$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Days Inn Monterey Downtown

2 stars
View map of 850 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fresno, CA
Aug 8, 2010

Nice place

The room was nice. Bed was very hard and the walls are very thin so be prepared to hear your neighbors. Everything was clean but the bathroom was in need of a little TLC. Overall it was nicer that other coastal hotels I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Wost stay ever

I was traveling with a friend and we ordered a room with 2 beds and non smoking.They only had a stinky smoking room with only one bed. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
No. Cal
Apr 11, 2010

You get what you pay for!!!

I feel we got the worst room because we came in through [...]. The room was in need of repairs. It was close to the Wharf, it was inexpensive but it didn't look as classy as the pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
CA
Jan 1, 2010

Good for the price

We've stayed at this hotel a few times and so far we haven't been disappointed. The staff at the front desk is very helpful and friendly. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, and although we know from past experience that the walls are thin, this time we didn't hear a sound from any of our neighbors. We'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Sep 3, 2007

not so nice hotel

The Days Inn Downtown was not what I expected it to be. I checked in and went up to my room and was immediately disgusted. The room was very odorous from stale smoke, the front door was missing the inside lock (and there was a gaping hole between the door frame and where the lock used to be), the phone had some bright red residue all over it, the remote control was sticky with who knows what, there was no screen on the window which over-looked a trash dumpster, there were insects all around the window, and not to be disgusting, but there were dried buggers all over the walls. Now, I am not one to nit-pick over small details but this place was wretched. I told the manager that I was unsatisfied with the room due to cigarette smoke and he gave me a loud little air cleansing machine. I thought it would help but I sat in the room and realized it was not just the smell that made me uncomfortable-it was everything! We moved to this new room which was very cramped but at least not disgusting. Furthermore, the so-called continental breakfast was a let down as well. The juice was served in mini dixie cups, basically one gulp. The cereal was stale, so was the bread, the toaster smoked as it toasted, and I wasn't the only one who left the food on my plate as I walked out.I would NOT recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The only plus to this place is the nearby downtown area.

Review of Days Inn Monterey Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Aug 13, 2007

a bit out of the way

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Days Inn Monterey Downtown. The lobby, grounds, and room were nicely kept up and clean. The view from our room was spectacular. The continental breakfast they offer was a nice grab and go option. The only drawback for me was the location. The location was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

We went out to the Brittania Arms Pub on a Sunday night for drinks, and Kareoke. There was a surprisingly large croud. The staff was friendly, and the drinks were stiff. :)

Back to menu Return to top