  • Dec 29, 2014
Pleasant Experience

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay a few nights ago at Del Monte Pines. The front desk manager was... See full review

  • MissJ88
  • Feb 26, 2014
An affordable motel find in famous Monterey
Less than a mile and a half from the famed Fisherman's Wharf, Del Monte Pines Motel offers budget rates in the heart of Monterey. Minutes from major attractions, find air-conditioned rooms with free wireless Internet access and free continental breakfast each morning. Decor is consistent with the roadside motel accommodations, but prices are, too. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi tub and/or a fireplace. Visit the aquarium, feast on fresh local seafood, go golfing, cruise along 17-Mile Drive or see the mission in Carmel, all within several miles.
Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast at Del Monte Pines Motel
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Budget hotel rates in Monterey

Rooms
Some of the 19 rooms at the Del Monte Pines Motel have been recently refurbished and all include air-conditioning for summer comfort. Choose two queen beds or one king. Couples might request a room that boasts a fireplace or a suite that includes a Jacuzzi tub. Free high-speed wireless Internet access, an in-room coffee-maker, a microwave, a refrigerator and a television with cable channels and free HBO round out the amenities in these affordable Monterey accommodations.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.1 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Del Monte Pines Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Del Monte Pines Motel Rooms

Double Room
Features two queen beds, in room coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, high-speed broadband wireless Internet access and 25" TV with HBO. NON-SMOKING ONLY
KING JACUZZI
Features in room jacuzzi with fire place.Coffe maker,micro/ref.,air condition,free wireless internet access.Tastefully newly renovated room.
KING FIRE/PLACE
Features One King Bed with FIREPLACE,In room coffee,microwave,refrigerator,Bath/shower combo,Newly remodelled room and beautifully dacorated.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Del Monte Pines Motel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZKDman
Business
Modesto, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Good Value, Clean, Ambiguity About Pets.

We were arriving late; rolling in at after midnight, I called ahead to let the hotelier know that we would be late after reading another review stating that this had been problematic for them. No issue- the owner had gone to bed, but left instructions to knock on his door and promptly met me in the lobby when I did. Though grumpy and uninviting, I reminded myself that for $60, I could excuse the man. We brought our small dog as well after screening on this website for pet-friendly hotels. The room contract then stated in bold print "no dogs allowed". I wasn't very well going to go find another room somewhere at this late hour, so we smuggled in our small terrier, who did not bark over the entire stay (or this could have been very annoying for our neighbors given the thin walls). The room was clean and comfortable with limited amenities, but at this price met my expectations and was more than fair. I have stayed in worse hotels for more money- this was a good value overall. I had to test the OJ in the morning. The "continental breakfast" was more like a "regional snack", with Costco muffins quartered, and yes, watered-down OJ. Again, for $60, I was fine and everything met my expectations. If I was the hotelier, I would water down the OJ as well. After all, he has already watered-down the price. Location is also good, right across the street from Monterey's large contemporary shopping mall with great restaurants, entertainment, and shopping all within walking distance. Good stay, slept well, no worries- come to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping mall right across the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trona
Business
San Leandro, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Noisy

The room was dark and the noise from the water pipes was un-bearable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hrs
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Convenient and reasonable

We stayed overnight for the purpose of taking two young grandchildren to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The location was convenient, adequate for our needs, quiet night's sleep. The manager was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy drive to the Aquarium, beach access, Dennis the Menace Park-----all destinations to visit with our grandchildren.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, Ca
May 27, 2011

Noisy

The Gentleman at the front desk was polite and accommodating, even allowing us to check in early. The room was clean but that was the extent of the enjoyable part of our stay. It seemed like everything we used in the room was extra loud. When we turned on the light in the bathroom, the fan was loud and rumbling. The shower was very strong and had no way to turn down the pressure. It also seemed you could hear every adjoing room around us, down to their converations. The worst was all night long, every 10min like clockwork, there was a loud noise (perhaps a motor of somekind or water heater?) that lasted 2min then shut off with a thud! Very difficult to change rooms after unpacking and settling in w/2 small children under 4. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CHARLEY SUPER-G
Business
SANTA MARIA, CA
May 26, 2011

DISAPPOINTED

THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS LOUSY CONSISTED OF WATERED DOWN ORANGE JUICE, MUFFINS CUT IN FOURTHS.[...] THIS WAS A BAD EXPERIENCE FOR MY FAMILY AND MYSELF. I BELIEVE THEY ADVERTISED A POOL BUT I NEVER DID SEE ONE. THEIR COKE MACHINE WAS BROKE THEIR SO CALLED ICE DISPENSER WAS IN A PRIVATE FREEZER IN THE MAIDS LAUNDRY ROOM. THIS WAS THE WORST MOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
May 15, 2011

So So

Hotel was ok and we got what we paid for. The only issues I had was I could hear people flushing their toilets in other rooms and our bath fan was so loud it kept me from wanting to go to the toilet. This is just a pleace to lay your head. Overall this hotel needs some TLC...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the fish Hopper... Food is ok but really, really expensive...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
@ the H2o
Business
Atwater, Ca
Apr 10, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros: Easy to find, close to shopping(walking distance to Del Monte shopping center) and attractions (short drive to cannary row and fishermans warf), the room was clean, The host was nice, economical, If your not going to spend a lot of time in your room (we spent our time sight seeing and the only time we were in the room was at night to sleep) it's a good choice. Why spend money on an expensive room if your only going to sleep in it? We spent 1 night. The decore is dated but nothing offensive, the area felt safe and we were pleased with the parking area. All in all I would probably stay there again. CONS: No bible in dresser (what's this world coming too?), there was a coffee maker but no coffee or tea in our room, only stir sticks and creamer. The TV didn't work (we only slept there so it wasn't a big deal but it would have been nice to watch the news in the morning), Thin walls, but luckily our neighbors wern't too noisy but regular day to day activity could be heard, No menus, writing paper or literature were in our rooms,no tissue paper, There was no continental breakfast. In defense of the hotel staff we did not report any of these maintenance issues. Overall: old fashion, economical and good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
watsonville,ca
Feb 27, 2011

vacation

pretty clean had fireplace perfect for my date..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 9, 2011

You get What you pay for

Very unfriendly, poor experience. The room type I had reserved was not what I got. The shower curtain was filthy, moldy and reeked of urine. Room was not only unclean, more of a sanitation nightmare. I gently notified the management of a need for a new curtain, and was met with more inhospitable "service." Walls thin, resident manager and family nosy and rude, small property, very meager amenities, overall poor accomodations and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay at another hotel/motel/inn. This is a disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Dec 30, 2010

The pros and the cons

Our trip was to visit family. The motel was very affordable. Our room had a updated restroom and a fireplace, unfortuntley everyting else was dated and felt dirty. The bed was very uncomfortable...we could feel the springs in the mattress and the tv didn't work. It was worth what we paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close drive to main attractions, even walkable in a nice day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top