$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Del Monte Pines Motel

2 stars
1298 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
103 reviews
Pleasant Experience

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay a few nights ago at Del Monte Pines. The front desk manager was... See full review

  • MissJ88
  • Feb 26, 2014
No Brainer

The perfect hotel for those that just want a comfortable, clean room w/o spending a lot of money.... See full review

  • Prince3311
  • Jun 21, 2013
An affordable motel find in famous Monterey
Less than a mile and a half from the famed Fisherman's Wharf, Del Monte Pines Motel offers budget rates in the heart of Monterey. Minutes from major attractions, find air-conditioned rooms with free wireless Internet access and free continental breakfast each morning. Decor is consistent with the roadside motel accommodations, but prices are, too. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi tub and/or a fireplace. Visit the aquarium, feast on fresh local seafood, go golfing, cruise along 17-Mile Drive or see the mission in Carmel, all within several miles.
Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast at Del Monte Pines Motel
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Free on-site parking
  • Budget hotel rates in Monterey

Rooms
Some of the 19 rooms at the Del Monte Pines Motel have been recently refurbished and all include air-conditioning for summer comfort. Choose two queen beds or one king. Couples might request a room that boasts a fireplace or a suite that includes a Jacuzzi tub. Free high-speed wireless Internet access, an in-room coffee-maker, a microwave, a refrigerator and a television with cable channels and free HBO round out the amenities in these affordable Monterey accommodations.
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.1 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Business

  • Free in-room wireless Internet access

Del Monte Pines Motel Rooms

Double Room
Features two queen beds, in room coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, high-speed broadband wireless Internet access and 25" TV with HBO. NON-SMOKING ONLY
KING JACUZZI
Features in room jacuzzi with fire place.Coffe maker,micro/ref.,air condition,free wireless internet access.Tastefully newly renovated room.
KING FIRE/PLACE
Features One King Bed with FIREPLACE,In room coffee,microwave,refrigerator,Bath/shower combo,Newly remodelled room and beautifully dacorated.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Dining
Free breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Del Monte Pines Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5864 -121.9003
Area served
Monterey, California
Nearby airports
Monterey San Jose
Area description
Area attractions include: Major golf courses, hiking, bicycling, horseback riding, scuba diving, wind surfing, kayaking, dune bugging, deep sea fishing, sailing and whale watching.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (103)

Ratings and reviews for Del Monte Pines Motel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roadster cruise
Santa Cruz
May 8, 2013

Nice inside, but not what I expected.

The inside of the room was nice, kind of small. When we tried to go to bed, that's when the real issues started. So a couple of the rooms upstairs from us started partying, was loud and this continued on into the night without a hiccup even though we complained about the noise. The parking lot proceeded to become the ashtray for this party with it's participants leaving butts all over the place and my car, which was clean, was covered in ashes. With such a lack of ownership, I wouldn't suggest staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alrod
Nelson NZ
Mar 2, 2013

Del Monte Pines

Room was great, lovely fire, very clean, and a comfy bed. Great location. Front desk person was very kind but wasn't able to help us much, limited knowledge and English. Breakfast was rubbish - not worth having. But as far as value for money, convenience and overall cleanliness and comfort it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THX1138
Napa, California
Feb 28, 2013

FAILED TO MEET EVEN LOW EXPECTATIONS

My wife and I stayed at Del Monte Pines in Monterey. We knew it wasn't a five star resort but this place was disappointing even to our low expectations for a place to crash after a night of fun. Upon entering it smelled of mildew and the door didn't close enough to seal out wind/outside noises (we pushed a chair against the door at night to keep it firmly closed). It looked fairly clean so all the sloppy paint touchups and chipped edges didn't bother us. The bath towels were the size of hand towels and the hand towels were the size of wash towels, and all felt rough and worn out. We could make do and just use several towels so it didn't matter that much. But the loud stream dripping from the tub faucet was too much. I tried to close the handle tighter yet the water flow continued. Even with the door closed we could hear it from our bed. I immediately went to the older couple at the registration desk and told them of the problem. He said sorry and maybe it was just left on by someone. I said I already tried to close it and it didn't work. I said I wanted another room. He said I booked online and therefore could not change. I asked if he had any vacant rooms. He said no but would call the maintenance man to come fix it "again". I then told him that would be fine since we would be out till late anyways and left back to the room. A few minutes later he knocked on our door. He could not get hold of the maintenance man and offered to switch us to another room. I asked if we could check it out first and he agreed. This other room also had a leaking tub faucet! I told him we would just keep our room because it had a fireplace. He apologized and left. I ended up wrapping/stuffing the faucet with many towels to silence the drip enough with the door closed. The feeling that I got as a customer was that the no one there cared enough to fix things or replace items in a timely manner in order to save money and hope that customers don't notice or complain too much. Pathetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymity4
Monterey
Jan 29, 2013

Good for what it is

Close to everything - room is spacious - staff is friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryLo
Ammon, ID
Jan 15, 2013

Del monte Pines Motel

This motel was inexpensive and a good place to spend the night. The room was clean and the area was quiet. It is near a shopping center if one needed to pick up anything. Restaurants are nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
professorg
gainesville
Jan 1, 2013

cheap i guess

holes in the wall, chips in the furniture, shower would put out only warm water.... not hot.... but i believe it was one of the cheapest deals in Monterrey for $75 so you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SFViscount
Dallas TX
Dec 27, 2012

Best Deal In Town

Hey, if you come here expecting 5-star accommodations, then you will be sorely disappointed. But for the price, this is the best deal in town! PERFECT location, has just what we needed for the length of time we were there and for the price, you can't beat it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This place is only minutes from Cannery Row, the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf and numerous eateries.

Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigss94
Los amgeles
Nov 4, 2012

Good clean cheap motel

It is good for a one night stay. Good for price. Could use a remodel on the exterior. Plus rooms need new carpet,needs more electric plugs in room. Bathroom towels are two small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller68
Monterey
Nov 1, 2012

Stay away

Bed bugs, something put bites on my leg. I tripped a fuse twice and bad breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Del Monte Pines Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D. E. P. Whyte
Auburn CA
Jun 22, 2012

It is what it is....

This was a 1950/60s motel that had been renovated sometime ago. They have it priced right sell a lot of rooms in a tourist market. The worst thing was the towel, like Motel 6 hand-me-downs. The manager said they were getting new ones. Also, the carpet looked like it had never been cleaned. The continental was watered down orange juice and muffins cut in quarters. No coffee. Still, for the price in Monterey it wasn’t all that bad. The manager, who lives on the property, was a very nice man just doing his job. He appeared to not have much control over how things were run. As he said, "It is what it is." It is okay for one night, we stayed three. D. E. P. Whyte

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a free map of Monterey, showing where all the attractions.

Back to menu Return to top