$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Del Monte Pines Motel

2 stars
1298 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
103 reviews
Pleasant Experience

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay a few nights ago at Del Monte Pines. The front desk manager was... See full review

  • MissJ88
  • Feb 26, 2014
No Brainer

The perfect hotel for those that just want a comfortable, clean room w/o spending a lot of money.... See full review

  • Prince3311
  • Jun 21, 2013
An affordable motel find in famous Monterey
Less than a mile and a half from the famed Fisherman's Wharf, Del Monte Pines Motel offers budget rates in the heart of Monterey. Minutes from major attractions, find air-conditioned rooms with free wireless Internet access and free continental breakfast each morning. Decor is consistent with the roadside motel accommodations, but prices are, too. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi tub and/or a fireplace. Visit the aquarium, feast on fresh local seafood, go golfing, cruise along 17-Mile Drive or see the mission in Carmel, all within several miles.
Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast at Del Monte Pines Motel
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Budget hotel rates in Monterey

Rooms
Some of the 19 rooms at the Del Monte Pines Motel have been recently refurbished and all include air-conditioning for summer comfort. Choose two queen beds or one king. Couples might request a room that boasts a fireplace or a suite that includes a Jacuzzi tub. Free high-speed wireless Internet access, an in-room coffee-maker, a microwave, a refrigerator and a television with cable channels and free HBO round out the amenities in these affordable Monterey accommodations.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.1 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access

Del Monte Pines Motel Rooms

Double Room
Features two queen beds, in room coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, high-speed broadband wireless Internet access and 25" TV with HBO. NON-SMOKING ONLY
KING JACUZZI
Features in room jacuzzi with fire place.Coffe maker,micro/ref.,air condition,free wireless internet access.Tastefully newly renovated room.
KING FIRE/PLACE
Features One King Bed with FIREPLACE,In room coffee,microwave,refrigerator,Bath/shower combo,Newly remodelled room and beautifully dacorated.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Del Monte Pines Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5864 -121.9003
Area served
Monterey, California
Nearby airports
Monterey San Jose
Area description
Area attractions include: Major golf courses, hiking, bicycling, horseback riding, scuba diving, wind surfing, kayaking, dune bugging, deep sea fishing, sailing and whale watching.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Del Monte Pines Motel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lorax
Business
Long Beach
Jun 9, 2012

super cheap, but noisy and not comfortable

Paid 36 dollars for a thursday night. Amazing price, given the location, but had trouble sleeping. The Good: Rooms here are clean, and remodeled very nicely. Many include a gas fireplace, and nice marble, minifridge, and microwave. The Bad: Beds are like rock. I did not know an actual mattress could be harder than floor with a blanket. Very surprising, considering how nice the rest of decor etc. The Ugly: This was second time staying here, different room. Both (And now I think perhaps all) rooms in this hotel might suffer from a terrible problem, which is unsecured plumbing in the walls. Anytime you run any water, flush toilet, or run showed, the pipes in the walls make a horrible banging, clanging, pounding sound. Vice versa, anyone using water in a room next to you, you hear the pounding, banging sounds. There is NO WAY you would sleep through this, so if neighbor (either side or above or below) wakes up before you, you are up too. summary: amazingly cheap, very clean, and convenient location, but beware, you will not get great sleep, and probably get woken up early. Earplugs even would not help the physical clanging inbetween the walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diver15
Sacramento, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Hard to stay sleeping

You could hear the plumbing through the walls when other rooms took showers or used the toilets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crecwg
Paris, France
Feb 15, 2012

Standard Motel good value

This is a standard motel with no special charm but cheap and convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MikeyGrizzy
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Good location

I loved the location and the price. Sadly, there wasn't much more to say. The rook was noisy and the plumbing made clunking noises when people in other rooms used it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Monterey Bay Aquarium!

Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZKDman
Modesto, CA, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Good Value, Clean, Ambiguity About Pets.

We were arriving late; rolling in at after midnight, I called ahead to let the hotelier know that we would be late after reading another review stating that this had been problematic for them. No issue- the owner had gone to bed, but left instructions to knock on his door and promptly met me in the lobby when I did. Though grumpy and uninviting, I reminded myself that for $60, I could excuse the man. We brought our small dog as well after screening on this website for pet-friendly hotels. The room contract then stated in bold print "no dogs allowed". I wasn't very well going to go find another room somewhere at this late hour, so we smuggled in our small terrier, who did not bark over the entire stay (or this could have been very annoying for our neighbors given the thin walls). The room was clean and comfortable with limited amenities, but at this price met my expectations and was more than fair. I have stayed in worse hotels for more money- this was a good value overall. I had to test the OJ in the morning. The "continental breakfast" was more like a "regional snack", with Costco muffins quartered, and yes, watered-down OJ. Again, for $60, I was fine and everything met my expectations. If I was the hotelier, I would water down the OJ as well. After all, he has already watered-down the price. Location is also good, right across the street from Monterey's large contemporary shopping mall with great restaurants, entertainment, and shopping all within walking distance. Good stay, slept well, no worries- come to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping mall right across the way.

Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trona
San Leandro, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Noisy

The room was dark and the noise from the water pipes was un-bearable. Will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hrs
Castro Valley, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Convenient and reasonable

We stayed overnight for the purpose of taking two young grandchildren to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The location was convenient, adequate for our needs, quiet night's sleep. The manager was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy drive to the Aquarium, beach access, Dennis the Menace Park-----all destinations to visit with our grandchildren.

Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, Ca
May 27, 2011

Noisy

The Gentleman at the front desk was polite and accommodating, even allowing us to check in early. The room was clean but that was the extent of the enjoyable part of our stay. It seemed like everything we used in the room was extra loud. When we turned on the light in the bathroom, the fan was loud and rumbling. The shower was very strong and had no way to turn down the pressure. It also seemed you could hear every adjoing room around us, down to their converations. The worst was all night long, every 10min like clockwork, there was a loud noise (perhaps a motor of somekind or water heater?) that lasted 2min then shut off with a thud! Very difficult to change rooms after unpacking and settling in w/2 small children under 4. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, Ca
May 27, 2011

Noisy

The Gentleman at the front desk was polite and accommodating, even allowing us to check in early. The room was clean but that was the extent of the enjoyable part of our stay. It seemed like everything we used in the room was extra loud. When we turned on the light in the bathroom, the fan was loud and rumbling. The shower was very strong and had no way to turn down the pressure. It also seemed you could hear every adjoing room around us, down to their converations. The worst was all night long, every 10min like clockwork, there was a loud noise (perhaps a motor of somekind or water heater?) that lasted 2min then shut off with a thud! Very difficult to change rooms after unpacking and settling in w/2 small children under 4. Will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CHARLEY SUPER-G
SANTA MARIA, CA
May 26, 2011

DISAPPOINTED

THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS LOUSY CONSISTED OF WATERED DOWN ORANGE JUICE, MUFFINS CUT IN FOURTHS.[...] THIS WAS A BAD EXPERIENCE FOR MY FAMILY AND MYSELF. I BELIEVE THEY ADVERTISED A POOL BUT I NEVER DID SEE ONE. THEIR COKE MACHINE WAS BROKE THEIR SO CALLED ICE DISPENSER WAS IN A PRIVATE FREEZER IN THE MAIDS LAUNDRY ROOM. THIS WAS THE WORST MOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top