$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

2 stars
View map of 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

The staff was very friendly. The room had a wonderful view of Monterey and the bay. The breakfast... See full review

  • AGAG
  • Jul 23, 2014
Great value

I need a room for a one night stay for a conference and found the hotel. A great location and a... See full review

  • Pleasanton Dad
  • Jan 9, 2015
The San Carlos Days Inn offers a convenient central location just a short walk from Montereys historic downtown with its many unique shops and restaurants. We are 3 blocks from Historic Downtown Monterey, 5 blocks from Fishermans Wharf and Monterey Convention Center, 1 mile from Cannery Row, and 2 miles from Monterey Bay Aquarium.We offer clean comfortable rooms with a wide array of amenities which include coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers, refrigerators, data port phones and 25 inch TV with remote control with HBO, ESPN and CNN. Air conditioning available except in Ocean View rooms. We also offer a recently renovated Spa area and the areas most deluxe continental breakfast offering an assortment of teas, assorted fresh rolls and bagels, English muffins, two different cereals, two different juices, fresh fruits and coffee or enjoy the convenience of in-room coffee. Come enjoy The San Carlos Days Inn where it is our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Monterey Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beach comber
Business
Monterrey
Sep 6, 2011

Hotel tried to have every emenities but has no quality.

I arrived at the hotel with no greetings. The host was answering a phone call an had an unpleasant voice and attitude. I will never go back to this hotel, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SophieRenee
Business
Vacaville, Ca
Aug 16, 2012

Don't bother. Spend a few extra bucks and stay somewhere decent.

Tacky, old motel that's falling apart. The only positive is its five blocks from Fishermans Warf. The sink was crooked, bathroom work was horrible so things didn't line up. Instead of pulling down an old shower fixture they left it up and added one above it. The wallpaper in the room was falling off the walls, lampshade was dirty and had holes in it, and the floors were filthy. Walls are paper thin so you can hear your neighbors perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Wost stay ever

I was traveling with a friend and we ordered a room with 2 beds and non smoking.They only had a stinky smoking room with only one bed. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
db111
Business
concord ca
May 21, 2014

failed equipment

bedside lights turn off after a few minutes and can't be switched on. if you got up in the middle of the night you would have no light and might trip and fall. have never seen this problem before in a motel. also coffee maker didn't work I will never stay at a Days Inn again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2007

not so nice hotel

The Days Inn Downtown was not what I expected it to be. I checked in and went up to my room and was immediately disgusted. The room was very odorous from stale smoke, the front door was missing the inside lock (and there was a gaping hole between the door frame and where the lock used to be), the phone had some bright red residue all over it, the remote control was sticky with who knows what, there was no screen on the window which over-looked a trash dumpster, there were insects all around the window, and not to be disgusting, but there were dried buggers all over the walls. Now, I am not one to nit-pick over small details but this place was wretched. I told the manager that I was unsatisfied with the room due to cigarette smoke and he gave me a loud little air cleansing machine. I thought it would help but I sat in the room and realized it was not just the smell that made me uncomfortable-it was everything! We moved to this new room which was very cramped but at least not disgusting. Furthermore, the so-called continental breakfast was a let down as well. The juice was served in mini dixie cups, basically one gulp. The cereal was stale, so was the bread, the toaster smoked as it toasted, and I wasn't the only one who left the food on my plate as I walked out.I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The only plus to this place is the nearby downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento ca
May 2, 2011

not good for the price

The room was poorly decorated,no counter space in the bathroom, the hairdryer and the showerhead were in disrepair. Huge gap under the entrance and bathroom doors. Didnt have foresight to turn on refridge, probably because it made noise when it ran. Breakfast was ok. Would not stay there again, not worth half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Beast
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 17, 2014

Roach in the bathroom in a SMOKING room

This was the worst experience I've had at a hotel...ever. Granted, I will say that we usually stay at 3-5 star hotels and in this case we were just rolling through the area so thought nothing of staying here for 2 nights. We were wrong. Be sure to read the print- all customers through this site are put in a SMOKING ROOM...in the back of the hotel in a dark hallway- creepy! It was so bad. Even if it's a smoking room they should have still bought a new comforter. We counted 20 cigarette burn marks in the sheets. Nasty! Between that, the roach in the bathroom, the smoke detector beeping the whole time, and the construction going on...we couldn't take it. We managed to stay the first night and then left- even without being able to get our money back! It was not worth it and I highly suggest not staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Fina on the Monterey Warf has amazing seafood and Italian! It was featured on the Food Network and we loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cassey
Business
Disneyland, Anaheim, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Weekend getaway

This place is ok if you are staying for one night only. It definitely needs to be upgraded. I would not recommend to woman travelers unless there are many of you or plan to drive everywhere. The front desk staff told me that it is 10 minutes walk to the Fisherman's Wharf, but it is actually 20 + minutes. I felt like it was overpriced overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vmax
Business
Downey, CA, USA
Apr 1, 2012

What you would expect

I was only here for a few hours to sleep and shower before checking out the Aquarium, the motel was what I was expecting. If you just want to sleep and then leave and aren't looking for anything special, this will do. I mainly stayed here for the value because after two nights of a decent hotel in San Francisco I (well, mainly my boyfriend) wasn't looking to spend a lot just to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tick Tock
Business
La Mesa, California
Nov 22, 2012

What continental breakfast?

I have to admit that the location was great. We were there for the Big Sur half marathon, so good distance to race start. The issue was we were unable either day to take advantage of the breakfast. The sign stated seven am, but no, it was not open until seven thirty. Too late to enjoy before the race and we chose not to wait around until they opened before we left. I felt, as did my friend that it was by design. What motel does that? We have had others accomodate race customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Enjoy the free appetizers many of the boardwalk eating establishments lure you in with. Crabby Jims is my favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top