Del Monte Pines Motel

2 stars
View map of 1298 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Del Monte Pines Motel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MikeyGrizzy
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Good location

I loved the location and the price. Sadly, there wasn't much more to say. The rook was noisy and the plumbing made clunking noises when people in other rooms used it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Monterey Bay Aquarium!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZKDman
Business
Modesto, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Good Value, Clean, Ambiguity About Pets.

We were arriving late; rolling in at after midnight, I called ahead to let the hotelier know that we would be late after reading another review stating that this had been problematic for them. No issue- the owner had gone to bed, but left instructions to knock on his door and promptly met me in the lobby when I did. Though grumpy and uninviting, I reminded myself that for $60, I could excuse the man. We brought our small dog as well after screening on this website for pet-friendly hotels. The room contract then stated in bold print "no dogs allowed". I wasn't very well going to go find another room somewhere at this late hour, so we smuggled in our small terrier, who did not bark over the entire stay (or this could have been very annoying for our neighbors given the thin walls). The room was clean and comfortable with limited amenities, but at this price met my expectations and was more than fair. I have stayed in worse hotels for more money- this was a good value overall. I had to test the OJ in the morning. The "continental breakfast" was more like a "regional snack", with Costco muffins quartered, and yes, watered-down OJ. Again, for $60, I was fine and everything met my expectations. If I was the hotelier, I would water down the OJ as well. After all, he has already watered-down the price. Location is also good, right across the street from Monterey's large contemporary shopping mall with great restaurants, entertainment, and shopping all within walking distance. Good stay, slept well, no worries- come to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping mall right across the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trona
Business
San Leandro, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Noisy

The room was dark and the noise from the water pipes was un-bearable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hrs
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Convenient and reasonable

We stayed overnight for the purpose of taking two young grandchildren to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The location was convenient, adequate for our needs, quiet night's sleep. The manager was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy drive to the Aquarium, beach access, Dennis the Menace Park-----all destinations to visit with our grandchildren.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, Ca
May 27, 2011

Noisy

The Gentleman at the front desk was polite and accommodating, even allowing us to check in early. The room was clean but that was the extent of the enjoyable part of our stay. It seemed like everything we used in the room was extra loud. When we turned on the light in the bathroom, the fan was loud and rumbling. The shower was very strong and had no way to turn down the pressure. It also seemed you could hear every adjoing room around us, down to their converations. The worst was all night long, every 10min like clockwork, there was a loud noise (perhaps a motor of somekind or water heater?) that lasted 2min then shut off with a thud! Very difficult to change rooms after unpacking and settling in w/2 small children under 4. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CHARLEY SUPER-G
Business
SANTA MARIA, CA
May 26, 2011

DISAPPOINTED

THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS LOUSY CONSISTED OF WATERED DOWN ORANGE JUICE, MUFFINS CUT IN FOURTHS.[...] THIS WAS A BAD EXPERIENCE FOR MY FAMILY AND MYSELF. I BELIEVE THEY ADVERTISED A POOL BUT I NEVER DID SEE ONE. THEIR COKE MACHINE WAS BROKE THEIR SO CALLED ICE DISPENSER WAS IN A PRIVATE FREEZER IN THE MAIDS LAUNDRY ROOM. THIS WAS THE WORST MOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF
May 15, 2011

So So

Hotel was ok and we got what we paid for. The only issues I had was I could hear people flushing their toilets in other rooms and our bath fan was so loud it kept me from wanting to go to the toilet. This is just a pleace to lay your head. Overall this hotel needs some TLC...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the fish Hopper... Food is ok but really, really expensive...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
@ the H2o
Business
Atwater, Ca
Apr 10, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros: Easy to find, close to shopping(walking distance to Del Monte shopping center) and attractions (short drive to cannary row and fishermans warf), the room was clean, The host was nice, economical, If your not going to spend a lot of time in your room (we spent our time sight seeing and the only time we were in the room was at night to sleep) it's a good choice. Why spend money on an expensive room if your only going to sleep in it? We spent 1 night. The decore is dated but nothing offensive, the area felt safe and we were pleased with the parking area. All in all I would probably stay there again. CONS: No bible in dresser (what's this world coming too?), there was a coffee maker but no coffee or tea in our room, only stir sticks and creamer. The TV didn't work (we only slept there so it wasn't a big deal but it would have been nice to watch the news in the morning), Thin walls, but luckily our neighbors wern't too noisy but regular day to day activity could be heard, No menus, writing paper or literature were in our rooms,no tissue paper, There was no continental breakfast. In defense of the hotel staff we did not report any of these maintenance issues. Overall: old fashion, economical and good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
watsonville,ca
Feb 27, 2011

vacation

pretty clean had fireplace perfect for my date..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jan 9, 2011

You get What you pay for

Very unfriendly, poor experience. The room type I had reserved was not what I got. The shower curtain was filthy, moldy and reeked of urine. Room was not only unclean, more of a sanitation nightmare. I gently notified the management of a need for a new curtain, and was met with more inhospitable "service." Walls thin, resident manager and family nosy and rude, small property, very meager amenities, overall poor accomodations and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay at another hotel/motel/inn. This is a disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top